We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 21:00
Evening Cooking Class
96

Book in advance
from
£22.78
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Galangal Cooking Studio
from £22.78
More Info
from £28.87
More Info
Reviews (1,167)
Filter reviews
1,167 results
Traveller rating
1,124
33
5
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,124
33
5
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews local market at home thai food recipe book great teacher private class spring rolls a lot of fun khao soi amazing experience visiting chiang mai dishes instructor thailand classes chef
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 1,167 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2019 via mobile

We came here because our hotel reception said it was one of the best around. We took a full day lesson because we love Thai food. It cost 1000 bath, this is more than worth. With this you will be taken from the hotel to the cooking place. You'll visit a market with a presentation of common ingredients used in Thai food and you'll choose 5 dishes to cook.
After that you can eat all and take it home if you can't finish.
We had a great day with New one of the cooker. I really recommend this place if you want to learn the basics of Thai food.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank 561Erwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 March 2019 via mobile

We had such an amazing time. Great hosts and amazing owners. Couldn't of asked for better. Food tasted amazing! Ingredients fresh from the market. Sit ting down with our food and the hosts sharing where is best to go next on our trip. It was worth it just for that! Thank you!

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 March 2019 via mobile

Thank you Aoy and New for a great Thai cooking experience. 3 of us, myself and a lovely young couple from Germany enjoyed visiting a market and learning about Thai food ingredients. Back at the Cookery school we cooked 5 different dishes of our choice, all were delicious especially the sticky rice with mango.... yum!! Aoy couldn’t do enough to make our experience enjoyable and the classroom was air conditioned which made the experience very pleasant as it was so hot outside. Thoroughly recommend Galangal Cookery School 😊😊😊

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank helen_rooney62
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 March 2019 via mobile

The best way to truly discover Thailand!
Best way to understand what you’re putting in Your mouth. Aoy was great at explaining what every ingredient is and where it comes from. Also a great understanding of English and accommodating to our diets.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank 681ronin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 March 2019 via mobile
Review of: Morning Course

Amazing experience for about $30 USD per person. We paid in cash. They provide transportation, and it’s nice that it’s close by to the Old City (not sitting in a car for an hour before you arrive like some excursions/courses). New and Tae taught our English course (making it private for my husband and I) while another course was hosted in Chinese by another guide in a separate cooking room. Sometimes in a private tour there are awkward moments, but I can say that there were none today. Both hosts spoke very good English and it felt like spending time with friends.

We visited the local market (didn’t see one other tourist) as a group where New explained each of our cooking ingredients needed for the day and then helped us to translate packages for things we wanted to purchase which was so helpful!! We then ate Thai pancakes before heading back to the studio. YUM.

We went back to the studio and made 5 different courses. One appetizer, one soup, one curry, one dessert, and a stir fry. I liked that my husband and I could choose different dishes to prepare and share. Most cooking classes you’re all making the same dish. One course is made and eaten before the next which gave time for our stomachs to settle. Still too much food for us as we’d eaten breakfast but they were kind enough to let us eat how much we wanted and package what we wanted to bring home - I sometimes feel guilty not eating everything provided but they were very understanding. I’d recommend eating very light beforehand if at all.

The owner was very accommodating as well, offering (delicious) coffee and helping wherever she could.

This class offered a good understanding of Thai dishes and they suggested substitutes for when we get back to the US if we cannot find the same local ingredients we used today.

Worth every penny! Thank you New & Tae!!

Thank megxmoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews