We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Theives work at this "Nice" Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Wipanan Residence
Ranked #113 of 379 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Theives work at this "Nice" Hotel”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

This is one of Chiang Mai's nicer hotels. Unfortunately it comes with drama and housekeeping, desk clerking thieves. There's a reason why the young attractive women at the desk keep procrastinating on unlocking your room safe. There's also a reason why you can't prevent the housekeeping girls from entering your room each day. They steal. I had medication stolen from me and my credit card has been hacked since staying there. They manipulated the agoda promotion when I told them I wanted to stay longer, upped the price and tried to insist on me paying them in cash directly.

Every thing about the young couple who owns the place reeks of a greed for money. The staff that works for them are apparently impressed. The staff is primarily young women far too impressed with themselves to be ethical. If you go, just be warned.

Room Tip: There is no fitness room. Like many hotels in Thailand, they lie about this to up their rating. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veganwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wipanan W, Owner at The Grand Wipanan Residence, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
We regret that you don’t enjoy your stay in our residence.

Please kindly allow us to clarify the point mention.
For your medication, why should the housekeeper keep your medication as it has no use for them.

Your credit card charges were done over via Agoda. We don’t have your credit card number nor the security, Therefore we can’t possibility charge without your authorization.

We have a Gym with the newest equipments plus a salted water pool, as show in our website www. TheGrandWipanan.com

The security and safety of our guest is our main priorityall our rooms are equipped with safe and you put your own code in. All area of hotel have surveillance system.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    26
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
24
15
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Stayed here during 29 Dec 2012 - 1 Jan 2013. Our one bed room suite was fantastic and fabulous. All staffs are very nice and helpful. Location was a bit far away from inner busy city, but it was great because it was just 400 meters away from super highway. Very convenient. Totally recommend this service apartment and i will definitely come back!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex_Photography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

This is opposite the Wipanan residence opened 2012. Superb Service, clean and great rooms. Go there now it's a bargain.
Kitchen, LCD TV, parking, security, pool, gym and Wifi for that price is not easy available around Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: Get a studio room, the BR rooms are nice but have no TV in the bedroom. Studio will fit all your nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

we stayed for 10 nights in October 2012.
The hotel is about a twenty minute walk from the old town and as such it's a bit out of the main area.
However, it is nearly new and the rooms are spotlessly clean, they have balconies and a good bathroom.
The room we had, a studio, had a kitchenette that was pretty much useless, it had a microwave and a fridge but nothing much else. We felt that it needed a few extra touches like a toaster and some extra plates and bowls etc.
We have stayed in similar places, like the Citadines chain in Bangkok, that do the same thing as this hotel only much better.
The hotel building itself could also do with some soft touches, a painting here and there and some plants would round it out a lot.
All in all it's ok, nice big clean rooms, good wifi, a balcony, nice beds etc.
For us it was just too far out from the old city, trying to explain to the songteow drivers where you wanted to go home too was very tiresome after a few days.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_rossduncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Napat
The Grand Napat
#62 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.5 mi away
Napatra Hotel
Napatra Hotel
#97 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#45 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
We Briza Hotel Chiang Mai
We Briza Hotel Chiang Mai
#86 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kham Mon Lanna Resort
Kham Mon Lanna Resort
#194 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
2.5 mi away
Eurasia Chiang Mai Hotel
Eurasia Chiang Mai Hotel
#96 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Wipanan Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Wipanan Residence

Property: The Grand Wipanan Residence
Address: 7/8 Soi Kulawongutid, Chang Puak Rd, T. Chang Puak A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 379 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grand Wipanan Residence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Wipanan Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing