We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old and antiquated, connected to shopping center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew
Ranked #90 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Old and antiquated, connected to shopping center”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

The only reason we chose to stay here was because it was recommended by the hair transplant clinic that my friend was going to. I love museums, but this hotel was not my cup of tea. It is quite old, in the traditional Thai wooden style, and it was musty smelling and very dark corridors. Unstable wifi, old TV. Connected to a shopping center with convenient eateries, by a complicated elevator and twist and turns via corridors.
Staff were very helpful whenever we were lost.

Room Tip: I think there is a a newer wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Persimmone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    201
    138
    67
    32
See reviews for
95
146
52
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Plenty of room in a standard room. I would say double the size of what any standard would be. Nice 8 foot by 12 foot sitting area by the window that contains a small couch and a table with 2 chairs. You can really stretch out here. The whole hotel has a real Thai feel to it. The room could use a little up grade. TVs are old style. The control panel next to the bed that control all the lights and AC should be upgraded. But overall great hotel. Very clean. Public areas are beautiful. Service outstanding. US dollar 45 per night early March including breakfast. I consider this a real good deal considering the quality of the hotels which is superb.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okinawa, Japan
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

My tittle says it all. It's OK if you can't find a better place to stay, which is what happened to us. We ended up staying two nights then left once a better hotel opened up. Ask for the Junior Suite on the new wing, anything else wouldn't be worth it at all. It's a nice room, but there were lots of little things wrong…such as the colony of ants living in the frame of the bathroom mirror. Phone didn't work, TV didn't work, bad air conditioning, etc. Don't expect anything nice and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
164 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Decided to move to Lotus Pang Hotel for the last 3 days of our stay in Chiangmai. It was an excellent choice starting with an unexpected early check-in at 1pm. Our room 1239 had a beautiful view of the mountain. Transport was also readily available from the main road in front of the shopping complex.
Some aspects that were not so satisfactory were the wifi(only available at ground floor reception but many sofas provided for comfortable surfing), limited choices for breakfast (considering the big number of guests) and the surly-looking restaurant staff at breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NinaAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We just finished a 4 night stay in this strange old hotel. Note: They have the Hardest Beds I've had to sleep in since I was in China 3 years ago. Probably because they tend to fill up the place with Chinese tourists and tour buses. This hotel is probably 40+ years old and quite noisy with the echo of banging doors and loud plumbing. When we first arrived, I inquired about an iron. I was told irons are not allowed in Chiang Mai! What!? Good grief it's 2014 folks! (Expedia was zero help either since they did not return my email inquiry).

The elevators are incredibly slow & sometimes pass up your floor entirely. Amenities are the basics and there is no safe in the room. No advertised rooftop patio either as far as I could tell. The entrance to the hotel is in the rear of the shopping center. It can be difficult and a long long way from the main road if you are walking back later in the evening when the mall is closed. Rooms themselves are barely average with some lipstick. When our tv died, they did bring us a new flat-screen. Little fridge is good and having the big mall and market attached is nice.

Not alot else is nearby so you need to walk, take a tuk-tuk or red songthaew. (everywhere and cheap). The Chiang Mai area is great and friendly. Plenty of sights, and don't miss the downtown night bazaar.

All in all the hotel was just ok. If you're ok with that and get a cheap rate ... then ok ;)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJtheDJLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

My husband and I stayed with our 2 young daughters at the Lotus over Christmas break. The hotel is very large and our room was very spacious. The buffet was adequate however they were very slow to refill the "western" options. Our main problem occurred when we went out one day and I had accidently left 1000 baht bill sitting in front of the tv. This is equal to about $33 usd. Both my husband and I were positive it was there. When we returned we looked and saw it was missing. My husband brought the maid and the housekeeping manager into the room and we all searched it. Nobody knew anything about it. We went to the front desk and were told to please return to our room and the hotel manager would contact us. In the room there is a brochure that says the hotel will be responsible for any property taken up to 5000 baht. We were checking out the next day and still had not heard from the manager. The girl at the front desk said they had conducted an investigation and everyone said they didn't take it. I laughed at this because when was the last time anyone admitted to stealing. We again asked to speak to the manager and simply wanted the theft to be acknowledged. We were told the manager could not talk to us and if we chose we could go down to the police station and file a report. FOR $33! We has spent almost $1000 at their hotel and they couldn't even be bothered to follow their own stated policies. Well my husband is as stubborn as they come and didn't appreciate their attitude. So off he went to the tourist police to make a report. After all this the manager still stayed in the back room. This was a small amount of money and honestly I understand the person taking it. I just expected the hotel to live up to their policy and reimburse us. We still have not heard from them. THERE ARE MUCH BETTER HOTELS IN CHIANG MAI! AVOID THE LOTUS HOTEL AT ALL COST.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boomta2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Thsi Hotel is a mega property, though there are amenities but its lacking maintenance. The rooms are similar sized and option of various types of room is limited. The Hotel reception lounge is grand , the staff are well trained and hospitable. The wifi worked very well. The room service from their restaurant is good. The room and rest room is clean and tidy. There is good enough variety of breakfast provided and specially there are good selection for veggies.
Having a direct connection with the PSK Mall having central store, tops and variety of branded fastfood outlet.
Overall good experience and in case we return to chiang mai, we would be here again.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms would provide good view of hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Praveen_K_Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Chiang Mai Orchid Hotel
Chiang Mai Orchid Hotel
#185 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cmor Hotel Chiang Mai by Andacura
1.8 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#46 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mercure Chiang Mai
Mercure Chiang Mai
#64 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#63 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
1.8 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#107 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew

Property: Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew
Address: 21 Huay Kaew Road | Suthep, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew is one of Chiang Mai's leading convention hotels, situated in the heart of the city. The hotel's location is unique, sitting adjacent to Kad Suan Kaew Shopping Complex and just a walking distance from Nimmanhaemin rd. Surrounded by Chiang Mai's best attraction and entertainment facilities, guests really are spoilt for choices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TravelUp, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing