We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once is more than enough” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
Ranked #186 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Once is more than enough”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Stayed for 4 nites from 17-21 Feb. The lobby was the best thing in the entire hotel. It was nicely and grandly renovated. To solve the query on why the lobby is so much nicely than the rooms, it was renovated due to the lobby being damaged due to flood a few years back.

The rooms are a major disapointment. They are and worn out. This is despite my staying in a deluxe room. asked for connecting rooms were told there arent any. Small CRT TVS, hard bed where i can slightly feel the springs. Room was clean enough. I do not recommend anybody staying here if there need a good night's sleep.

The housekeeping was bad. Everyday, they forgot to refill something. Tissue paper, Coffee sachet, amenities.

They also like to charge you for items typically free in other hotels. On checkout, a pair of disposable bedroom slippers was missing. They took 15 mins to check and as i was rushing to go to the airport, i paid 280baht for a pair of old slippers just to settle the matter!!!!! I later recalled that the price list stated as 100baht. I feel cheated. This incident made me never want to return to the hotel again.

Breakfast was minimally acceptable. I find the decor indoors totally depressing. Dark wood with orange lights gave the place a depressive atmosphere. Nobody told us there were outdoor seating. I discovered on my 4th day. If you have to stay here, go for outdoors seating. It is light, cool air and uplifting mood.

The plus points is only location. There is a massage place next to the 7-11 opp the hotel which has free WIFI. Hotel charges 200baht for 1 hr and pay at reception which is like crazy. There is also a pharmacy on the opp of hotel. The cafe on left of hotel was great, free wifi again on your smartphone.

The alley opp the hotel proivides a shortcut to the daily night bazaar. v

Overall i would never want to stay here again. It mars my whole experience of Chiangmai.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelaholic-1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    392
    233
    123
    86
See reviews for
139
334
105
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We booked this hotel through asia web.Though requisition was made for an earlier check in by 12 noon,it did not work.We had to wait in the very spacious lobby for more than an hour to get the rooms allotted.The deluxe rooms are really big,though a bit aged.The toilets are clean.The break fast is nice as well with a good variety of dishes.How ever the WIFI charges are really on the higher side @200 THB per hour.Though the initial booking was made for a single day,we managed to get it extended for three more days due to the prime location.It is close to every thing with the night market at a mere 5 minute brisk walk.Thus the overall experience was fine.!!

Room Tip: Try nto have deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krishnakumar_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1,882 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,859 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We were with a tour group which booked this hotel. It is a large plush place with Thai themes and a gigantic lobby. Thai folk music is played there in the evening. Rooms are vey large with a large king size bed and 4 pillows. There is a coffee maker and fridge, but no room safe--you have to use safe boxes at the desk. Dated old TV with poor cable choices and reception. Pool area is large and inviting. Breakfast buffet was adequate--not great. The best thing about this hotel is the great location near most major areas in the center of the city.

Use of Wifi was very expensive but there is an internet cafe just to the left of the hotel cost 30 baht (about one dollar) for an hour. Across from the hotel is a good laundry and a 7-11 and an ATM. There are many message places nearby.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pnemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roi Et
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Stayed here last year.and have read with mixed thoughts on a lot of the comments here. I also booked through Agoda and had a really Ok price for the room and service I recieved. I think if you dont speak Thai then it could be a problem with the front desk. We found the room big and everything worked. Had room serivce three or four times and they were fast and the food was good, though the menu limited. The pool was fine but cold do with some plants and trees to give it a bit more atmosphere. Breakfast slection quite good, not huge but some things changed daily.
Didnt quite get why they need such a huge lobby as there was never anybody sitting around in it.
All in all very good for the price and close to the night market.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ae S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

First, I've never been inclined to write a negative review of a hotel before so I am not one of those people who always find something to complain about. I also travel quite a bit for work and stay in a similar class of hotels that the Chiang Mai Plaza claims to be. My list of grievances with this property is so long, it became almost comical. In no particular order: Upon check-in, I had requested a mountain view room and was told my room was indeed a mountain view room. My room faced the street-no mountain in sight- and with that brought quite a bit of street noise. I also had the pleasure of hearing someone bang a gong at 4am each morning. Once I got to my "mountain view room" there were lightbulbs out in the room. The bathroom was completely dark. I then went to the workout room to have a run. Can you believe there were no treadmills? I'm not sure I've ever stayed at a hotel with an exercise facility that didn't have at least one treadmill. Not to worry, I can find something else, right? Wrong! The stairstepper machine was broken as well as the stationary cycle. Go for a swim? Slim chance-they closed the pool area 30 minutes earlier than the time that was posted. Ok, I'll sweat it out of me. Wrong again! The sauna was out of service. Exhausting all of my options, I went to the business center to get caught up on some emails. Should have known. The internet in the hotel was broken. I asked when they anticipated it being fixed and got no reply from the unhelpful and unfriendly woman "working" in the business center. (FYI-Cafe Amore about 500 yards down the road has lovely drinks at very reasonable prices along with computers and internet.) Lastly, the restaurant was the worst I've experienced in all of Thailand and Chiang Mai. The food was not fresh, or even tasty for that matter, and several meals I ate there had no service at all-which meant no drinks to have (and I mean drinks as in water or soda) during your meals. Breakfast was so jammed that you had to eat in the lobby because, again due to seemingly no waitstaff, the tables weren't cleared and there was no place to sit or put your plate down. Overall, while the lobby may seem impressive, don't be fooled by this hotel's facade. There are much better choices for staying in the beautiful city of Chiang Mai and I intend to do just when I visit next.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Ellicott City MD
Level Contributor
229 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Thsi hotel is in a great location- easy to get to the historic walled part, just five minutes walk ot the night market and right across the street are a reasonably priced laundry, a message parlor and a 7/11. A very short distance to the left are located a great restaurnt- Whole Earth (?) and an internet place charing just 20 baht for an hour and selling great milk shakes.The hotel itself has a huge lobby and good rooms, with hard beds and somewhat stained carpet. The breakfast buffet was quite good and overall service good.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

... the hotel lobby is great, the rooms would need a bit of a refresh, but it was spacious and the bed was fine. Just three things:
- upon arrival to my room I noticed a used chewing gum stuck on the wall of the room, quite difficult to miss, and quite disgusting. Apart from that the room was clean.
- the TVs are old small CRTs, my remote was repaired with a piece of old tape, and the reception was quite poor
- the in-house tour agency: reception is very nice, prices not on the cheap side and tours quite "touristy", so I would advice one or two days with the agency (for laziness and peace of mind), the rest with song taews, a good guide and the tripadvisor iPhone app

In short: overall good value for money with nothing outstanding apart from the lobby :-)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaiUan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#44 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#65 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#108 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Yaang Come Village
Yaang Come Village
#46 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#54 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#48 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel

Property: Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
Address: 92 Sridonchai Road, Chiang Mai 50100 , Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 444
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing