We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay....suite rooms are brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
Ranked #71 of 393 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 28 April 2009

We stayed hereo on our honeymoon last year, but were in a royal suite....we thought we would try a junior suite (room 1234) this time, and it was just a good as the upgraded royal suit rooms.
Everything about this hotel was execllent.
The bed was soft (as opposed to the normal plank of wood covered by a 1 inch piece of foam, bedding you normally find in Asian rooms).
We had a seperate living area to the bedroom, and had 2 toilets, one near the entry door an another adjoining the seperate bedroom. This was really handy as the missus normally occupies every square millimeter of space in the bathrooms.
I have now stayed in 3 of the room types available and if you can afford the extra for a suites, then do so.
Breakfast was also good.
The hotel is in a great location as well.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,120 - 1,126 of 1,695 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2009

.
Typical of many hotels in Thailand built during the boom years of the 90's, and neglected since then, but still adequate and serviceable. Lobby and rooms are a bit threadbare, lighting is dim (to save on electric), maintenance has been short-changed for years, but still okay to stay.

If you want a large hotel, with large hotel services -- room service, laundry, tour desk, etc., -- and you want that at a middling price, then Imperial Mae Ping is an excellent choice in Chiangmai. That is the combination I look for. If the room decor is a little old, doesn't matter, as long as clean and everything works -- such as hot water in the shower and the door locks securely. For travelers looking for similar, I recommend the Imperial Mae Ping.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank reset_1886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2009

I have no complaints about my stay at this hotel in March 2009. Staff very helpful, lovely big room with combination safe, very clean , nice view. Beautiful beer garden.
The hotel has an excellent location for the night market, the old town and all local shopping and night life. Very short taxi journey to airport.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pablo808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2009

The Imperial Mae Ping is centrally located and close to the night market. One can even walk to the old city. The hotel is close to several bars and restaurants and walking distance from a Starbucks and other fast food options.

The breakfast is just about average and many cheaper alternatives can be found just outside the hotel.

The rooms are very basic. The beds are hard and uncomfortable and shower hardly has any pressure.

The tourist desk is quite helpful and arranged our trips to the Tiger Kingdom and the Elephant Farm.

Beyond the location, there are no further redeemable qualities to the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank et5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2009

We stayed at the Imperial Mae Ping as part of our tour around Thailand. The Mae Ping is centrally located in Chiang Mai. About 1 block away from the Night Markets where you can buy all our wood, clothing and food products.

The rooms are good however there is no wireless internet available within the rooms.

2 Bad points to mention:

1- Noisy!- If you are on the entrance side of the hotel, there is a nightclub area right below the hotel and loud music can be heard until about 3 each morning. And they also have an annoying little water feature out the front of the building that makes a clicking sound and it can be heard from above as well.

2- Avoid the complimentary water!!!!- Two of us got sick from drinking the complimentary Chiang Mai bottled water in the room. Afterwards we saw the reason why. They simply refill the bottles using water from god knows where. Probably explains the condition of some of the bottles.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bizotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2009

Good value. I thought the hotel decor was dated but my Thai friend who is a designer told me it was Chiang Mai style and he liked it. Friendly and polite service from all hotel staff with front desk staff particularly dignified and fluent in English. Abundant breakfast buffet, comfortable room, good tv channel selection. The night bazaar was just a few blocks away.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank VeniceCAguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2009

The Imperial Mae Ping is a good hotel a short walk away from the Night Bazaar.

The rooms and lobby seem a little run down, maybe because of the dark decor.

The staff is always friendly and ready to help.

The breakfast is good enough to fill your tummy with.

What I absolutely adore about this hotel is the excellent pool. There are actually two pools, a small and big pool, on different floors. The pool scenery is beautiful and quiet and really entices you to spend a day swimming and sunbathing. Because of this and the great location, I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pinkilili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#56 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#34 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#58 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#54 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,683 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
#155 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,024 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#100 of 393 in Chiang Mai
2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel

Address: 153 Sridonchai Road | Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#46 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £34 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel features 371 fully furnished guestrooms comprising 248 superior rooms, 88 deluxe rooms and 35 Junior Suites and Royal Suites.Room interiors are in tastefully distinctive, elegant and luxurious Lanna style befitting the rich heritage of this glorious region dating back some 700 years. Our rooms provide all levels of comfort to make your stay in Chiang Mai as relaxing as possible. Individually controlled air-conditioning, wall-to-wall carpeting, Kingsize or twin bedded configuration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Sawasdee, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Imperial Mae Ping
Imperial Mae Ping Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing