We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value, good location and brilliant owner”
Review of Varada Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Varada Place
Ranked #23 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
“Excellent value, good location and brilliant owner”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Me and a friend stayed 3 nights at Varada Place recently. It's got all you want for the price, clean rooms, easy walk into the old town and a very helpful and friendly owner. Varada offered us lots of useful advice about Chang Mai and I'd throughly recommend. The only small downside is at the moment is that there is a bit of work going on outside but that it due to end soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddyhorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you . You are a man from Ireland but live in London and you have a special laughing that I like it . See you in next time .Varada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    202
    48
    10
    7
See reviews for
32
321
115
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
BC Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We spent 3 nights in early November 2013. Check-in was friendly and efficient. Owner Varada was very helpful with any questions we had. Barbara and her friend & travel agent Nuen were of great help in planning tours and getting bus tickets and reservations for us.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your stay with us . See you next time .
Regards
Varada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Colorado
Level Contributor
171 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Awesome location. Easy access by taxi or walking to old city. Super close to fantastic 5 story mall with the most amazing and super cheap food court with everything. Right next to laundry and the coolest expat bar in town. Rooms are super clean with two very nice sized beds. But the best part is Varada...she is so helpful. She can help you figure anything....younger than me...but just like a mom away from home. You will not go wrong booking this very inexpensive room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Thank you Michael . I try to do my best for every customer . See you next time and get well soon .
Best regards . Varada Padungkiat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This was a one night stay before heading to the mountains outside Chiang Mai. We arrived at dusk with no other orientation to Chiang Mai. Soon, it was clear we didn't need to go far for anything we needed. The room was adequate and the service efficient. The owner speaks english. There were several good restaurants within a block and a store with real coffee. That was important. We were still adjusting to Nescafe. Overall, a perfect introduction to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rosie3losangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vitoria, ES
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I stayed there for 2 nights and the room is quite cleaned, good shower and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and gave me all informations I needed to get to any place at the best prices in Chiang Mai. The hotel is very close to restaurants, shopping center and a place where you can rent bikes or small motorcycles.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank romulorgf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
thank you very much . see you next time .Varada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed for 3 nights between 20-23.09.2013.

Generally, Its a good value for money hotel.
It's very basic but can suite your needs if you're out all day long, travelling around Chiang Mai.

Pros:
Nice, clean rooms.

Wi-Fi is included in the room rate and works fine.

The owner is a very nice and helpful woman.

Location is OK. The hotel is not in the center, but you can get to all the main attractions by a short tuktuk ride (around 70 Baht per direction).

Cons:

4 floors without elevator. We were in the 4th floor and it wasn't a great experience to lift our staff there (although the owner helped us with one of the bags herself).

No safe and no deposit boxes. Actually, you have to choose between leaving your valuables at the room or taking them with you wherever you go.

There is a construction site just in front of the hotel during the day and a loud bar just next to it at night. So if you value your sleep, It's important to request a room which is far away from both.

Walls are quite thin, so there's not too much privacy.

We arrived before check-in time, which is 13:00, and were told to come back after it. But our room was actually ready only after 13:30. Although It wasn't a big deal, it wasn't also the nicest feelling to wait outside of the room until it finally gets ready.

Room Tip: There is a construction site just in front of the hotel during the day and a loud bar just next to i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UG993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Very friendly staff. Mrs Varada would help you with any questions you have.You cannot beat the price. The place looks new. My room was very clean and comfortable. Comes with refrigerator, tv that has english channels especially SyFy, microwave, hot pot and the free Wifi is fast. It is located about a 7 minutes walk to a big mall. I will be staying here for a month. Looking for a place to retire!!

Room Tip: "Room on the top floor corner is quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Waimalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.6 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#20 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
2.1 mi away
Vanilla Place Guest House
Vanilla Place Guest House
#47 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#57 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#45 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kate and Hasu Boutique Chiangmai
1.6 mi away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#14 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varada Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varada Place

Property: Varada Place
Address: 10 Ratchaphruek Road, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Varada Place 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Varada Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing