We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One word- delicious!”

Anchan Vegetarian Restaurant
Ranked #48 of 2,056 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$6
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: On Nimmanhaeminda Road,look for sidestreet or soi nr 13. Opposite there is a 7 11 supermarket. Walk into the soi of 7 11 and look out for our sign. Located on the 2nd floor, We are open from Tuesday to Saturday, 11:30 AM to 8:30 PM. Closed Sunday and Monday.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One word- delicious!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

This is a place that is well worth a visit- vegetarian or not. The food is delicious and service was so friendly. The best curry I have had in Thailand.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    104
    32
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I'm Not a Vegetarian - and I Loved Anchan!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Decided to try Anchan Vegetarian Restaurant, prepared to be a little underwhelmed because I am not a vegetarian, and I love my meat. The lunch experience was wonderful - a pleasantly decorated (great mural!) open small restaurant, which served adventurous (at least for me) slow cooked food that was delicious, enticing to the eye and that left me glad I came. I had Coconut Palm Heart Red Curry, beautifully spiced, 130 baht, and a Lime and Ginger Shake 60 baht. Plenty of ginger and most refreshing. The service was excellent, with helpful explanations of items on the menu that interested me. The outdoor seating is just 2 tables on a small balcony - Anchan is up a short flight of stairs. The only reason I cannot give it 5 stars is its limited opening hours. I'll definitely be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Shirry71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Vegiterian Thai food!”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Really delicious and very Thai !tempura mushrooms are the best I have had ! You will need to make a reservation! Will for sure come back next time!

Helpful?
Thank EugeanYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Some of the best food I've ever had!”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I love this restaurant, for its location, food, drinks, and friendly staff. The fresh menu changes regularly and everything I've tried has been delicious and packed full of delicious veggies! Not greasy/oily at all either. The juices are tasty as well.

The place is often full or reserved in advance, and it's not a very big restaurant so be careful of this...too many times have I been disappointed because I was craving their food but couldn't get a table! (not their fault for being so delicious)

The dishes are also huge portions.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hess4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Thai food in Thailand!”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We have lived in Chiang Mai for almost 2 years and we celebrated the arrival of a new vegetarian place when Anchan opened. We have been constant dinner guests, eating there at least once (and sometimes 3-4 times) a week ever since!

Aye, the owner and chef, makes the chili pastes from scratch, never using shrimp paste or fish sauce, which are commonly found in Thai kitchens. The massaman curry is by far the best dish we've ever tasted in Thailand, and we've introduced the restaurant to a number of our Thai friends and they know immediately that the food is deliciously authentic. That translates into spice levels that are often too much for our non-Thai tastebuds, but the staff are happy to tone down the spiciness.

There isn't much on the menu we haven't tried, and the staff understand what it means to be vegan, which is a wonderful relief. Once, during one of our first few visits, we ordered a soup traditionally made with egg noodles. Before making the dish, and remembering that we're vegan from past visits, Aye came to our table and asked whether we wanted the soup with rice noodles instead. Absolutely amazing!!!

The food is prepared with love in a small, open kitchen. The cozy dining room doesn't hold too many people and with the mouth-watering food, it's no surprise they're often fully booked for dinner. Be sure to call ahead to make a reservation if you're planning to visit with more than 2 people.

Do not miss the opportunity to eat at Anchan when you're in Chiang Mai. They serve the best food in Thailand!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bounding_Steps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Anchan Vegetarian Restaurant also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Anchan Vegetarian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing