We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel in a good part of town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
Ranked #65 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
199 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a good part of town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We spent 6 nights at the Imperial Mae Ping hotel and enjoyed our stay there. It's a larger hotel with more people, but that also means you get more variety at the buffet breakfast ;)

Location was good with the hotel being right next to the night market (although the bars in that area looked a bit sleazy); hotel staff were friendly and professional; rooms were clean although the furnishings were a bit outdated; pool was nice; fitness center was lacking a bit and could use new equipment.

Overall, good hotel that offers good value for your money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor facing the pool -- it's quieter on this side, as the other side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richardsmyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Richard
Thank you for your post here on TripAdvisor and you stay with us here in Chiang Mai. Our apologies for the equipment in our Fitness room. The good news for all the future guests who are reading your comments as well as my reply here, the Fitness room has now 3 new machines and except the weightlifting exercise all equipment is not older then 2 years. Our location is certainly very good and many places can be explored by foot or by local taxis very easy.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    745
    381
    97
    46
See reviews for
273
534
109
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel was in a great location the staff were wonderful and very helpful it was very clean lovely comfortable beds so close to Chaing Mai bazaar and market there were plenty of eating places there at the market also the market was wonderful very clean and great buys

Room Tip: 14th and 15th floor the royal floors beautiful rooms and very reasonable priced
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jagxxxx1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Jagxxxx
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for your post here on TripAdvisor! We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your time with us here and also in Chiang Mai. The many possibilities of shopping and eating around and within our hotel making a stay certainly interesting.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Nice, clean hotel if a little outdated. Staff was very accommodating and responsive. Good location for night market and 10 min or so walk to the southeast corner of the old town. Great hotel if you need something hassle free and well located.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kellyb1319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Kelly
Thank you for your post here on TripAdvisor and your stay with us during your recent trip to Chiang Mai. We are happy that you have had a good stay and you enjoyed your time here with us.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

This hotel is reasonably priced and offers some good facilities. Room was spacious and this is my second stay here in 8 months. Food is value for money and very nice, there is a good pool outside for a gentle swim. Barman makes a mean Long Island Ice Tea. The Night Bazar is less than 5 minutes walk

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Paul
Thank you for your stay with us here in Chiang Mai and your post on TripAdvisor! Your comments are very much appreciated and we are happy that you have enjoyed your stay here. Let us know when you plan another trip to Chiang Mai. In the meantime we remain with.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed here May 2014 on the 10th floor and experienced the earthquake, lucky for good foundations, a few cracks in outer walls but were getting fixed the following morning. The imperial mae ping is in a great location walking distance to night markets and good eating places. The pool was nice to swim in and free wifi inside and out. The breakfast was nice, alot to choose from and the staff very friendly.

Room Tip: Floors 14 and 15 have junior suites but no bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisjennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Chris & Jennie
Thank you for your time to post here on TripAdvisor and for your stay with us during your time in Chiang Mai! We are pleased to read your comments and are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel has been checked by experts after the earthquake. The few cracks on the outer wall were just on the surface. By now it is no longer shaking and we do hope it will remain so.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

standard price with good WIFI!!, not much but diverse breakfast lounge, quite big screen flat TV.
valued convenient accommodation, even not big or new.
NOTICE service depend on individual staff. It's so strange that my excellent experience was provided by mostly young staff?!? in contrast to few impatient and distracted middle-aged staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bloom m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Bloom M
Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Chiang Mai and for your post here on TripAdvisor! We read your comments with great interest and thank you for informing us about the standard of service you have received. We will definitely talk with the middle aged staff. Thank you once again. Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

The Hotel is in a great location, has good service,breakfast and facilities. After a 4 night stay there this week we were extremely pleased with our stay and would stay there again.
Just found the bed rather firm/hard.
You cant go wrong with staying here.

Vegas Dave Adelaide

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vegasdave69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Vegsdave
Thank you for taking your time to post here on TripAdvisor and for your stay here with us during your time in Chiang Mai. We are happy to read that you were extremely pleased with your stay and who knows we may have the opportunity to welcoming you back here in the future.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#45 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#53 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#50 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#109 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,832 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#48 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel

Property: The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
Address: 153 Sridonchai Road | Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#42 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel features 371 fully furnished guestrooms comprising 248 superior rooms, 88 deluxe rooms and 35 Junior Suites and Royal Suites.Room interiors are in tastefully distinctive, elegant and luxurious Lanna style befitting the rich heritage of this glorious region dating back some 700 years. Our rooms provide all levels of comfort to make your stay in Chiang Mai as relaxing as possible. Individually controlled air-conditioning, wall-to-wall carpeting, Kingsize or twin bedded configuration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Imperial Mae Ping
Imperial Mae Ping Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing