We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK to stay, but no atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chiangmai Hill 2000 Hotel
Ranked #311 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Hoorn, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“OK to stay, but no atmosphere”
Reviewed 3 August 2010

This is a Thai business hotel, with a nice pool. It's on a busy street (the one to the temple Doj Sutep, which is brilliant). The hotel is large, but needs some renovation. The windows don't fully close, letting the streetnoise in. We found a rather large cockroach in our bathroom (only once, but still...).

The restaurant is OK, but not brilliant. The prices in the restaurant are quite high for Thailand. If you're going to have dinner there, dress warm because the airco is too strong.

What I miss is Thai atmosphere. We've seen other hotels which invited you to relax, nothing of that in this hotel. It's best suited for businessmen who are looking for a decent hotel, just above middle class.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrooze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    16
    25
    10
    8
See reviews for
12
12
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2009

I spent 5 days at The Chiang Mai Hill Hotel with friends in February 2005 and found it to be quite good value ($55 AUD per night at the time). We booked the hotel at short notice following a spontaneous decision made in Bangkok to visit Chiang Mai. It had been listed in the Lonely Planet guide to Thailand under mid-range accommodation.
The room was spacious, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was clean and in good condition. The fixtures and fittings were a bit dated and worn but everything was clean and nothing was broken, and the air conditioning in the room worked really well. The only real issue I had with the room was the dim lighting in the bathroom, and an ant invasion of my room on the 2nd or 3rd day which was attended to moderately quickly.
The pool was great, big enough to do laps in and well maintained. There was also a small sauna (I'm not a fan but my friend enjoyed it) and an adequate Gym.
The breakfast was included in the room rate and provided both Western and Thai options in a buffet and there were a variety of tasty choices for both vegetarians and meat eaters.
It was quite convenient for sight seeing being situated about a 10-15 minute Tuk Tuk ride from the night bazaar and on the road to the zoo and Doi Suthep. There was also a tour desk which, to be honest, we didn't use much as we preferred to do things at our own pace and so hired a taxi for day trips. My only real criticism of the hotel was the tour desk staff advising the wrong start time for a Khantoke dinner we had signed up for, and we were very disappointed we missed most of it as a consequence.
Overall I had a pleasant stay in an adequate hotel that lacked character, but was good value.

  • Stayed February 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank superchickridesagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gronau, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2007

I stayed at the hotel in March and June 2007. I must say that the staff at the reception are very nice, but the rooms not. I stayed in two different rooms and both needed a renovation. It is not the best hotel of Chaing Mai. The breakfast was ok. The staff at the parkinglot are very nice and helpful. If the hotel will do a renovation I think it will become a very good hotel.

  • Liked — Near Doi Suthep and Zoo
  • Disliked — The rooms needed renovation
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiang Mai
0.2 mi away
Khum Phucome Hotel
Khum Phucome Hotel
#210 of 383 in Chiang Mai
52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Garden Hotel
Holiday Garden Hotel
#232 of 383 in Chiang Mai
140 reviews
4.0 mi away
Eurasia Chiang Mai Hotel
Eurasia Chiang Mai Hotel
#90 of 383 in Chiang Mai
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Kham Mon Lanna Resort
Kham Mon Lanna Resort
#177 of 383 in Chiang Mai
25 reviews
1.6 mi away
Heuan Pak-Dee Chiangmai
Heuan Pak-Dee Chiangmai
#364 of 842 in Chiang Mai
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Is Am O Chiang Mai Resort
Is Am O Chiang Mai Resort
#9 of 15 in Doi Saket
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiangmai Hill 2000 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiangmai Hill 2000 Hotel

Property: Chiangmai Hill 2000 Hotel
Address: 211 Huaykaew Road, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #311 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chiangmai Hill 2000 Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chiangmai Hill 200 Hotel The heart and soul of northern Thai,is the ideal choice to combine business and pleasure for you. With Chiang Mai,Central Business district and Night bazaar, Chiangmai Hill 2000 also offers convenient reach to many tourist attractions around Chiangmai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Zenrooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chiangmai Hill 2000 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing