We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking forward to staying there next visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Wipanan Residence
Ranked #115 of 402 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Have just spent nearly a month staying here and could not be more impressed ,.the staff were polite and helpfull and kept the building and rooms clean . The apartment we occupied was on the 7 th floor and had great views , we also had family staying in other rooms on other floors and got to see the range of rooms any of which I would stay in again .The pool was a welcome relief from the heat and humidity and although there is not much in there the gym is quite adequate . It may not be close to the touristy spots, but it's only a short walk to the main road where you can catch a red van to them and close by are markets where you can get just about everything you can get in the touristy part without the markup , as well as a large variety of inexpensive food that you could eat in or take back to the apartment , there is also a 7eleven nearby and a five minute walk to Tops Supermarket and a couple of nice restaraunts close by.
We did not take advantage of the restaraunt downstairs but got good reports from some of the people I talked to who had .
Looking forward to staying there next visit

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 521Peter1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

My husband and I had a home away from home at The Grand Wipanan. The air conditioning was excellent and well needed (by me particularly). Everything was incredibly clean and the staff were friendly, kind and respectful. We had all the mod cons in the apartment and a refreshing, salt water pool downstairs. Magnificent!

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor which gave us great views over Chiang Mai and across to the mountains. We c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

One of the best & most comfortable hotels we stayed in during our trip around Thailand. Perfect rooms with comfortable sitting area with TV, nice kitchen & good bathroom. Excellent air conditioning. Rooms very quiet. The staff are delightful & helpful. We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I stayed there on March 20 and the rooms are all only 9 months old the pool is. Salt water and fitness room. Very close to market and the staff is very helpfully they have resturant with good food and price right

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thefishman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

This is one of Chiang Mai's nicer hotels. Unfortunately it comes with drama and housekeeping, desk clerking thieves. There's a reason why the young attractive women at the desk keep procrastinating on unlocking your room safe. There's also a reason why you can't prevent the housekeeping girls from entering your room each day. They steal. I had medication stolen from me and my credit card has been hacked since staying there. They manipulated the agoda promotion when I told them I wanted to stay longer, upped the price and tried to insist on me paying them in cash directly.

Every thing about the young couple who owns the place reeks of a greed for money. The staff that works for them are apparently impressed. The staff is primarily young women far too impressed with themselves to be ethical. If you go, just be warned.

Room Tip: There is no fitness room. Like many hotels in Thailand, they lie about this to up their rating. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veganwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wipanan W, Owner at The Grand Wipanan Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

We regret that you don’t enjoy your stay in our residence.

Please kindly allow us to clarify the point mention.
For your medication, why should the housekeeper keep your medication as it has no use for them.

Your credit card charges were done over via Agoda. We don’t have your credit card number nor the security, Therefore we can’t possibility charge without your authorization.

We have a Gym with the newest equipments plus a salted water pool, as show in our website www. TheGrandWipanan.com

The security and safety of our guest is our main priorityall our rooms are equipped with safe and you put your own code in. All area of hotel have surveillance system.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Stayed here during 29 Dec 2012 - 1 Jan 2013. Our one bed room suite was fantastic and fabulous. All staffs are very nice and helpful. Location was a bit far away from inner busy city, but it was great because it was just 400 meters away from super highway. Very convenient. Totally recommend this service apartment and i will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex_Travel-Blogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

This is opposite the Wipanan residence opened 2012. Superb Service, clean and great rooms. Go there now it's a bargain.
Kitchen, LCD TV, parking, security, pool, gym and Wifi for that price is not easy available around Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: Get a studio room, the BR rooms are nice but have no TV in the bedroom. Studio will fit all your nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Napat
The Grand Napat
#66 of 402 in Chiang Mai
279 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#51 of 402 in Chiang Mai
576 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pause and Play Hotel
Pause and Play Hotel
#121 of 402 in Chiang Mai
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Chiang Mai
Mercure Chiang Mai
#80 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,064 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jira Boutique Residence
Jira Boutique Residence
#144 of 402 in Chiang Mai
124 reviews
1.3 mi away
Vulcano Hotel Chiang Mai
Vulcano Hotel Chiang Mai
#240 of 402 in Chiang Mai
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Wipanan Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Wipanan Residence

Address: 7/8 Soi Kulawongutid, Chang Puak Rd, T. Chang Puak A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 402 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £24 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grand Wipanan Residence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Grand Wipanan Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing