We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amora Resort Tapae Chiangmai
Ranked #136 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

i was here with my friend in march 20143 . The staff was friendly and the room also very nice only often of time ,Location of hotel ,staff and breakfast was great. easy to get everywhere and for organize the tours it is so...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank dev499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    245
    145
    67
    55
See reviews for
80
182
63
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed in the Amora from the 12th to 22nd of April 2014, from when we arrived with two 30kg suitcases which were immediately taken from the car and put into the room. all the staff were as helpful as could be, there is a limited amount of English spoke by the staff but their attitude more than made up for this. the room was spotless and serviced every day, the bed was hard for my western body but when we asked we were supplied with a very comfortable mattress topper so if you like a soft bed ask when you check in. The pool was very clean always had towels for guests and plenty of room on sunbeds. the food was probably the only disappointing feature as it was a buffet and cooked to the lowest spice level possible leaving it very bland. the location is ideal for Chiang mai as you are bang in the centre. I would stay again with no issues and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hughcarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Pros: The lobby is really nice so thumbs up to that!
Pool is also good
Location is excellent

Cons: Everything beyond the lobby isn't very nice...the hallways are a bit smelly and the lights are so dim you can hardly see!
Then comes the room, honestly pretty horrible...there is like a damp smell..the carpet is very outdated and the furniture just looks super old! The AC works fine but the sound is loud and annoying!
One thing I hated the most in general was the cleanliness of the hotel...really bad! The rooms had dust, walls were dirty, tables weren't wiped and so on!
Also, Breakfast is horrible...not much choice and u can be eating with mosquitoes flying around!

Wouldnt really recommend this hotel!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rawiya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Chiang Rai, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Overall rating based on management - not staff!

I booked two rooms including breakfast direct with the hotel on 2nd March 2014 for stay 13th & 14th April and sent a special request for two double rooms (not twin rooms); this request was confirmed by email on 3rd March. When we arrived we were asked for payment in full and taken to our rooms, which were clearly twin rooms - our complaint was met with their Terms & Conditions which state Twin or Double - I responded with their email confirmation of Double rooms to which they responded by asking the Bell Man to push the beds together.
Perhaps some training would be good for the "management" - it would have been better to have apologized and to have told us immediately when we arrived at reception that they could not provide double rooms before demanding payment for something they knew they could not provide - their atrocious behaviour broke the contract and tried to tell me I was wrong!

Some lessons from someone who has travelled the world for more than 50 years:-
1. The customer is always right.
2. There is always a discount - the only discussion is how much.
3. A timely apology will usually solve the problem.
This hotel may have a good location but so do plenty of others - I will not stay here again to be treated rudely by the front office management, who seem more concerned about their "loss of face" than customer relations - it's a shame that they let down the rest of their polite and helpful staff.

Special urgent message for the owners:-
Send a team of management trainers, skilled in the hospitality industry to educate your front office management.

Room Tip: Check you have the rooms you booked before you pay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigelmarkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

i was here with my friend in December 2013 . The staff was friendly and the room also very nice only often of time it was problem with WIFI i understood that it has problem everywhere not only this hotel.
Room,Location of hotel ,staff and breakfast was great. easy to get everywhere and for organize the tours it is so easy with hotel travel desk.
when i go next time i am sure i will go same hotel and if any one make plan to go Chaiangmai i hearty recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: on backyard it would be quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pilgrimsh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

I was here with a small tour group for both the beginning and end of my tour. The staff was friendly and the room was nice. I especially liked the spa. From the reception to the massage staff everyone was friendly and knowledgeable. When I'm next in Chaing Mai I will certainly be staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMWdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

The pictures on the website makes this look like a spectacular place. The lobby is elegant and wonderful, but get beyond the lobby and it is tired, worn, and just shabby. We had 2 rooms, one for our kids and one for my husband and myself. The first room my husband and I got smelled heavily of cigarette smoke even though the hotel is non-smoking. After we switched the smell was better, but the bathroom was not. There was mildew and blackness all over the tub and shower curtain. The room was clean but the furnishings were dated, and in bad need of updating. The day before we were due to check out we called and said our air conditioner had quit working. We were without air the rest of that day, and night. Finally someone came to check on us, after numerous calls, and they checked the master controller(which we had already tried to reset many times), as if we didn't know what to do. Finally 2 people came up and said the compresser was out. We had to move to another room. The bathroom here was just as bad as the first 2 rooms.

Best part of the hotel? It was right across the street from Tae Pai Gate into the old city, and there was a Starbucks right down the street. If they spent less money on the lobby and more on the rooms it might be a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.5 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#46 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#43 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
#74 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#49 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#64 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.4 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#14 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Resort Tapae Chiangmai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Resort Tapae Chiangmai

Property: Amora Resort Tapae Chiangmai
Address: 22 Chaiyapooum Road | Tambol Changmoi, Amphur Muang, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Chiang Mai
#31 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#58 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Resort Tapae Chiangmai 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amora Resort Tapae Chiangmai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amora Resort Tapae Chiangmai Hotel Chiang Mai
Amora Hotel Chiang Mai
Amora Hotel Tapae Chiangmai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing