We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, would certainly return!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Varada Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Varada Place
Ranked #22 of 373 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place, would certainly return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We spent 5 nights in Chiang Mai with Varada. The hotel was very central to everything, only a short (n cheap) tuktuk ride to most places which would be the same no matter where u stayed in CM. The hotel was very clean n safe. The rooms were a little bit small, particularly with luggage lying around but they where spotless and maintained each day with fresh towels and free bottled water provided. Varada and her staff were excellent at offering advice and guidance on where to travel n what to do. There is a tour booking office right next door and the girl there was also very helpful and offered good advice. All in all, I felt there was nothing that was ever too much trouble for Varada and her staff, always very obliging...I really enjoyed my stay here and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veraona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    193
    43
    10
    7
See reviews for
31
311
111
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

When I first read the many reviews on TripAdvisor, it seemed almost too good to be true, but I was very pleasantly surprised. I stayed at Varada Place for three weeks, with a couple of short interruptions for trips up north. The hotel itself is ideally located, a bit away from the old city. but close enough for easy access by the tuk-tuks and shared taxis, and is also close to Ninman, a trendy section close to Chiang Mai University, as well as one of the largest shopping malls less than five minutes away.
I had asked for a quite room, clean, and cool and not only received everything I asked for, but much more. The owner and her husband are extremely helpful and go out of their way to make sure all their guests have the latest information and tips to make their stay enjoyable. Ms. Varada really went out of her way to help me with a local hospital appointment and even canvassed the whole city to find a state of the art diagnostic machine. The staff, housekeeper, cleaning personnel, and security, were always friendly and performed their jobs in an outstanding manner.
There was a bit of construction going on across the street, but never at night, and was just about finished when I left. Ms. Varada arranged for a "private" taxi for my early morning departure which arrived not only on time, but an hour early. Ms. Varada reduced my already very reasonable rate, without asking, due to me extended stay. All in all, I can't say enough good things about my experiemce and would highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor facing the rear of the building are the quietest. There are no elevators, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZSAZSAFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Varada Place is in a good location for travellers, just outside of the old city but a close enough walk to the temples inside the city and the Sunday Market. The lady running the hotel, Varada, is welcoming, very helpful and assertive to her guests. When my boyfriend and I arrived we left organising things to do last minute so she arranged for us to go to the tourist attraction shop next door which was very handy. The rooms are clean, with good basic facilities inside with everything in working order. The hotel is a bit hard to find when arriving but there is a shopping centre a minute walk away to use as a landmark to your drivers or yourself when travelling alone. There are shops, cafes and food stalls on the same road with a bar for travellers 10 seconds away (though small) but after a busy day full of activities it's somewhere to unwind and meet other fellow travellers. I would highly recommend Varada Place for those who going to Chiang Mai to explore, it was well worth the price for just £9 for two people, also Varada and her husband make the hotel so warm and welcoming for us young travellers. Would come back again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay. Varada is incredibly helpful. Feels very safe, large rooms, and location is pretty close to old city (not RIGHT in center, this is quieter so thus a better way to experience the city). Wifi could be a little faster but overall really no complaints. Will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wtrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Varada Place is conviently located less than 5 minutes from the main road between the old city moat and Nimman, the trendy new part of the city (which are about 15 minutes either way on the main road). Research not only the old town but Nimman also.

The owners are extremely nice as all other reviewers have said. This place has everything you need from a clean room to very quiet atmosphere. Make sure to let Varada know if you need to speak to her or her husband because they do step out.

There are a few useful shops directly downstaires such as a massage parlor (great fresh mango passion fruit shakes too), travel agent, and 30 baht/ kilo laundry service.

We stayed in some 1 to 5 star places before during our three week trip. What we can say is that the basic requirements of service and quality were met for the price. I would love to do a long term stay at Varada Place in the future. It feels like a budget apartment. We fell in love with Chiang Mai while staying here. Thank you to the owners and staff!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Varada Place is a wonderful place to stay, it is mostly very clean (toilet tiling a bit shabby with some ants but still clean and comfy), beds are big and comfy, air con is great and fridge and balcony a bonus.

The laundry place next door is cheap enough but it wasn't of a very good standard. Try somewhere in town.

You are outside (North West on map) of the main Chinag Mai town and this leaves you a bit of a journey home each night.

Get a "rot dang" (red pick up truck taxi's) from CENTRAL shopping centre to town but don't pay more than 20THB per person. Some drivers were honest and fair some suggested 100THB! Not expensive for us but don't like being duped. They always conceded to 20THB when we told them we got one into town for that fare!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Only got here yesterday but as soon as we got here we felt straight at home!
The owner (who is a lovely cute Thai woman) greeted us personally after we'd been checked in and pointed out on a map where we should go and what to do.
The rooms are spotless, beds comfy and big and they leave bottles water in your room everyday. For the price I paid I can't recommend it more, if you're after somewhere to chill after a busy day, Veradas Place is perfect.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varada P, Owner at Varada Place, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.1 mi away
Vanilla Place Guest House
Vanilla Place Guest House
#43 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#20 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
3.1 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#54 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#42 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kate and Hasu Boutique Chiangmai
1.2 mi away
Pattara Place
Pattara Place
#183 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varada Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varada Place

Property: Varada Place
Address: 10 Ratchaphruek Road, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 373 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Varada Place 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Varada Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing