We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large hotel, comfortable and great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
Ranked #64 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Large hotel, comfortable and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

A well situated hotel, comfortable rooms and a good view (we were on 13th floor overlooking pool) the beds were firm and comfortable and bathroom a little tired but nice enough and shower was good.

Lovely pool area, and a smaller one on level 1 if you need some peace and quiet.


Hotel is large and busy, the main restaurant was huge and a lacking in ambience, but sitting outside near the pool was a pleasant option. Breakfast was good, great variety and service. Staff were all very helpful throughout our stay.

The location was perfect for markets and walking distance to the old city, we found a good restaurant a few blocks away, Whole Earth, Thai and Indian food, great setting.

As usual, getting taxi's through the hotel is much more expensive than going onto the street and getting one yourself. We got taxi to airport for 150BH.

Room Tip: Room overlooking pool was great and high up was good too for light and view, noisier than the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Karen
Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Chiang Mai and for your posting here on Trip Advisor! We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay. Your comments are much appreciated and please let us know if you plan another trip to the north of Thailand in the future.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    747
    382
    98
    46
See reviews for
273
536
109
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

This hotel is old and warn out and much in need of a face lift. Their white towels were nearly threadbare and grey with age. The sheets had holes in them and were so thin you could almost see through them.

We booked a wheelchair accessible room. This room was for smokers and the smell was atricious. We then asked for a non-smoking room but was told there weren't any wheelchair rooms available We asked for a normal non-smoking room and was moved to it. They then called and offered us a luxury room on the 14th floor. Very nice but was less suitable for a wheelchair so we stayed put. They provided me with a plastic chair which helped a lot in the bathroom.


The good things about this hotel -

The staff, except for reception, were absolutely exceptional. From the lobby to the dining room, they couldn't do enough to help. They smiled and were so pleasant they made staying there a pleasure.

The breakfast was excellent. There was a good range of asian and western food which was fresh and tasty. Again, the staff went out of there way to make it enjoyable.

Excellent location. The night market is a 10 minute walk. There are lots of really good restaurants a short walk or short tuk tuk away. There is good and cheap clothes washing just accross the street and 7-11 shops close by.

The not so good things about this hotel -

Although the room cost is very low, everything else in the hotel is expensive. Mini-bar, clothes washing and food, all lots dearer than in the shops near by.

The mould and mildew in the bathroom is disgusting. My wife said she would never stay here again for just that reason.

Make sure you book a non-smoking room because the smell in the smoking rooms is disgusting.

Transport. Reception refused to ring us a taxi, insisting we use their limosine service. The problem with that is its 2-3 times dearer than a meter taxi. Even the tuk tuks out the front are dearer than haling a tuktuk in the street. They just seem to sit around reading or talking until some gullible tourist from the hotel excepts their over priced service.

The girls at reception seem to find everything you ask of for too hard or impossible. Reception at the hotel we stayed in in Bangkok went out of their way to help. If we needed a taxi they would send a runner to not only get the taxi but to insist on a price.

One more point. The wheelchair bathrooms don't work. They have rails around the nozzle even end of the shower so you can only get into it at the bottom end. However, the bottom end is blocked by the open door and you can't close the door when sitting in a wheelchair. Well designed by a person who can walk.

Room Tip: Book a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elimbah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Elimbahl
Thank you for your stay with us and the posting here on Trip Advisor! Your comprehensive description of our hotel and its services are much appreciated. Our Front Desk staff will be trained again to act friendlier. Unlike Bangkok, Chiang Mai has only a very few meter taxis and there is no call centre to contact. Unfortunately we do not have any control over the Tuk Tuk's outside the hotel and it is possible that they charge a little bit more, however, it is possible to bargain with them. Once the hotel will undertake a major face lift/renovation, the wheelchair accessibility will be properly addressed. We are happy to read that the rest of the staff did a nice and good job.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
158 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Good hotel, clean, short walk to the night market.
Reasonably spacious rooms, clean, the mattress was a bit hard.
Good Breakfast with varied eggs, breads and pastries, vegetables and more.
The service in the lobby could have been more helpful and welcoming.

Room Tip: The hotel has whole floors with rooms for smokers and non-smoking. If you do not smoke or are sensit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eyal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Eyal
Thank you for your comments here on Trip Advisor and for your stay at our hotel. We have taken note about the service in the lobby and will talk to our staff. Other than that, we are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay here with us.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

First impressions impressive but you could tell that it is getting on a bit, Booked a suite and this was very nice, there was no executive lounge though just a business centre. Location was good close to the night market. Sleep was good and comfortable

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlhdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Dlhdon
We thank you for staying at our hotel during your recent trip to Chiang Mai and for taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor. Your comments are very much appreciated and we are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Hotel has a great location, close to the night markets. Stayed here for three nights, breakfast was good, nice pool area with pool side service. Rooms are in need of a little refurb/update but generally not too bad for a three star hotel/low budget hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_steve01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Steve01
Thank you for your time to post here on Trip Advisor and for your stay with us during your trip to Chiang Mai. We are pleased to read that you have been happy with your stay.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

we stayed here at the start of songkhran & what a good hotel . close to all the restaurants & night markets. very comfortable rooms, good breakfast all at a reasonable cost. staff were very friendly
which can sometimes be an issue in Thailand. would stay here again can not fault the place

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mal e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Mal
Thank your posting here on Trip Advisor and we are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay here with us. It is definitely our aim to offer value for money. Songkran is always a great time to be in Chiang Mai and we would like to thank you for staying with us during this time.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt. Pleasant, MI
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is an older hotel that is beginning to show its age. Nevertheless, the hotel offered comfortable accommodations in a great location of Chiang Mai at a reasonable cost. Staff service was excellent.

The daily breakfast was included with the price of lodging. It consisted of a variety of Asian and Western food items. My wife and I generally enjoyed a made-to-order omelet, meaty bacon strips, a selection of breads, and fresh and tasty fruits. The American style coffee was flavorful but strong.

My wife and I spent four nights at the Imperial Mae Ping Hotel and would stay there again on our next trip to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Jerry
Thank you for staying at our hotel during your visit to Chiang Mai and to post here on Trip Advisor! We are pleased that you and your wife have enjoyed your stay with us and that have found our hotel to your likings. Please let us know when you plan to return to the North of Thailand.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#45 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#108 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#54 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#53 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#48 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel

Property: The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
Address: 153 Sridonchai Road | Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#43 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel features 371 fully furnished guestrooms comprising 248 superior rooms, 88 deluxe rooms and 35 Junior Suites and Royal Suites.Room interiors are in tastefully distinctive, elegant and luxurious Lanna style befitting the rich heritage of this glorious region dating back some 700 years. Our rooms provide all levels of comfort to make your stay in Chiang Mai as relaxing as possible. Individually controlled air-conditioning, wall-to-wall carpeting, Kingsize or twin bedded configuration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Imperial Mae Ping
Imperial Mae Ping Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing