We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel located near the Night Market”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
Ranked #65 of 389 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is an older hotel that is beginning to show its age. Nevertheless, the hotel offered comfortable accommodations in a great location of Chiang Mai at a reasonable cost. Staff service was excellent.

The daily breakfast was included with the price of lodging. It consisted of a variety of Asian and Western food items. My wife and I generally enjoyed a made-to-order omelet, meaty bacon strips, a selection of breads, and fresh and tasty fruits. The American style coffee was flavorful but strong.

My wife and I spent four nights at the Imperial Mae Ping Hotel and would stay there again on our next trip to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Jerry
Thank you for staying at our hotel during your visit to Chiang Mai and to post here on Trip Advisor! We are pleased that you and your wife have enjoyed your stay with us and that have found our hotel to your likings. Please let us know when you plan to return to the North of Thailand.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

658 - 664 of 1,673 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

My colleagues and I stayed at the Imperial Mea Ping over Thailand New year (Song Khran). I personally had no problem with the hotel. Rooms are nice and clean. Bathroom is nice with hot shower. Bed was very comfortable. Hotel staff were very nice and helpful if I had any questions or problems. Now.... to the breakfast. I have never ever stayed in a hotel which such a magnificent breakfast buffet. There is everything from Expat food to Asian food. I went up for 3rds as it was that good! The hotel is in a good location. A 10min walk to the night markets and easy to get around town.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 8th floor with great views. I would recommend the higher you are the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Sean
Thank you for taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor and for staying with us during your stay here in Chiang Mai. Your well written comments are very much appreciated and will be communicated to our staff. Well, a good breakfast is always something we do look forward and it is nice that you have enjoyed it. Perhaps you will visit us again next year during the Thai New Year.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping and Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The hotel is within walking distance to the night market (one block) and the river (three blocks). You can also walk to the old City (5 blocks) and see the wonderful attractions within the walled City.

We visited Chiang Mai for the Loi Kratong festival in November and found that the hotel was well situated to see and experience all the activities of the festival.

Imperial Mae Ping has all the amenities for a comfortable stay; good sized swimming pool, international buffet breakfast, nice rooms and a full spa in the hotel. The gym needs an upgrade as it has old equipment and gym room needs to be redone.

The staff is helpful. The concierge provides useful tour information and transportation.

The general location of the hotel is safe.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor as those Tuktuks can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Omega Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Omega Explorer
Thank you for staying at our hotel during last year's Loy Kratong festival and for your post here on Trip Advisor! We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and your comments about the Gym have been noted. It is our intention to improve this facility in the near future. We would be pleased to welcoming you back on another occasion should your travel brings you to the North of Thailand again.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Positives:
Location - near night bazaar.
Bed - had a king sized bed, comfortable
TV - flat screen, with good number of channels
Breakfast buffet - decent, though not outstanding

Negatives:
Pretty basic bathroom amenities
No toothbrush and shaver provided (but I didn't ask)
Room service came knocking on the door at 9am on the day of checkout

Overall
Good value for money, but not luxurious.

Room Tip: Rooms located on lower floors facing pool will have to put up with loud music from pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Makaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Makaner
Thank you for taking your time to post here on Trip Advisor and for your stay at our hotel! Your comments are much appreciated and we do apologise for the knock on the door on the day of your departure. Certainly we wish to offer value for money and we do not praise our hotel as luxurious.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We returned to the Imperial Mae Ping again this year because of past experience. I'm glad we did. The rate was pretty much the same as we paid last year and the room was good. The pros: great breakfast, great pool areas and elegant appearance. The cons: the beds are very hard.
The staff is very friendly and accommodating. For us the location is right next to where we go and easy access to the night bazaar. I think others would be happy with this location.
We will be back again next year!

Room Tip: The rooms on the back, above the pool areas, are exposed to the noise from the street below. During...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greywolf8577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Greywolf
Thank you for staying once again with us during your recent trip to Chiang Mai and for taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor! We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay once again and we certainly do look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel next year.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We were upgraded on check in to a deluxe room ( superior booked). However they did not have the king bed, instead were offered twin.
Room was basic & decent for the money, nothing exceptional. Slight moldy smell in the room..Surely I wouldn't rate it as a 4 star hotel ( max 3 star).
Check in / out was smooth and reception staff were friendly..
Breakfast had some variety but not great. The staff at egg counter was not friendly at all, wouldn't customize an omelette !!!.
We didn't use the travel desk at hotel, we found better deals outside...
A decent live band at the garden restaurant..
The hotel location is at a decent walking distance to the night market. Tuk tuk readily available to go to old city.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank CEPUGAZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Cepugazh
Thank you for taking your time to post here on Trip Advisor and for choosing our hotel for your recent stay here in Chiang Mai. Your comments have been noted and we do apologise that you did not receive the expected friendly service from the breakfast cook. Our travel desk at the hotel offers actually very good service at the same if not lower price then outside agents. Being a licensed and not only Chiang Mai based travel company, full insurance coverage is given to their clients. Once again we thank you for your stay with us.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel and Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The Imperial have very nice and service staff. Since we check in Door man, GSA was working good and fast. We get connecting room as per Req. just the room is too small because we have 1 baby 1.7 Y. He always run over from room to room. ^_^ nice boil rice with sea bass. He love it. Good breakfast inter and Thai style.

Room Tip: Close to Night bazar. Just 3 minutes from hotel can work but Tuk Tuk in front of hotel very very exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rinthida b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Rinthida
We thank you for your posting here on Trip Advisor and for staying with us during your visit to Chiang Mai. Your comments are very much appreciated and our staff and myself are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay here. Please let us know if you intend to visit the North of Thailand again.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#56 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#34 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#58 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#105 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,976 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#22 of 389 in Chiang Mai
3,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel

Address: 153 Sridonchai Road | Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#42 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £34 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel features 371 fully furnished guestrooms comprising 248 superior rooms, 88 deluxe rooms and 35 Junior Suites and Royal Suites.Room interiors are in tastefully distinctive, elegant and luxurious Lanna style befitting the rich heritage of this glorious region dating back some 700 years. Our rooms provide all levels of comfort to make your stay in Chiang Mai as relaxing as possible. Individually controlled air-conditioning, wall-to-wall carpeting, Kingsize or twin bedded configuration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Imperial Mae Ping
Imperial Mae Ping Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing