We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible time with Opal”

Galangal Cooking Studio
Ranked #10 of 78 Food & Drink in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Let the Galangal Cooking Studio of Chiangmai, add to your authentic Thailand experience by letting us instruct you on the skills of the Thai Kitchen and enlighten you to the joys of traditional Thai Cuisine. COME VISIT US AT OUR NEW LOCATION!
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our group ended up being just me and my partner, so it was basically a private cooking class! Opal was so bubbly and fun to be around, and made us feel confident cooking authentic thai dishes like Khao Soi and fried banana. She taught us the background of each ingredient and our food came out delicious. Can not recommend enough!!

Thank citygal523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (905)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"cooking class"
in 169 reviews
"local market"
in 119 reviews
"cooking school"
in 67 reviews
"evening class"
in 41 reviews
"at home"
in 56 reviews
"thai food"
in 47 reviews
"the kitchen"
in 36 reviews
"cooking course"
in 34 reviews
"great teacher"
in 33 reviews
"fresh ingredients"
in 25 reviews
"recipe book"
in 36 reviews
"curry paste"
in 29 reviews
"great cooking"
in 16 reviews
"market visit"
in 14 reviews
"great class"
in 13 reviews
"cooking experience"
in 17 reviews
"come hungry"
in 12 reviews
Filter

16 - 20 of 905 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great time at Galangal Cooking Studio. Opal was kind enough to show us the market and the different foods to eat. We were so full by the end of the session. What I liked the best was how kind Opal was in letting us cook the food the way we enjoyed it. So I made it very very spicy!

Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galangal C, Owner at Galangal Cooking Studio, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Kevin,

Thank you so much for your visit!

I am glad to hear that you had a good time cooking and enjoy with us. I hope to see you come back to our classes next time.

With love and a Thai Smile,
Aoy Kornnika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
168
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We spent quite a lot of time searching for a descent cooking school in Chiang Mai and came across Galangal.

We did the half day for 800 Baht making 4 dishes.

This is the first time we had ever done a cooking course and we had a brilliant time and loved it.

Timings were good, picked up from the hotel at 8.45 and returned at 1pm.

Opal the instructor was very good and always smiling. Would definitely recommend!!


M28, F30

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galangal C, Owner at Galangal Cooking Studio, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there,

It was lovely to hear that you had a good time with Galangal Cooking Studio.

I hope you enjoy cooking recipe at home, and please feel free to ask us if you have any question.

Thank you, Aoy Kornnika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The galangal cooking class was exceptional. Our instructor was very knowledgeable, attentive and really helped the group understand the ingredients in traditional Thai dishes. The food turned out amazing. A definite must do experience!

Thank megancholt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galangal C, Owner at Galangal Cooking Studio, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there,

Thank you so much for your visit of your Chiangmai Trip.

Im so glad to hear that you have good time with us at Galangal Cooking Studio.

Thank you, Aoy Kornnika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Really enjoyable evening. Everything was provided and the kitchen was nice and clean. Opal (our teacher) was a delight, she was very knowledgeable and smiley, her English was great and she made the class easy and fun. Would definitely recommend.

Thank 535beca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galangal C, Owner at Galangal Cooking Studio, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi,

Thank you so much for your visit. It lovely to hear that you have a good time with us at Galangal Cooking Studio.

Thank you,
Aoy Kornnika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Galangal Cooking Studio also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Galangal Cooking Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing