We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chiang Mai Orchid Hotel
Ranked #186 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel looks good from the outside and that Is as far as you Should venture. The hotel is quiet old and 1s in desperate need of a renovation. My room was not very clear, the towles were used and dirty from the previous guest, bathroom in general was not clean and looked as if it had not relieved a good clear In a long time. I would advise staying at one of the many guest houses near by they are cheaper and much clearer.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    103
    69
    24
    17
See reviews for
23
52
30
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in need of a face lift. My husband booked this hotel because it looked like the pool was nice and it was in a central location. It had a great breakfast buffet included, rooms were clean, but the location was not great. The gym was quite old with 80's aerobics posters all over, holes in the ceiling and rusted equipment. We did have a good laugh - after all most people are not coming here to work out. Overall it was clean and comfortable, but next time we would recommend a guest house or boutique style hotel closer to the action.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Seekthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This hotel the Chiang Mai Orchid is anything but a 4 star hotel, the best rating I could give it is a 2 star. I am currently staying at this hotel for 4 days and realize I made a big mistake trusting the pictures of the hotel on the internet, if you pay more than $40 per night, you paid too much, the WiFi sucks. The only thing good about the hotel is its location and the mall next door.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel, not more than 10 years old. Did I mentions the WiFi sucks big time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Japan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here many times. It is a good older Hotel. The bad points are the walls are fairly thin, and the interior decoration is old, and the lights are very dim.

That being said, the service is very good. The staff are polite and friendly. Is located next to a mall which is convenient, and just across the street is a time massage that type people frequence of the price is quite reasonable.

In the area there are some good restaurants about five minutes away by tuk tuk and you can get downtown to the Chang Mai night bazaar area in about 15 minutes by red taxi for 20 baht.

Bottom line, I would stay there again, actually I will stay there again in January

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed here as everywhere else had been booked up for loy krathong. We would not normally pay this much for a hotel even though its not expensive by uk standards. But we were quite happy to have a bit of relative luxury for a couple of nights! The reception staff didn't seem to know what they were doing but maybe this is because they were fully booked. The room overall was old and a bit tired but was probably the grandest hotel in C M a long time ago. Downstairs are pics of princess Di and prince Charles when they stayed! But the rooms were big and comfortable with flat screen TV and robe, slippers and toiletries. Not particularly that clean as there was dust all behind the fridge. The breakfast included in the price was great and a good selection. The pool looked fab too though we didn't use it. Overall we really enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Great location, next to mall and on a central road. Quiet and comfortable. Great restaurant and bar staff however the reception staff are miserable. Our room was ok, dusty, smelt of cigarette smoke, hair on the floor and bad view of a car park. This hotel was very cheap so it didn't matter to us too much. If you can see past a bit of grub then do it. Nice pool, nice lobby, nice food and coffee.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The place is still fine, nothing particularly wrong with the rooms except it's dated. And you have to take a taxi to get into the old city. I regularly used the red taxis that serve as unofficial bus service I guess and found it to be great. They cost 20 bht and took about ten minutes to get to thaepo gate, night bazaar, etc. not bad and the hotel was decently priced around $30/night excluding breakfast. I love Thai food carts too much, bad habit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelina30s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew
Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew
#93 of 375 in Chiang Mai
503 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chiangmai Hill 2000 Hotel
Chiangmai Hill 2000 Hotel
#305 of 375 in Chiang Mai
65 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
#172 of 375 in Chiang Mai
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Royal Peninsula Hotel Chiang Mai
Royal Peninsula Hotel Chiang Mai
#126 of 375 in Chiang Mai
256 reviews
0.5 mi away
Furama Chiang Mai
Furama Chiang Mai
#258 of 375 in Chiang Mai
369 reviews
0.5 mi away
Suan Doi House Hotel & Resort
Suan Doi House Hotel & Resort
#188 of 375 in Chiang Mai
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiang Mai Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiang Mai Orchid Hotel

Property: Chiang Mai Orchid Hotel
Address: 23 Huay Kaew Road, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chiang Mai Orchid Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Chiang Mai Orchid, you have a choice of seven different types of rooms altogether there are 266 of them. All are designed and decorated as living testimony to the artistic elegance of the Lanna Thai Era combined with the most modern state of the art convenience facilities. And to top it all, each room has a scenic view of beautiful Chiang Mai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chiang Mai Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing