We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Stay”
Review of G2 Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
G2 Boutique Hotel
Ranked #79 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We stayed at this hotel during the Chiang Mai annual flower festival and it was in the perfect location for that. It is pretty close to the Saturday walking market and the Sunday walking market. It is definitely further away from the other nightly market.

As other reveiwers have noted, it is not easy to find. The soi leading there is VERY narrow and virtually no taxi or tuktuk driver has heard of it, we didn't find that a problem though as we were able to direct them. The hotel also has several signs on nearby soi's directing people to the hotel.

I had a large daily tour van come to pick me up who couldn't fit their van down the soi. But one of the staff quickly organised to drive me out to the main street on his scooter to meet the van there. They also have a gold cart out front for that purpose also, if you have luggage or more than one person.
I found the staff lovely. Very helpful and accommodating.
I liked that it was located in a residential area, so was quite and a bit more authentic.

Breakfast was a choice of juice, a choice of tea/coffee, then fruit, yoghurt, toast, eggs and some type of meat (can't remember as I'm vegan!) You fill out a form when you get to breakfast, choosing between the different options, then the staff prepare it for you.

The hotel looks like it isn't quite finished yet. It definitely has a unique look, it has been individually decorated which is nice.
The rooms have a good sized bed, big flat screen tv, sliding doors that open (but no balcony), tea, coffee etc. There was also a large couch in the room.
There is definitely an issue with the plumbing as a previous reveiwer noted. I didn't have any trouble with the shower pressure or hot water, that was fine. But there was a constant leak coming from the plumbing. It didn't interfere with our stay at all. It didn't make the bathroom all wet or anything. But it will definitely cause problems in future if they don't get it fixed. I got the impression though that the bathroom is not finished yet, because there is no tiles in it. So perhaps they have plans to fix it and finish it.

Free wifi worked well in the rooms, breakfast area etc. Two bottles of free water were provided each day.
Note they don't have credit card facilities, so you need to pay cash.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kar-travel-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    32
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
50
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

This hotel is down a residential alley two alleys down from the wrong end of a major road. Translation: not a single tuk tuk or taxi driver could find it without directions. Beautiful small garden in front of the hotel gives it a peaceful atmosphere. While the rooms make an initial good impression for their modern lines and fresh look, they were furnished somewhat on the cheap. Hardly any draw space, cheap formica surfaces on the furniture. The first room we were shown was larger than the one we wound up in, but the odor in the bathroom was beyond fetid. They did not argue but instead gave us the room next door, which was satisfactory. Good breakfast, pleasant , helpful staff. There are probably better choices in the old city.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oats711NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

To summarise, we would not hesitate to go back to this hotel. The staff, the decor and the location are all great. Plumbing was the only issue but all the good stuff can make you put that behind you. Probably the best hotel we stayed at during our 3 month much-lower-than-usual-budget trip to south east Asia.

Staff
The friendliest, polite, kind, considerate, sociable, informative, etc. Couldn't fault them. All three staff covering the administrative/management duties are great and the cleaning lady may seem a bit on edge at first but give her a few smiles and she is also great (seems like she is new to the tourist environment).

Decor
As soon as we walked in I felt like i was at home. The decor is in line with similar themes I've used in our house in London. Very modern, minimalist yet somehow homely. It's a new hotel so expect new fixtures/fittings. The garden with fish filled waterways on the ground floor is a very good use of space.

Room
We stayed in a Superior room. Very nice decor as with the rest of the hotel (see above). Each room has sliding French doors overlooking the garden. Good for fresh air and a pleasant view. A kettle is also provided.
The bathroom, although decorated well, is the let down in this hotel. The plumbing is not up to scratch. The hot water only works at very low pressures and the drainage system isn't great i.e. the water from the shower/flush doesn't drain as quickly as it should. However, it's not extremely bad, given the other qualities of the hotel it's very easy to forgive and get pass this. We rebooked this hotel at least 3 times even knowing of this issue.

Location
Located in a very nice residential part within the south east side of the square / ring road in Central Chiang Mai. Its more of a large house converted into a modern boutique hotel so you are surrounded by residential housing with gardens/flowers/plants/etc.....its a nice atmosphere walking on Ratchamanka Soi 7 to/from the hotel (apart from the neighbours dog who will bark at you a few times to start off with but later calms down).
Unfortunately, a 15-30 minute walk to the main foodie area / tourist area / markets / etc but we didn't mind as the benefit of this location was the peace and quiet. Later we hired a motorcycle to make life easier (a bicycle would also do the job). The Saturday market is closer than the above quoted times and it is also close to an electronic plaza (I think it's called Siam Tv Electronic Plaza, which had an Aeon branded atm / cash machine on the first floor which did not charge for cash withdrawals....very handy).

Food
Only breakfast is available but it is cooked fresh for you. 
For breakfast each day we were given fresh cut fruit, yogurt, juice, hot drinks and a meal of their choice (we just chose fried eggs) but they were willing to pop to the shops to buy what you liked and cook it for future breakfasts if they didn't have your preference in stock! They had pork sausages the first day (which we don't eat), the next day they had chicken sausages ready for us....we didn't even ask for it. In the afternoon we always received a plate of fresh cut fruit,, regardless of whether we were in/out. If we were not in the hotel someone would leave the fruit in the fridge in our room.

Services
We only used the laundry service and our clothes always came out great unlike some other places weve used. Properly ironed and folded.

Room Tip: If we were not on a budget we would have picked the deluxe room. I heard they were much larger. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Junaid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truckee, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

G2 was a pleasant finish to our 3 week stay in Thailand. We were greeted with a glass of fresh juice and warm smiles from Tee and his entire staff when we arrived. The hotel is brand new, impeccably clean and stylish. Tee's attention to detail is easily noted in all of the beautiful decor and comforts this small hotel offers. Fruit plates are delivered to the room every afternoon, the included breakfast is delicious and substantial! All of our concerns were always politely addressed by the staff and they were always happy to call us a tuk-tuk or answer any questions.

The location is very pleasant, tucked in a safe residential area in the walled city area. It's a bit of a walk to all the hustle and bustle (5-10 min), but a pleasant one and we preferred returning to the peaceful neighborhood at the end of our busy days in Chiang Mai.

Truly a "boutique" hotel and highly recommended! And a great value for the quality and service!

Room Tip: We stayed in both types and found them to be very pleasant. The Deluxe rooms are double the size wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taciturn-pixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Greay place to stay but even for a tuk tuk driver hard/ not to find because they don't know it yet. Tell them it's the second street behind Wat Phra Mengrai, it's a narrow street in the middle of a thai neighbourhood.
Freshly baked eggs, bacon, toast and fruitsalad for breakfast, served with a smile! Rooms are brand new and beautifull.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank svrede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
99 The Gallery Hotel
99 The Gallery Hotel
#40 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.9 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#67 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chankam Boutique Hotel
Chankam Boutique Hotel
#78 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
#70 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#20 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jira Luxury Boutique Residence
Jira Luxury Boutique Residence
#112 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G2 Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G2 Boutique Hotel

Property: G2 Boutique Hotel
Address: 4 Soi 7 Ratchamanka Road Maung District, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — G2 Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your G2 Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing