We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing - struggle to find better value for money anywhere ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Varada Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Varada Place
Ranked #22 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing - struggle to find better value for money anywhere ”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

If you want to see the city of Chiang Mai in a comfortable, spotless and well air conditioned room then varada place is a must! The moment we arrived Varada (the owner) sat us down for near 45
Minutes helping us plan our time in chiang mai, guiding us on how not to get ripped off by the locals! The room was basic, but all you ever need. We had a tv with over 50 channels including football (premier league, champions league and la liga) a large fridge in which we were encouraged to buy fresh fruit and store it there! There is no breakfast available however Varada points out all the nice food joints within walking distance! Just outside the city walls you can get to all the markets and bars in a 5 minute tuk tuk or red taxi costing anywhere from 40 baht to 100 baht! If you would like to see doi shutep and the zoo it is really easy to get a taxi to do you nice deal where they wait for you! Massage parlours next door where you can get a low priced, air coned massage. All round an amazing 4 night stay for us at Varada place, we could not recommend it more!!! YOU HAVE TO STAY HERE!!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank 05adaboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    197
    48
    10
    7
See reviews for
31
320
113
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed here for three nights whilst on a busy trip to Chiang Mai. Varada was very welcoming and asked us what we had planned for our trip. We had already pre-booked our activities but she helped us to order our transport and pointed us in the right direction for a caberet show and a muy thai fight. The only downside would be the lights in the rooms. They are extremely bright especially when you are suffering with a hangover! Also the lights in the corriders shine through the curtains which can make sleeping difficult.We were in the end room so there was a lot of noise from the surrounding bar until around 2am. Other than that a great stay and would highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahIsh89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

I cannot praise this hotel enough! I thoroughly enjoyed staying there, the price was unbelievable for the quality of the hotel. Everything was spotless, fresh towels and water every day and nice clean bedding.

Varada was amazing, as was her husband. They were both extremely helpful with info about the area and things to do. Varada recommended many things for us to do and we thoroughly enjoyed everything.

If you're going to Chiang Mai, stay here!!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you very much .
Regards
Varada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

i hate to review a place like this because it is so overall fantastic that i do not want anyone else to know about it and risk not getting a room the next time or paying a higher price.
But everything anyone said positive is true.
What a value!!
Only problem is the air in March/April in Chiang mai which is not Varada fault.

CHEERZ!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Moses K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you very much . I like your words .
Kind regard
Varada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Best price for the value you receive. Overall clean room, beds, pillows, fridge and toilet. Fresh clean towels, soap bars and bottled drinking water daily. There's a pipe at the balcony where you can do your simple washing and drying. Despite it's 30mins walk to the old city, Varada is no doubt quiet and full with amenities you need. 1 baht for 1 litre water refill from a vending machine beside the premise. Also you get self-operated coin system we washing machine and you are allowed to dry ur washings at the back of the building (ask the staff for direction). Shopping mall nearby in just 10-15 mins walk where you can get cheap daily food from Tops supermarket, decent food court with daily promotion items costing around 30baht to 45 baht, and the bakery starts 'buy 1 free 1' from 7.30pm to 8pm onwards. 5 nights with Varada.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words .
Best regards
Varada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Varada is the most clean well maintained budget accommodation I have stayed in. It is a short taxi ride to town (which costs very little) and Varada will tell you how to get the cheap prices. Nearby is plenty of yummy food options, we loved Sandwich something (can't remember the exact name) you can custom make burgers and sandwiches, so good! If we are ever in Chang Mai again we will be staying here.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AALouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you very much .
Looking forward to see you again .
Best regards
Varada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Selected Varada Place after many positive reviews on TA.

Booked 1 night at first as wasn't sure location or hotel was ok.

Ended up staying about 5 nights. Wanted to stay longer but as Songkran was peak season and I didn't book in advance, they had no more rooms for us and we had to move to a cheaper and "not as nice" hotel around the corner.

Rooms are clean, bright and nice. Only suggtion to Mdm Varada is maybe to decorate the fluorescent light tube in room with some diffuser or shield. Direct light is a bit glaring. Also changing tube from daylight colour to warm white would make the room look nicer.

Location is actually ok. Across road about 100m away is a large shopping centre with a Tops supermarket, banks, fast food and many other shops. There are convenience stores within 50m walk. Self serviced washing machines, a good massage shop and fruit drink stands are just on the ground floor.

We discovered a good area for food and shopping just down the road opposite Chiang Mai Uni. It's called Malilin Centre. I believe it more for Uni students hence, cheap affordable food, clothes, phone accessories and stuff for teenagers and young people. It's only 15 mins away by motorcycle.

The main city (within the moat and walls) is only 10 mins away by bike. We felt this is just right as we're away from the noise but not too far away.

Varada can also provide a fair priced airport transfer and general taxi service. It driven by one of her female relative and we've engaged her a number of times.

In conclusion, great place, affordable, safe and comfy place to stay.

Richard and Ben
April 2014

Room Tip: There's a bit of construction going on opposite hotel so noise may be a factor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ricksdick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for your suggestion . I think you have a great time in Thailand .
Best regards .
Varada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.6 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#20 of 375 in Chiang Mai
227 reviews
2.1 mi away
Vanilla Place Guest House
Vanilla Place Guest House
#43 of 375 in Chiang Mai
584 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#54 of 375 in Chiang Mai
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#41 of 375 in Chiang Mai
537 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kate and Hasu Boutique Chiangmai
1.6 mi away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#12 of 375 in Chiang Mai
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varada Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varada Place

Property: Varada Place
Address: 10 Ratchaphruek Road, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Varada Place 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Varada Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing