We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chiang Mai Orchid Hotel Thailand, sucks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chiang Mai Orchid Hotel
Ranked #244 of 393 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This hotel the Chiang Mai Orchid is anything but a 4 star hotel, the best rating I could give it is a 2 star. I am currently staying at this hotel for 4 days and realize I made a big mistake trusting the pictures of the hotel on the internet, if you pay more than $40 per night, you paid too much, the WiFi sucks. The only thing good about the hotel is its location and the mall next door.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel, not more than 10 years old. Did I mentions the WiFi sucks big time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here many times. It is a good older Hotel. The bad points are the walls are fairly thin, and the interior decoration is old, and the lights are very dim.

That being said, the service is very good. The staff are polite and friendly. Is located next to a mall which is convenient, and just across the street is a time massage that type people frequence of the price is quite reasonable.

In the area there are some good restaurants about five minutes away by tuk tuk and you can get downtown to the Chang Mai night bazaar area in about 15 minutes by red taxi for 20 baht.

Bottom line, I would stay there again, actually I will stay there again in January

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed here as everywhere else had been booked up for loy krathong. We would not normally pay this much for a hotel even though its not expensive by uk standards. But we were quite happy to have a bit of relative luxury for a couple of nights! The reception staff didn't seem to know what they were doing but maybe this is because they were fully booked. The room overall was old and a bit tired but was probably the grandest hotel in C M a long time ago. Downstairs are pics of princess Di and prince Charles when they stayed! But the rooms were big and comfortable with flat screen TV and robe, slippers and toiletries. Not particularly that clean as there was dust all behind the fridge. The breakfast included in the price was great and a good selection. The pool looked fab too though we didn't use it. Overall we really enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cazngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Great location, next to mall and on a central road. Quiet and comfortable. Great restaurant and bar staff however the reception staff are miserable. Our room was ok, dusty, smelt of cigarette smoke, hair on the floor and bad view of a car park. This hotel was very cheap so it didn't matter to us too much. If you can see past a bit of grub then do it. Nice pool, nice lobby, nice food and coffee.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The place is still fine, nothing particularly wrong with the rooms except it's dated. And you have to take a taxi to get into the old city. I regularly used the red taxis that serve as unofficial bus service I guess and found it to be great. They cost 20 bht and took about ten minutes to get to thaepo gate, night bazaar, etc. not bad and the hotel was decently priced around $30/night excluding breakfast. I love Thai food carts too much, bad habit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelina30s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I have stayed 4 times. It is clean, the staff are courteous and helpful. Internet is decent for the area (charges may apply depending on your reservation type).

Also they have a great pool, and a REAL gym- free weights, power rack, you can deadlift here!!

Across the street is a good massage 160THB per hour/next door in front of the mall you can get a "Street massage" (sitting on a mat) for less. There is also a small night market on weekends there- mainly food, all kinds of fast food in the mall, a starbucks. Across the street is a "tired disco, MKK - a popular and cheap Japanese style restaurant.

Convenient to the mall/short red taxi to the night market.

Room Tip: Standarm room is adequate, so no need to spend more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I'll go along with what appears to be the majority view. This was clearly once a very good hotel and still is adequate but it is looking tired. Its location isn't ideal for those wanting to explore the more touristic parts of the city. You'll need to take a tuk-tuk or songthaew to get to the night bizaar for example.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew
Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew
#95 of 393 in Chiang Mai
562 reviews
0.2 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#26 of 393 in Chiang Mai
687 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chiangmai Grandview Hotel
Chiangmai Grandview Hotel
#124 of 393 in Chiang Mai
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Holiday Garden Hotel
Holiday Garden Hotel
#238 of 393 in Chiang Mai
150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Furama Chiang Mai
Furama Chiang Mai
#201 of 393 in Chiang Mai
401 reviews
3.1 mi away
Eurasia Chiang Mai Hotel
Eurasia Chiang Mai Hotel
#74 of 393 in Chiang Mai
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiang Mai Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiang Mai Orchid Hotel

Address: 23 Huay Kaew Road, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #244 of 393 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £26 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chiang Mai Orchid Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Chiang Mai Orchid, you have a choice of seven different types of rooms altogether there are 266 of them. All are designed and decorated as living testimony to the artistic elegance of the Lanna Thai Era combined with the most modern state of the art convenience facilities. And to top it all, each room has a scenic view of beautiful Chiang Mai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chiang Mai Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing