We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend to anyone going to Chiang Mai”
Review of Varada Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Varada Place
Ranked #25 of 389 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

What really sets Verada Place above the others is Verada herself.  When I got to Chiang Mai, I arrived with what I think was food poisoning.  I was feeling miserable.  Upon hearing this, Verada insisted that I see a doctor right away and that she would drive me there.  I saw the doctor and was feeling better by the next day.

Aside from that, Verada was also very helpful in pointing out things to do and see in Chiang Mai as well as setting up our motorbike rental.

Our room at Verada Place had everything we needed: a refrigerator, microwave, clean shower, and a large bed.

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone going to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicholasE123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

396 - 402 of 681 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here during Songkran 2014 and were beyond pleased. When we first arrived, Varada pulled out a map of Chiang Mai, showed us the city layout and where some fun and "touristy" things were. It was nice to have someone who knows the city show you the layout and where points of interest are that we may have otherwise overlooked. The location of Varada Place is perfect, we literally walked everywhere without a problem. The premise is very clean and the rooms are the perfect size and ours even had a balcony. Given the central location and proximity to all things fun, I was quite suprised how quite and calm the hotel was. After a long day/night of celebrating Songkran and bouncing around, it was great to be able to come back to a clean and quite room. Varada is super helpful with everything and such a nice woman, we would absolutely stay here again if we make it back to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alyx d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I stayed about 20 days at Varada Place. This was my 2ed trip to Chiang Mai. I liked this location better than staying in the Old City. It is a block north of the road that goes to the zoo and Chiang Mai University. It is also near the Old city for visits there. Varada Place is owned by a British man and his Thai wife. It is a couple of years old but still has the new feel. There is always staff at the hotel, a night watchman and either the cleaning staff or the owners during the day. There is not always someone in the office but find one of the maids and she will connect you by phone to the owners.

Room Tip: There was no noise in my room but there is a backpacker bar to the east of the hotel and it may be p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 13DavidC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stayed there for five nights and found it a very comfortable quiet and peaceful place to stay and particularly good value! The room is reasonable size with a little balcony as well as your own fridge, microwave and water supplied every day. It is only about 10 minutes - 15 minutes walk to the old city and you can easily walk around the city from there. It was about an hours walk to the night bazaar so you are probably best getting a taxi or songathew there. There is also a good sandwich bar and shopping centre just down the road. Varada and her husband are very welcoming and give great advice as to how to get to the various attractions cheaply and there is a place next door where you can book tours.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Travelharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

If you want to see the city of Chiang Mai in a comfortable, spotless and well air conditioned room then varada place is a must! The moment we arrived Varada (the owner) sat us down for near 45
Minutes helping us plan our time in chiang mai, guiding us on how not to get ripped off by the locals! The room was basic, but all you ever need. We had a tv with over 50 channels including football (premier league, champions league and la liga) a large fridge in which we were encouraged to buy fresh fruit and store it there! There is no breakfast available however Varada points out all the nice food joints within walking distance! Just outside the city walls you can get to all the markets and bars in a 5 minute tuk tuk or red taxi costing anywhere from 40 baht to 100 baht! If you would like to see doi shutep and the zoo it is really easy to get a taxi to do you nice deal where they wait for you! Massage parlours next door where you can get a low priced, air coned massage. All round an amazing 4 night stay for us at Varada place, we could not recommend it more!!! YOU HAVE TO STAY HERE!!!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank 05adaboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed here for three nights whilst on a busy trip to Chiang Mai. Varada was very welcoming and asked us what we had planned for our trip. We had already pre-booked our activities but she helped us to order our transport and pointed us in the right direction for a caberet show and a muy thai fight. The only downside would be the lights in the rooms. They are extremely bright especially when you are suffering with a hangover! Also the lights in the corriders shine through the curtains which can make sleeping difficult.We were in the end room so there was a lot of noise from the surrounding bar until around 2am. Other than that a great stay and would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannahIsh89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I cannot praise this hotel enough! I thoroughly enjoyed staying there, the price was unbelievable for the quality of the hotel. Everything was spotless, fresh towels and water every day and nice clean bedding.

Varada was amazing, as was her husband. They were both extremely helpful with info about the area and things to do. Varada recommended many things for us to do and we thoroughly enjoyed everything.

If you're going to Chiang Mai, stay here!!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you very much .
Regards
Varada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.1 mi away
Vanilla Place Guest House
Vanilla Place Guest House
#60 of 389 in Chiang Mai
594 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#50 of 389 in Chiang Mai
913 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#23 of 389 in Chiang Mai
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pattara Place
Pattara Place
#196 of 389 in Chiang Mai
41 reviews
1.8 mi away
Maninarakorn Hotel
Maninarakorn Hotel
#155 of 389 in Chiang Mai
655 reviews
0.9 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#85 of 389 in Chiang Mai
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varada Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varada Place

Address: 10 Ratchaphruek Road, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 389 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £12 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Varada Place 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Varada Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing