We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice small hotel”
Review of Rich Lanna House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rich Lanna House
Ranked #48 of 777 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel offers a very clean and well equipped environment at a handsome location close to the city. The hotel interior is new and of very high quality in the old northern thai lanna style (wooden furniture with ornaments etc.). Being there you feel like in a living room.
Like traditionally lanna style the rooms are very small and not very high. However very clean well equipped. Good breakfast. Absolutely recommended.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Beilib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
There are newer reviews for Rich Lanna House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

Had 3 beautiful nights in this hotel. It really was the best place we stayed at on our Thailand trip. Huge, well designed and homely room (more like an apartment) on the third floor and away from the main road. Nice comfy bed and lots of cable Tv channels for once. Breakfast buffet was tasty, with some interesting Thai treats and possibly the best coffee in Thailand. The breakfast area was also cute. The whole hotel is very attractive and decorated with Thai arts and crafts, and the pool area looks like it's out of a magazine. Had a quick swim but it was a bit cold for swimming. The staff were all very happy and friendly and helpful. A great place to stay in this great little town. The location is a bit further away from the main attractions and shops but still an easy walk,

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelpossums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I stayed at Rich Lanna House for three days over Loy Krathong and at the end of those three days I just didn’t want to leave. I often stay in this part of the old city but closer to Wat Chiang Man so I know the area well. Sripoom road is busy and can be a bit noisy but the hotel is set back a bit from the main road and is peaceful inside. For some people the location may be a bit too far north but it’s an easy walk to Kad Suan Kaew or the Taphae gate area and there are plenty of good little eateries close by.
It’s a small hotel but beautifully decorated and the lobby area has lovely and interesting decoration. The use of teak floors throughout the hotel is great. I had a deluxe room on the second floor and it faced out towards Huay Kaew road rather than in towards the small pool area. Not the best view but the room is so pretty it doesn’t matter. The pool area is nice but compact.
The room I had was large and comfortable, the large double teak bed was great for sleeping and the linens first class. Plenty of hanging space and the room had all the usual features. I loved the lighting and the floors and the use of teak. The bathroom was great too with a large walk in shower with gorgeous tiles and nice toiletries. I can’t really fault the room, in fact I’d like a bedroom just like this at home.
The staff were always sweet and smiling and there’s a coffee shop at the front. Breakfast is taken upstairs at the front of the hotel in either a small aircon room or on an open terrace facing the street. It’s a buffet and for me was slightly disappointing but fine. Would have been nice to have freshly cooked eggs.
I’d happily stay here again

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulosussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

A helpful staff, and a wonderful and beautiful owner, made our stay a memorable event! The location is great for sightseeing, and we were so comfortable in the room at night. We had purchased an antique wall hanging, which the staff arraigned to have professionally cleaned before we checked out. Over and beyond helpful! I will always treasure the present we received on checking out! Thank you Rich Lana House!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSC1673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This was the first and the nicest hotel we stayed in while in Thailand. Very clean, cosy and nicely decorated rooms. We stayed first in a smaller, then in a bigger and more luxurious room and both were very nice. The interior decoration on the hotel is also adorable and stylish. Breakfast was really very nice with some local specialties and plenty of fresh fruits, also some Western-style stuff for those who don't want to eat local (we were not among them so i can't speak of the eggs and bacon but i'm sure they were perfect). The staff was kind and polite, maybe a bit better English wouldn't have done harm.
They also have a café next doors with a beautiful garden and plenty of yummy looking cakes. Souvenirs on display in the hall were nice and affordable, too. I bought a couple and then i saw a lot of similar stuff around Thailand but in worse quality for the same price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KallinaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We had a three night stay at Rich Lanna house, they were our introduction to Chiang Mai.
The hotel is quite lovely woods etc and a nice pool with running water to drown out "city noise", good touch! There are many sights nearby, or within a short tuk tuk ride and the water way was beautiful at night. Beds were comfy and the linens were lovely. Best of all was the desk help, though it took some patience, they booked a superb cooking class at WE COOK-thank you! Miw owner and teacher of We Cook was organized, knowledgeable and a real dynamo. Once we were mosquito repellent protected the evening was superb. We had a wonderful time. I have taught cooking classes for over a decade, and taken classes at Le Cordon Bleu, France, America, Italy and Mexico and by all standards her class was wonderful. She makes Thai cooking understandable and easy for those of us from another culture. It was also loads of fun and great entertainment for the evening. They picked us up at our hotel and returned us when we finished, another plus. Thank you for your help while we were staying with you and beyond.
Also the hotel suggested that we book at Rawee Waree for elephant viewing and riding. It was a super resort (a bit of a splurge, do opt for the breakfast included as they are the only choice). We were the only guests and loved everything associated with the elephants. Show, riding, feeding. Kudos Rich Lanna House for your help. Sincerely, Carol and Greg Taylor from Oregon USA

Room Tip: Our only regret was not requesting a low floor room when we booked, climbing to the top floor repeat...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CATWEST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Beautifully decorated in the wooden, Lanna style, with wood carvings and teak furniture. The breakfast was delicious - choices included bacon and eggs, Thai food, wonderful croissants, cereals and fresh fruit. Excellent location - within the city moat and easy to walk to the various temples and explore the area. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyGanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Lanna Tree Boutique Hotel
Lanna Tree Boutique Hotel
#65 of 777 in Chiang Mai
53 reviews
0.3 mi away
BB Mantra Hotel
BB Mantra Hotel
#36 of 777 in Chiang Mai
185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#18 of 777 in Chiang Mai
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#13 of 777 in Chiang Mai
862 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Canal Boutique house
Le Canal Boutique house
#33 of 891 in Chiang Mai
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bon Ca Va
Bon Ca Va
#50 of 777 in Chiang Mai
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rich Lanna House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rich Lanna House

Address: 2 Soi 3 Sriphoom Rd. T.Sripoom A.Maung, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 777 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Hotel Class:3 star — Rich Lanna House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rich Lanna House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing