We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel at good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
Ranked #74 of 402 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We've visted Chiang Mai several times before, but in February it was the first time we've been at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel and we've been very satisfied with with our comfortable suite room as well as with Food and Drinks and of Cours also with the Service provided by the friendly and attentive staff of the Hotel. The Location of The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel is very good, near of the Night Market and some of the wonderful temples. For tours by car we can recommend the Tour Desk at the Lobby and the Duk-Duk waiting just on the left of the entrance (ask for Leo).

Room Tip: If you would have a quiet room ask for one in a upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stucki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your time to post here on Trip Advisor and for staying with us during your trip to Chiang Mai. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that you found the hotel and its services good. It would be a pleasure to welcoming you back on another occasion in the not too far future.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,725)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

643 - 649 of 1,725 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed for four nights. Adjoining rooms for two adults and two children.
Great staff - all were very pleasant and eager to assist.
Restaurant reasonable prices and good quality - both the Thai and North American cuisine
Pool and deck chairs great place to relax and enjoy the sun.
The hotel is a bit dated (we stayed there 9 years ago and were quite impressed. This stay not so much) and could use renovating/updating ie: replace the carpeting in the rooms / repair the pool chairs.

Room Tip: rooms at the end of the hallway, away from the elevators, were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Geoff
Thank you for your post here on Trip Advisor and your re-visit after nine years. Your comments are very much appreciated and shared with our executives. Certainly it is our aim to upgrade and maintain our hotel. We have invested much money for Fire Life Safety and environmental projects in the past, next will be the guests rooms and public area. Once again thank you for your stay.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We had two rooms interconnecting for 3 kids and 2 adults. The hotel rooms are a little dated, but they we're clean and suited our needs. Breakfast was mostly catered for the Asian market, but we are visiting Asia, so understandable. There was an egg station, cereal, fruit and toast as well. This hotel location was good for us. There was plenty of places to eat out in the main road. From the hotel, left out the gate, then left into the main road, on the righthand side about 20ish meters down there is a garden restaurant that was very good. They also have a bar with a pool table attached. We preferred this restaurant because it was less like a bar than the others along the road. There is a man with menus sitting at the front who guides you into the garden.
The hotel pools were good, the main one is big enough for kids to play happily. If you want to visit large shopping centers, check with the front office staff for free shuttle times. Central Festival is the largest newest shopping center with a lot of popular clothes shops (Zara, top shop etc). We were lucky enough to meet up with 2 great taxi drivers who spoke great English, and took us where ever we wanted to go at very reasonable prices. We did all the attractions ourselves, packing a lot in each day because we had our own driver. (Email me if you would like the taxi drivers contact numbers). Also across the road from the hotel you can get your laundry done by Mr K who charged 39Bt a kg, same day. You can also get a cheap massage along the same road. We are now in Southern Thailand, and really miss the cheap prices of Chiang Mai. Overall, a The Imperial Mae Ping was a perfect stop for us. All the hotel staff we dealt with we're friendly and helpful.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Regan246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Regan
Thank you for your time to post here on Trip Advisor and your stay with us during your time in Chiang Mai. Your comprehensive comments are very much appreciated and we are happy to know that our hotel met your expectations. It would be nice to welcoming you back to our hotel should your travels bring you to the North of Thailand again.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

bed comfy,air con very weak,expensive too book tour here,look outside for much better prices, i was quoted 3000bht for one tour and got exactly the same thing for 1200bht outside,pool clean large but shallow (4ft) i did find another one on 1st floor at 5ft but much smaller,pool waiter very very surly (should rename happy hr to grumpy hr....thats when you could actualy find him !!!!breakfast was very good and was still topped up even if you arrived late (nice touch)had seperate floors for smokers /non smokers/had dinner in the evening one night but very quiet so lacked atmosphere but the food was very good and reasonably priced(even if they did get my order wrong...asked for beef skewer but got pork,didnt complain as i like both and was very nice,lots of atmosphere at b/fast tho as it was busy,bar non smoking (i am a smoker)as was resturant so lack of places too enjoy your coffee/bfast/beer with a ciggie,reception very helpful and polite and a credit too the hotel,dont know why but the lobby area had a "feel good" factor about it,which is why i chose too stay here,also i like the fact the genaral manager takes the time too read and answer those that make the effort too post a review (well done sir)should be ineresting too see how you reply too this review 555 rooms were cleaned too a good standard i wiill be having my b/day here on 14th and will be interesting too see if they notice

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Hi Roger
Thank you for your kind comments here on Trip Advisor and your recent stay. Sorry that I have missed your birthday splash, as I was on my well deserved home leave. Our apologies that our staff have not detected that it was your birthday on July 14th. Belated our "Happy Birthday" wishes.
The prices of excursions quoted at our travel desk in the lobby, are always INCLUSIVE of insurance. I have personally done some of the excursions and was definitely positively surprised from the good and efficient service received. Our German Chef Stefan will be informed about your comments on the food quality. Overall, we are happy that you have enjoyed your stay. Perhaps you will be here again next year around July 14th and we will definitely celebrate with you.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have stayed in Chiang Mai many times although this was the first time at the Imperial Mae Ping.

This hotel is dated and the 4 star rating that Tripadvisor and booking sites give this hotel is misleading.

Our room (820) was noisy - it faced a lift and overlooked the nightly Muai Thai boxing ring. The hotel is close to the Night Bazaar (about a 5 minute walk) and very close to the bars along Loi Kroh bars and massage shops. Examples of the dated nature of the hotel are the shower in tha bath with a flimsy plastic screen - and not a separate shower. Our safe did not work for the 4 night stay despite efforts by management to get it to work. Breakfast was OK but it was not possible to have omlettes made to order. The 2 pools are small and we felt uncomfortable swimming at the upper floor pool as it was next to a function room and the people attending a function would stand by the pool and watch. The hotel is popular with Thais because of its numerous function rooms. One of the problems with hotel accommodation in Chiang Mai is that if you want to be close to the Night Bazaar, the hotels in the area are not that great (with the possible exception of the Meriden) and true 4 or 5 star hotels tend to be a great distance from the Bazaar. On the plus side, the Imperial Mae Ping was relatively cheap and for some people this will be the deciding factor.

Room Tip: Rooms 818 and 820 are noisy as the face a lift and the Muay Thai ring and bars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bushwalker2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Bushwalker
Thank you for your comments here on Trip Advisor and for your stay with us last month. We have taken note of them and will discuss them with our senior management team.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My husband and I spent four nights at this hotel and we were very happy we did. When we booked we decided to spend that little bit extra and got the Royal suite. It was a very comfortable and spacious suite, with separate bedroom and living area. Great view from the 15th floor. The pools are nice and clean and the staff are super friendly. The garden is gorgeous and very well maintained. Location was good for shops and restaurants. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SandyDay66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Sandy
Your "header" says it all. Thank you for your kind comments here on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay here with us. Thank you for your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to the North of Thailand.
Kind regards from The Imperiale Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights with my friends. The Hotel is slightly dated and you can see that it was a majestic establishment during it's heyday. I was there during the end of May, and was it hot and humid. Aircond at Hotel wasn't up to the task and it was a bit unpleasant hanging around in the lobby. Room aircond was better but I have to leave it running the whole time by leaving one of my card key in slot to make sure power doesn't get turned off. It was good that house keeping staff didn't remove it when they came in for house keeping.

Generally staff at Hotel were friendly and always have a ready smile. As usual there would be a few that just seem jaded and comes across as unfriendly, oh well. I was there during the 10pm curfew nationwide in Thailand, and I thoroughly appreciated the Hotel having a "buy one get one free" offer of drinks at their Bistro after 10pm. It was a fantastic gesture ! ! !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Jeffrey
Thank you for staying at our hotel during your recent trip to Chiang Mai and for your post on Trip Advisor! We are pleased to read your comments and that you appreciated our "happy hours" during the curfew. May being a hot month here in Chiang Mai may cause some heavy work for our air condition. It is also a matter of constantly closing all entrance/exit doors, which is unfortunately not always the case. It would be a pleasure to welcoming you back to our hotel perhaps during the cooler time of the year (November-March).
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#55 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#58 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
#179 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,039 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#52 of 402 in Chiang Mai
976 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#54 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel

Address: 153 Sridonchai Road | Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#48 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £36 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel features 371 fully furnished guestrooms comprising 248 superior rooms, 88 deluxe rooms and 35 Junior Suites and Royal Suites.Room interiors are in tastefully distinctive, elegant and luxurious Lanna style befitting the rich heritage of this glorious region dating back some 700 years. Our rooms provide all levels of comfort to make your stay in Chiang Mai as relaxing as possible. Individually controlled air-conditioning, wall-to-wall carpeting, Kingsize or twin bedded configuration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Imperial Mae Ping
Imperial Mae Ping Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing