We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Thapae
Nearby Hotels
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$676
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$299
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
De Naga Hotel(Chiang Mai)
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarind Village(Chiang Mai)
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$455
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$403
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bodhi Serene Hotel(Chiang Mai)
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Boutique(Chiang Mai)(Great Value!)
US$39
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$30
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
80
14
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
14
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsan open air showernight marketold citysmall poolday bedwalking distancewe've stayedrooms are cleanlocation is greatthailandconveniencetours
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Spent 4 nights at Villa Thapae. Beautiful & quiet boutique hotel, friendly and attentive staffs, very clean and tidy room, comfortable bed & delicious breakfast! Airport pickup service. Free bike rental. Day tours available with a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EmilyRFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Friendly and helpful staffs, good service, clean and tidy rooms. Beautiful decoration. Near all night markets and attractions. Clean pool.

The breakfast is awesome. Wide selection of food for breakfast. The coffee is simply magical. The fruit juice!! The most concentrated fruit juice I ever had.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank WilsonTan1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed 5 nights in Thapae Villa.

LOCATION



After travelling many times to Chiang Mai, we wanted to change our horizons and try a different bed & breakfast than the one we usually stay in. We were immediately charmed by the style of Villa Thapae and its location a few steps away from Thapae Gate. The B&B is located in a small side street a 3 minutes walk from Thapae Gate. While not utterly quiet, Villa Thapae still offers you an environment that seems far, far away from the hustle and bustle of the city. However, it is still somewhat close to the road and if you are sensitive to noise, you might want to sleep with earplugs. However, Chiang Mai is a busy city, and if you opt for a B&B rather than an international (and impersonal ?) hotel you will probably always have that small problem. However, the fabulous location of Thapae Villa will certainly make you quickly forget this small inconvenience.


AMBIENCE


Thapae Villa is a funky, quirky and fun place to stay. The hotel has been very carefully decorated and is full of weird and kitsch objects, which compose an improbable and original style, that somewhat really works. It is a gallery of colorful artefacts, and everywhere you look, you are bound to be amused, charmed or surprised. A real hit as far as we are concerned! The property is composed of 4 guest rooms, and an adjacent guest villa. The guest rooms look over the small pool and you can actually step into the water directly from the rooms downstairs. This is very nice, but also the main drawback of Villa Thapae. During our stay there, there was a family of 4 with 2 (small and very loud) children who would take over the pool for hours and make a lot of noise in the property. At times, this proved to be a real nuisance. In my opinion, the owners of Thapae Villa should make a choice about the family policy they want to promote, as basically 20% of the guests can end up really bothering the other 80% as was the case during our stay. For example, limiting the property to children above 12 years old would probably make the cohabitation a lot easier.



ROOM


We had a room on the 1st floor of the building, which was pretty much decorated in the same funky style as the rest of the property. Bright colors, lots of artefacts and cosy furniture. Again, we absolutely loved it. The bathroom was also very large, and open, which was sometimes a challenge with mozzies. However, with some precaution, we managed very well! The bed was comfortable and there was more than enough space to store our belongings. The room also has a little mini bar and is of course air conditioned.



BREAKFAST & FOOD



For such a small property, the breakfast was really amazing. Each evening, you can choose your breakfast from a large variety of sweet and savory choices, and they are made to order for you the next morning. Choice was vast, and the food was delicious. As my partner is a big fan of thai breakfast, the management made sure to prepare a different speciality for him each and everyday. Continental choices were also excellent.


SERVICE


Now this is where this place really stands out! From the minute we walked in (actually even before, as he picked us up from the airport), Tuu the manager treated us more as friends than guests. No request was too complicated for him, and he constantly came up with proposals and ideas to make our stay more enjoyable. Thanks to Tuu, we discovered facets of Chiang Mai that we didn’t know, even though we have travelled there a lot of times. Tuu and his team were always friendly, helpful and you could also always share a good laugh with Tuu. He is a true gem and a perfect host! Thanks Tuu for a marvelous and memorable stay !!!


VALUE


Thapae Villa offers a great value.




IN SUM



Truly an excellent choice for Chiang Mai. Good location, great property and even better service! Highly recommended.


  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jewels_gva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Spent 4 nights and days at Villa Thapae for Easter Holidays, rooms/staff/pool/accomodations/location/breakfast are among the best you can have in Chiang Mai within that range of price.
-Staff adorable and really helpful for any kind of activities (especially late breakfast :D).
-Excellent location, close to all kinds of restaurants, groceries stores, fast-food (Burger King and McDonalds) and also bars. Moreover, the sunday market is worth it.
-Rooms: very clean and comfortable
-Pool: awesome
You could enjoy your stay just by staying inside the villa!

Don't hesitate to book here, you won't be disapointed.

Villa Thapae: keep going, we really enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed for 5 nights and loved staying here. We can only concurr with other reviewers, perhaps the best part was the hospitality displayed by the manager and staff. Location was excellent within easy walking to all places. Loved having an afternoon swim as it was very hot. No negatives - I dont think you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrisbaneJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews