We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in Chiang Mai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
Ranked #170 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in Chiang Mai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed July 2014. It's a decent hotel near the main touristy area of Chiang Mai, only a few minutes walk from the night market. The lobby is quite ornate, and the rooms clean and reasonably priced. We ended up staying for a few nights, and when we decided to rebook, the staff at the front desk recommended that we book online as it would be cheaper! Very helpful and much appreciated.

Laundry business (40 baht per kg), 7-11 and a massage business across the road. Plenty of tuk-tuks driving by, and an easy walk to the old city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evanrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    394
    234
    123
    86
See reviews for
140
336
105
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Hotel is all you need she is clean staff are nice and cant do enough for you. Especially front desk staff porters and cleaners would stop here again and again you can find better but dollar for dollar I dough it.

Breakfast is varied there's every thing you need but its not an Aussi breakfast and you are in Thailand so you get Thailand coffee and some thai dishes strange but true

I will book this hotel if back in town again to see tigers.

Room Tip: Any of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a well appointed hotel with a great lobby and well decorated corridors.Price is reasonable and the rooms are clean and large.However on this stay the breakfast was poo, fried eggs in the warmer were shriveled up, bread was stale, poached eggs ,pre-prepared, were soggy and had seen better days and the food was luke warm if not nearly cold. I do acknowledge that the hotel wasn't busy at all due to the unrest's but this should not be an excuse to offer a poor breakfast. Instead of having a large buffet lay out they could have just a la carte and everyone would have been happy.
The hotel is located near the night market and transport is easy to find. We will be back but hope for a better breakfast fare next time.

Room Tip: Go for a super deluxe, the extra few dollars make it worth while.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepperton
Level Contributor
76 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour of N Thailand. A lovely hotel in a good central location, a few minutes’ walk from the ‘night market’. Our room was in the annexe behind the main part, but still in the same style & character. We visited an Elephant camp & orchid farm during the day & were able to walk up to the old city walls on our return. Both evenings we ate out; the restaurant just opposite the hotel was great & very reasonably priced. The hotel breakfast was fine & the staff were friendly & helpful.

Room Tip: Room on high floor gives a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyWalker09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Beware - this hotel has deteriorated a lot. We have used it about 6 times before. This time, few staff, mosquitoes abound, air con poor. Also, look out for the breakfast trick - when booking make sure that you have selected (well down in the booking process) the correct number of people for breakfasts. The default is 1 which is frustrating for a couple travelling together. The hotel sticks to its guns & charges for any extra breakfasts. We won't be back.

Room Tip: No point- requests are waste of time
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dbvient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The location is good enough, close to the night bazaar, not far from the old city, so you can walk around if you want.
The hotel is big and comfortable, but looks like traveling in time to the 80´s.
The rooms are average, but comfortable and clean.
The breakfast is good enough, a little bit noisy because of the multitude.
If you look for comfort, or luxury definetly this is not the place.
But, the relation between price and service is fair.
The front desk is a mess, almost incredible that the people working there does not speak proper english.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pbuzzoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is old but clean. Te hotel was close to the night bazaar... Easy to walk to. I would not stay here again there are plenty of nicer hotels around. We booked an extra night on agoda apparently I only booked t for 1 person... They let us stay in the same room but try charged is for the extra person... Even though we were in the same room.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MilliGiesser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#63 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
0.3 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#46 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#55 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Yaang Come Village
Yaang Come Village
#43 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.3 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#107 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,853 reviews
0.6 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#49 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel

Property: Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
Address: 92 Sridonchai Road, Chiang Mai 50100 , Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 444
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing