We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
Ranked #71 of 393 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed at the Impererial for 5 days during the curfew in Thailand. The managament had signs and letters informing us what was going on, on arrival there was a fire drill for the staff with fire engines and water coming from the rooms it was great to see the staff fully trained during a real emergency.

The hotel it self was a little bit out dated with the lobby, lifts and rooms had more of a 1980's feel but it was more than enough for the price we got. The plus side was the free wifi and the great buffet breakfast they put on a great selection of food from western dishes to thai food, egg stations, pancakes etc etc One of the best breakfasts i have had in a long time.

Hotel is located about 15 min from the airport and is located in the heart of Chiang Mai just a short walk to the night bazar or a short Tuk tuk ride to the shopping or cultural centres. Nice gardens and pool area to walk around in or 15 min walk to the park lands or river

The staff was very friendly bell boys+front desk+waitstaff and even the girl playing the music in the lobby had a smile on her face.

Thanks for the nice stay

Room Tip: Book online for a great rate
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 144Dutch78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Hi Dutch
Thank you for your stay here with us in Chiang Mai and for your post on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Yes our hotel is not young baby, however it has a touch of charm, which is by many guests and especially return guests very much appreciated. The location is certainly well liked by many people and our breakfast is certainly to be remembered.
Perhaps you intend to return to the North of Thailand another time. We would be very pleased to welcoming you back. Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

644 - 650 of 1,695 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

My favourite hotel in Chiang Mai. Unpretentious and good value. I've been coming here for many years, and this time loved staying in one of the Royal Suites. The price was three-quarters of what you would pay for a budget hotel in London. I really like the swimming pool, and breakfast is great. I've stayed in more expensive hotels in Chiang Mai and enjoyed them less. And the staff remember me!

Room Tip: Go for a Royal Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aardvark43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Aardvark
Thank you for your recent stay here with us and your post on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The Royal Suites are really very good value for money. We do thank you for your loyalty and do look forward welcoming you back to the IMP. Please let us know when you will be here again.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Our golf group chose this hotel for a 5 day stay in Chiang Mai. The hotel is a bit on the old side. Rooms are clean and spacious. I recommend spending a bit more for a deluxe room overlooking the pool. These rooms are on the upper floors with less noise. Wifi is available in all rooms. The breakfast spread was more than enough. The location is quite near the local attractions such as the night market and entertainment areas.

Room Tip: Deluxe room on the 10th floor and up facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AplusK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Aplus
Thank you very much for staying with us last May and for your post here on TripAdvisor! We thank you and your golfer friends to chose our hotel for your Chiang Mai stay. Do let us know when you intend to come back for another golfing holiday.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

stayed in Chaing Mai in April 2014 at the Mae Ping and it was a fantastic hotel. Great breakfast, pool wasn't extremely busy but just enough people to have a chat and a bit of fun. Only a 3 minute walk from the Night Markets to great shopping and loads of restaurants. The staff were very welcoming and always helpful. We stayed in the royal suite and for the extra few dollars it was worth it as it had plenty of room. We'll stay there again if we go to Chiang Mai

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Anna
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay here in Chiang Mai and your post here on Tripadvisor!
We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay here with us last April. The Royal Suites are certainly very good value for money and our location is ideal. Please let us know when you will visit Chiang Mai again and in the meantime we remain with.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed there for 4D 3N. Location is very good as it's located near to the Night Bazaar as well right opposite a row of massage parlours (not the seedy red light district kind so it's safe for family holidays). Bars and 7-11 shops are nearby for those in need of booze and Chang beers. Room is pretty decent but it can get stuffy in the area where the 3rd bed is placed in the room. Only complaint is the lack of power sockets for us to charge our phones at night. Breakfast selection is rather good but they can be improved if they rotate the food offerings for the Western section.
Staff is very friendly and helpful. Overall a good place to stay if you're in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsooz93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Jsooz
Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Chiang Mai and your post here on TripAdvisor! We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The size of the room may be bit tight when there is a third bed inside. That is why the hotel has many rooms with connecting doors, so guests enjoy a bit more space. The location is certainly a big plus and the big garden is also unique, as no other hotel in town has this.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is really the top location for a visit to Chiang Mai. The number 1 reason most visit Chiang Mai is to experience the famous " Night Market" The Imperial Mae Ping is only a couple city blocks ( under 5 minutes) from the center of the "night Market". It is a decent area, with the hotel having a large, park like and garden area and also two very nice pools. The grounds are lovely, and the staff could not be more helpful or more friendly. You can also easily walk over into the walled old city also.
Then , while I ate at other highly rated restaurants, I thought the hotel restaurant was the best by far for me on my Chiang Mai visit. They have a European chef, Stephan, and both my Thai and sea food meals could not have been better. The restaurant needs to be renamed, as it serves the hotel breakfast buffet and is presently called the "Coffee Shop and Restaurant" which turns off many looking for a fine meal. You must eat there and choose the Imperial Mai Ping for a great stay in the best location.

Room Tip: It is a large hotel with a tall tower, thus the higher floors will have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulAK2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Paul
Thank you for your post here on Trip Advisor and your stay at our hotel here in Chiang Mai. Our hotel is definitely located right in the middle of town, close to all the important temples, walking street and famous bazaar. Chef Stefan is always ready to cook for anyone who wishes to enjoy fine dining food. Thank you for your stay once again.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Great location and staff. I left my wallet in the room safe and Satakhun Futemwong the
Assistant Front Office Manager went to extraordinary lengths to return it to me in the US. They wired the money to my account and mailed the wallet to my home. I would never expect that kind of customer service - well done. I would definitely recommend the hotel to others for the location and great staff

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Ed
Thank you for your post here on TripAdvisor and for staying with us during your recent trip to our city.
We are pleased to read your comments and that you have received your money and wallet back safely. Khun Satakhun - our Assistant Front Office Manager, has really handled your forgotten purse in a very professional manner. It goes without a doubt we will praise him for his efficiency.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#56 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#34 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#58 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#54 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,683 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
#155 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,023 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#100 of 393 in Chiang Mai
2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel

Address: 153 Sridonchai Road | Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#46 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £34 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel features 371 fully furnished guestrooms comprising 248 superior rooms, 88 deluxe rooms and 35 Junior Suites and Royal Suites.Room interiors are in tastefully distinctive, elegant and luxurious Lanna style befitting the rich heritage of this glorious region dating back some 700 years. Our rooms provide all levels of comfort to make your stay in Chiang Mai as relaxing as possible. Individually controlled air-conditioning, wall-to-wall carpeting, Kingsize or twin bedded configuration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Sawasdee, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Imperial Mae Ping
Imperial Mae Ping Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing