We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hostel, great place”
Review of FWD House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
FWD House
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Only 10 beds and a bit more private, which might be less desirable for someone travelling alone.

Staff/owners are wonderful and super helpful. All of the activities planned for us have been great. Washroom and showers are clean and the box bed style is really nice. Location in old city is very convenient. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llee82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 13 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2013

I want to love FWD House. It's a pretty new venture, set up by a lovely family and designed to provide a slightly different backpacker experience.

The service is great - Win and his team are immensely helpful and always provide service with a smile. It took a while for us to book in but this was a minor niggle. There's some free food available to snack on in the reception area, and you get a towel and slippers provided, with a large locker. It's all kept very clean.

There's no bar or restaurant, so the communal area is limited to the room and the reception area outside. Weirdly it is located above a primary school.

The beds are quite cool in that they are handmade wooden jobs which make a sort of private, office cubicle-like open plan bedroom. The plastic is still on the mattresses though, making them uncomfortable.

The main issue is simply that the place doesn't seem finished! None of the walls, beds, or bathrooms are painted - they're barely even furnished. The walls are lacking a layer of plasterboard on one side. Bathrooms are like stepping into a concrete cell, with guest notices penned onto the walls. A/C is switched off during the day but there are fans in the room - I just wish there were some furnishings - anything - to make it feel like somewhere you'd want to sleep. I've slept in better furnished tents!

The place could be wonderful, and the staff really are great, it's just that it's been opened before it's really finished. A lick of paint, some furnishings, and it could be spectacular.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alasdair J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

the owner is a very friendly and kind person, who gives good advise on the activities to participate and recommend good company to carry out the activities. family run guesthouse.. when joining the tour from the guesthouse, breakfast would also be provided.
if u are on a tight budget, i strongly recommend it.. on sundays, the Sunday market is right at its footstep..

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dynastyhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I stayed at this place for 2 nights. It was cheap but that is pretty much the only good thing about this place. There seems to be bed bugs in the dorms. I woke up with insect bite marks all over my arms, legs and neck. Some other people were complaining about it too. Also, I find that the dorms are really hot even with the air-conditioning on which only gets turned on at 8pm. I recommend going to a different guest house.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ItalianDeutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We got a recommendation to stay at FWD House from a friend during our 5 week trip through SE Asia. We booked 3 nights when we arrived and were pleased to be received by some friendly staff. The outer reception area is somewhat detached from the sleeping area, which was strange and also brought up questions about the security of the place.

We stayed in a 12 person dorm with somewhat crappy bedding. The AC doesn't get turned on until 8 pm, which is fine, but a house staff comes in at 7.30am each day to turn it off along with the fans in the big room - still unsure as to why the fans needed to be turned off, but I disliked the whole ordeal. Additionally, the room took forever to get quiet given the number of people staying there, but I'm not sure if there were smaller rooms.

Overall, I would suggest searching around before booking this hostel. I've stayed at a good number of hostels and I know that things can get better here. 8USD/night/person was not even of incredible value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wwwilso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Arriving here at 5am, it did have a strange atmosphere, as there is only one dorm room and it can be very quiet, so if you're looking to meet lots of people there are probably better places.
Saying that, I enjoyed my stay here. It is very clean, the beds are the most private I have ever seen and the staff are helpful. Great location too.
Also the owner was extremely helpful when I couldn't find the hostel at 5am and came looking for me in the town. Considering how early it was, that was very decent of him so thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This hostel is definitely one of the best hostels I've stayed at throughout my entire experience of traveling. The best for so many reasons. The owner, Win was so helpful, even before me and my friend arrived there. He helped us arranged some important activities to do in Chiang Mai for our short stay there. The bed-box was such a great idea, because it might give you privacy, with the locker attached to the bed itself. The bathroom and toilet were all clean and tidy. No, actually everything was so clean and neat. They even had shampoo and soap for you to use, in case you didn't bring them, like me. One thing that this hostel had many rules, which was good, I think, because that way every customer must behave and keep everything clean for others as well. And, the last cute thing is that they even gave us cute little notebooks before leaving the hostel, which of course I accepted happily.
If I ever came back again to Chiang Mai, I'd definitely stay at this hostel again ;)

Room Tip: I think, every bed-box is great, but maybe if you don't like cold, like me, you better prepare s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riskahasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
3.2 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#2 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,359 reviews
2.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.8 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#22 of 388 in Chiang Mai
3,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#49 of 388 in Chiang Mai
911 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maninarakorn Hotel
Maninarakorn Hotel
#152 of 388 in Chiang Mai
652 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#21 of 388 in Chiang Mai
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FWD House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FWD House

Address: 78 Ratmakka road | Pha Singh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #379 of 906 Speciality Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £4 - £5 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For each of our guests we provide a private, box-style bed with personal locker. We also provide water bottles, bedroom slippers, shower cap, and Wi-Fi internet free of charge. We are located just a 10-minute walk from the main strip of bars in Chiang Mai, and information on local tours and activities can be provided. Our staff is welcoming, friendly, and can cater to your personal needs.Our restaurant is open daily from 8am until 8pm and provides a wide range of both original Thai and western meals at a budget price. In the mornings we serve breakfast, both western and traditional, as well as juices, coffee, milk shakes and a selection of local teas.We are 4.3 km from Chiang Mai International Airport, 4.5 km from the Chiang Mai train station, 5 km from the bus station, 3 km from Chiang Mai Night Bazaar and 20 m to the main temple of Chiang Mai called “Wat Chedi Luang”. Our hostel can be reached by Taxi, Tuk tuk, or red car. If you wish, we can also reserve transportation for you at a fair price. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing