We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deserves number one rating in Chiang Mai” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Empress Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Empress Hotel
Ranked #49 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Deserves number one rating in Chiang Mai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is our second stay at the Empress.
The old adage that you get what you pay for, doesn,t apply to this hotel. In fact you get far more.
Location is great, you are a 5 odd minute walk from the night markets.
Hotel is wonderful. Rooms are spacious, very clean, and serviced by smiling and friendly staff.
Breakfast is undoubtedly the best I have ever had in Thailand. The variety and quality is so good it unfortunately induces you to overeat. Staff at breakfast incredibly attentive, never allowing your coffee or teacup to be empty.
Staff at front desk so helpful and friendly.
I have got the impression that management is supportive of staff, which is important to me as a worker back home.In our last hotel in Bangkok it was so evident that the staffing numbers were at a bare minimum, and the poor old workers were being run off their feet. We really felt sorry for them.At the Empress however there is a lot of happy staff which i enjoyed seeing.
Sorry about the rant.
Attention to detail amazing. Fruit bowl in our room when we arrived, and if you go to the night market you will come back to your room and find the bed turned down with a frangipani flower on your pillow. Beautiful.
One tip. Make use of the tuk tuk drivers near the hotel, they will happily take you anywhere you want without side trips to tailors or jewelers. Ask them to take you to the Warorot market during the day. Well worth a visit. Would like to suggest you dont screw them down too hard on price. That extra 40 baht makes a big difference to them. For you and me a couple of dollars means nothing.

Room Tip: This a quiet area, it doesn,t matter where your room is, it will be nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    570
    293
    66
    25
See reviews for
197
630
91
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Empress Hotel whilst on honeymoon, considering we only really used the hotel as a base to sleep and have breakfast we couldn't fault it. The old city is less than 10 minutes away by tutu which were no more than 80 baht each way. One thing that was a little bit cheeky was the slow paid for WIFI which wasn't expensive just very very slow.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We spent three nights at this hotel. The service is quite poor, taking in account that you are in Asia and they are supposed to offer the best service in the world. The location is good, and Chiang Mai is a very nice area.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nicoleta J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

This is my third stay at The Empress and I am pleased to see it continues to live up to expectations! I have traveled throughout Thailand for the past nine years, experiencing many hotels, and what sets The Empress apart for me is their professional service, courtesy and personal care to detail. Because of this I tend to enjoy an extended stay there of about two weeks.

This time, I arrived well before check-in but was immediately shown two spacious rooms to choose from--I chose the one with the king sized bed and dining area. Within the hour I had free wifi for my entire stay, a sumptuous fruit plate of local fruit including mangosteen (yum yum), bouquets of flowers, and a gift bag full of sweet and savory treats. That evening, as I turned in my key (customary when leaving the hotel) reception announced I had a complimentary dinner as well. Throughout my stay daily newspapers, fruit plates, fresh flowers, and goody bags were delivered again!

To keep this short, everything required for an effortless enjoyable stay is provided: the rooms are clean, the ac easily adjustable, plenty of hot/cold water at your disposal, safe deposit box (as well as another secure box available in their businessman center), mini fridge, complimentary drinking water and an atm machine on the property. You can fill your days with adventure and be rest assured a comfortable friendly hotel is waiting for you upon your return. There is even a descent sized clean pool to cool off in-chilly but refreshing.

Chiang Mai is a welcomed escape, and The Empress a home away from home. I will definitely return next year!

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank kimb3rley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balen, Belgium
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at The Empress. Where in most Thai hotels a 'triple' room turned out to be a double room with an extra bed, the triple room we got in The Empress was a spacious room with three 'permanent' beds. The breakfast is both Thai and intercontinental, and is very good. According to our son, the pool was a bit too cold.
You have to take a taxi to the old center, but the night bazaar is only a 10 minutes walk away.
The hotel offers wifi, but you have to pay (50 baht/3 hours and only one connected device. So if we wanted to use wifi at the same time, we had to pay for two codes). Most frustrating was that in our room the connectivity was bad, and even during non-peak hours the connection was much slower than in many hotels offering free wifi.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We have never enjoyed such service as we had in this hotel. We had flowers delivered to our room each day. The free breakfast had several courses with a huge variety. We received a welcome gift, free supper, a wecome drink, fruit basket, and a large bag of goodies including chocolates. We also received free shuttle to and from the airport. The genuine service was exceptional by all staff. The room was large and comfortable. The pool, spa and exercise room were all well equipped. We received several gifts during our stay (necklace, salt and pepper shakers, key chains, and a bouquet of roses). The maid turn down our bed and adorned our pillow with orchids. We would highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Our room looked out to the pool. We also stay on the 17th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank metroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We have stayed here twice now and have found the staff here to be very warm and welcoming hence our return for a second time. The location is just a 10 minute walk to the Night Bazaar but just outside of the busy area so it is not too noisy. The rooms are typical Thai / Chiang Mai traditional style and are comfortable. The buffet breakfast is average but if you get a Thai set dinner included as part of your package make sure you use it as the service we received at dinner was up there with the best service possible. The only issue we had was that there was a leak from the roof in the bathroom but that was fixed basically as soon as we reported it. We will stay here again during our next visit to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The777Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#45 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#53 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#64 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#54 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
0.7 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#48 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel

Property: Empress Hotel
Address: 199/42 Chang Klan Rd, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#33 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#33 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Empress Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing