We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second to none!”
Review of FWD House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
FWD House
Reviewed 4 October 2012

FWD house is awesome. The box beds are comfortable and gives you a little more privacy with the same dorm feel. The owners are amazing, very friendly, and welcoming. I even booked a 2 night trek through them and got a free night at the dorm! Good location in the city with a short walk to the night market.If your in Chiang Mai this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Copewithit619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2012

stayed almost 1 week and very kindness staff and owner. good airconditioner and facilities and great advice for short trip in Chiang mai

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joon73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for five nights and would have loved to stay longer. The location is great, in the middle of Old Town with anything you need on your doorstep. The box beds are so simple yet so effective, lots of privacy and your own locker, light and power point. The bathrooms are new and there was never a wait, and yes the aircon is only on from 8pm-8am but you shouldn't be spending your holiday in bed!

The staff here are just amazing and anyone staying there will testify to that. Nothing is too big or small. They have a kitchen with a great variety of eastern and western food. They give you a great intro to the city an will mark out the highlights of CM on a map for you, they also offer all kinds of tours, transport and daytrips. I did the Night Safari, Tiger Kingdom, Elephant Nature Park and hired a scooter and they were great in helping to organise these with me.

There is a simple social atmosphere at reception where you will be giving sporadic iced tea as you sit and use the wifi. I also got a free pizza one night, delicious!

Please stay here, you really won't regret it and you'll meet the loveliest family.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j_girl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

A bit hidden in one of the side streets of 'sunday walking street' we found this hostel. A sign said 'boxbeds' for 150 baht. As we were paying a lot more we had a look and we were impressed. The dorm was cool, clean and quiet and contained around 10 'boxbeds' which give you a lot of privacy. The showers were hot and clean and the design of the whole place is just so modern! But the best part of the hostel is the staff! I can honestly say they are the friendliest people I have ever met. They made us thai specialities every day (for free, just becsuse they wanted us to try) on their small terrace. They just really make you feel at home and I was really touched by their mentality. I would recommend this hostel to anyone. And oh you should book your trips with them as well! They gave us a free night for that. And they have to scooters for rent as well. Just go to FWD house. !!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HannahGarcia91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We enjoyed our stay here, we turned up without a booking and had to stay elsewhere :-( when we returned after two days they had space. The box-style beds give you all the privacy you need with your own personal locker. very clean bathroom with an edgy industrial feel and nice dressing room for comfort and privacy. The only drawback is we didnt have time to meet other travellers, there is not a big socialising area. The staff however are very friendly, they gave us free tea and banana cake- YUM. Couldnt reccomend highly enough and very cheap!! :-)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daisyflowerface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

The two nicest people I met in all of my travels round Thailand own FWD house! It was absolutely fantastic and I can't reccommend it enough. They even went to get me medicine when I needed it! In a great location an they offer everything you could need. It was just what I needed after a long coach ride and being dropped in Chang Mai at 5:30 am. Fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank si828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Tough to come up with enough superlatives for FWD House. Spent 5 nights here in early September '12 (en route to Mongolia for a month) on a brief recon of Chiang Mai for possible resettlement after completing 9 months teaching EFL in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam.

The "box beds" are utterly BRILLIANT! Each with a huge (floor to ceiling) storage unit (w/ sturdy supplied padlock) at one end of the (comfy) bed, and a bed-light (hallelujah!) at the other. The storage unit has wide doors, which when opened, effectively provides you with your own private bitty hotel room!

Combine that with a fantastic location (on quiet street inside old city walls a short stroll from the market, etc.), air-con (8pm-8am), super reliable/swift wifi, plenty of hot water in the (spic 'n span) shared bathroom (cement, as that's the most sanitary in Asia) a great little open-air restaurant (with fantastic Thai curries, eggs for breakfast, etc.) plus complimentary snacks each evening, and... best of all, the most delightful and helpful Thai owners who (both) speak excellent English (I haven't a clue why another reviewer said otherwise).

Indeed, they both bent over backwards to help me - taking me my car around to all the English schools to inquire into teaching possibilities (many, if you have a CELTA), as well as to check out long-term apartment rentals.

Better yet, (blessedly) not your party hostel. And all this - for just $5 per night! Seriously, does it get any better?

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelnLass111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.1 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#49 of 392 in Chiang Mai
928 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#1 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,369 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 392 in Chiang Mai
3,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#21 of 392 in Chiang Mai
2,068 reviews
2.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.6 mi away
Maninarakorn Hotel
Maninarakorn Hotel
#158 of 392 in Chiang Mai
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FWD House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FWD House

Address: 78 Ratmakka road | Pha Singh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #417 of 932 Speciality Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £4 - £5 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For each of our guests we provide a private, box-style bed with personal locker. We also provide water bottles, bedroom slippers, shower cap, and Wi-Fi internet free of charge. We are located just a 10-minute walk from the main strip of bars in Chiang Mai, and information on local tours and activities can be provided. Our staff is welcoming, friendly, and can cater to your personal needs.Our restaurant is open daily from 8am until 8pm and provides a wide range of both original Thai and western meals at a budget price. In the mornings we serve breakfast, both western and traditional, as well as juices, coffee, milk shakes and a selection of local teas.We are 4.3 km from Chiang Mai International Airport, 4.5 km from the Chiang Mai train station, 5 km from the bus station, 3 km from Chiang Mai Night Bazaar and 20 m to the main temple of Chiang Mai called “Wat Chedi Luang”. Our hostel can be reached by Taxi, Tuk tuk, or red car. If you wish, we can also reserve transportation for you at a fair price. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing