We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chiang Mai Orchid Hotel
Ranked #202 of 389 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This hotel is located near the north west corner of the rectangular moat in Chiang Mai. It is next to a large shopping centre so very convenient for eating, shopping or going to the movies. The shopping centre Pad Suen Kaew is a little bit old but clean and interesting to wonder around. There is a supermaket in the basement. The hotel is rather old and Thai style wooden decorated. The rooms are of a reasonable size and there is WIFI in them. The breakfast is average for European taste and is more suited for local Thai or Asian customers. There are no in room safes but there are safe deposit boxes at reception. The swimming pool is large but getting in and out of it is difficult since the metal steps only go a very short way under the water so getting out is extremely difficult. Having mentioned this to the management on several occassions over a few years I am dissapointed that nothing has been done to solve that problem since it would be relatively cheap and easy to fix it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel since the rooms at the front are sometimes a bit noisy with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

Arrived with a confirmed reservation for 2 rooms for 3 nights made thru the hotel web site. Front desk staff told no rooms available and we would have to contact the booking agent about the problem. Showed staff the reservation confirmation with hotel web site URL. Staff called in management who repeated the nonsense about booking agent. When all realized we were not just going to walk away, they found 2 rooms for 1 night. The attitude of the hotel staff and managers was that it was our problem not theirs. They made no effort to help find an alternative hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
12  Thank 3d-mapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

stay there at the end of december, prior to arrival i called from bkk airport to ensure my booking but receptionist said that they have no booking for me and that night they only have suite left, even i have made a booking and airport pick up 2 weeks earlier...
anyway airport pick up was there when i arrived in chiang mai airport and so far so good, have a good conversation with the driver..
first impression about the hotel was ok and the interior is typical thai traditional hotel.
By the pictures that they hung in front of elevator you will notice that this hotel was one of the best in 80's or 90's. many public figures were staying here (or were here)

everything in this hotel looks old, breakfast was not as i expected, and english might become challenging if you not familiar with thai accent (lucky me that i live in thai so get used to with their accent). also it take almost 30 minutes to serve espresso and cappucino in lobby bar

good things about this hotel is, easy to reach from airport (10 minutes away), it located just beside the old wall of ancient city which not far from most of chiang mai attractions including the infamous chiang mai walkin street - night bazzar. Right beside the hotel, is the electronic mall which have so many fast food restaurants. and there's one convenience store right in front of the hotel (7eleven)

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank poly_only
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We went to use the pool and although the pool is fine the staff really did not not want to be there! They were surly to the point of rudeness.
The place is so dated and even the staff at reception barely spoke English.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Service
3  Thank Londoner056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

This was my first stay at this hotel. The service was wonderful but the hotel was a bit old and dated. The room was comfortable and very clean with older furnishings and an older bathroom. My only complaint was that there was no in-room safe...and I like having one of those.

The buffet breakfast, which was included, was one of the best of any hotel I have ever stayed at. The selection was great and they even had a omelet and noodle station that made items for you. That alone is unusual in a hotel of this level.

The location is ok. You have to take a red-truck taxi if you want to go closer to the Night Market or tourist area.

If you are coming from the airport, arrange with the hotel for their shuttle to the hotel. It is cheaper and easier than a meter taxi.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larryjw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

The hotel is quite conveniently located and reasonably priced but it really is looking the worse for wear these days. Shabby around the edges and not the friendliest of places. The internet is a joke. It is provided free of charge on certain floors but if you are more than two rooms from the server you wont get a signal at all. Even if you are next to the server it is so slow, snail mail would almost be quicker. Buffet breakfast was OK but mostly only lukewarm.
The two rooms that I have stayed in had adjoining doors. It was very noisy - not that my neighbours were noisy, there was no soundproofing!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maric960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

This hotel appears to be aimed primarily at the conference/function market and is well located, being right next door to a big shopping centre.

But it is looking very worn and tired and is in need of complete refurbishment. I am well used to Thai standards of maintenance, but at 3,500 baht for a small suite, I do not expect to have to endure peeling paint, knackered plumbing and broken drawers/cupboard doors. There was black dirt around the air-con vents; I wonder when the filters had last been cleaned or replaced…

Most staff pleasant and helpful. But reception staff unable to think outside of their comfort zone and deal with a simple request.

Buffet breakfast was a disappointment for the room price - poorly managed and we had difficulty in finding a table that had been cleared from previous use.

Possibly ok for a cheaper room on a deal, but this hotel is way past its “best-before” date.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chanrakthai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew
Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew
#94 of 389 in Chiang Mai
550 reviews
0.5 mi away
Furama Chiang Mai
Furama Chiang Mai
#217 of 389 in Chiang Mai
391 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
#158 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Dome Residence
The Dome Residence
#159 of 389 in Chiang Mai
85 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chiangmai Grandview Hotel
Chiangmai Grandview Hotel
#123 of 389 in Chiang Mai
132 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Chiang Mai
Mercure Chiang Mai
#70 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiang Mai Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiang Mai Orchid Hotel

Address: 23 Huay Kaew Road, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 389 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £24 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chiang Mai Orchid Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Chiang Mai Orchid, you have a choice of seven different types of rooms altogether there are 266 of them. All are designed and decorated as living testimony to the artistic elegance of the Lanna Thai Era combined with the most modern state of the art convenience facilities. And to top it all, each room has a scenic view of beautiful Chiang Mai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chiang Mai Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing