We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Anchan Vegetarian Restaurant
Ranked #44 of 2,058 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$6
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: On Nimmanhaeminda Road,look for sidestreet or soi nr 13. Opposite there is a 7 11 supermarket. Walk into the soi of 7 11 and look out for our sign. Located on the 2nd floor, We are open from Tuesday to Saturday, 11:30 AM to 8:30 PM. Closed Sunday and Monday.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Really amazing food - new menu every week. Only pretty simple first floor restaurant - one room 8 tables - so don't go for the atmosphere. But do go for the food.

Helpful?
Thank Damian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    104
    32
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Stunning food for EVERYONE!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

I am not a vegetarian but I LOVE good food. Having seen this listed as the #4 restaurant in Chiang Mai we hopped in a "rot dang" from the center of town and were taken to the restaurant for 20THB!

The food was sensational, definitely the best meal we have had since arriving 9 days ago - and that is saying something as everything has been food so far!

We went for the som tam (papaya salad) and mushroom pad thai (mushroom thai fried noodles). We also had the tofu burger on homemade roll.

The food was fresh, nourishing and full of flavour. The venue was spotless and the open plan kitchen was comforting. Even the bathroom was spotless and had a soap dispenser - rare, it seems, in Thailand!

I cannot recommend this restaurant enough to anyone who wants to try a tasty meal. They have tempura, curries, stir fry, salads but the menu is not 39 pages long and it is easy to make your choices.

Please go along!

P.S if you ask to get dropped at Soi 13 on Nimmanahaeminda Road you will be on a street corner of a busy main road. Cross the road and keep walking straight ahead to what looks like a quiet dead end street. You will see the Anchan sign on the left.

Helpful?
1 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian food”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We came in here looking for a light meal and wow - this food is excellent! Simple, healthy and delicious vegetarian Thai food and lovely people running the place!

Will be back soon!

Helpful?
Thank KarlGrenet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayama-machi, Japan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“You'll reconsider meat”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

First off, I'm a meat lover. The idea of 'vegetarian' usually elicits a sigh and sense of doubt. Not the case here. Hands down, one of the best meals I've eaten in Asia. On a side note, this is definitely a farang joint.

Pros:
Incredibly fresh
Reasonably priced
Nice owners

Cons:
Closed on Sundays

Bottom Line: Eat here if you get a chance, you'll be satisfied.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thebairen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monbulk, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Some of the best food i have ever had.”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

As the title says, without a doubt some of the best food i have ever had. The staff & the owners are incredibly nice & genuine people.
As a side note, the restaurant owners run a cooking class that i would highly recommend doing. The class runs a full day & starts off with a trip to the local market to gather some of the ingredients you will be using for the day. The best thing about the class is that it's hands on, the Chef will cook a dish & everyone tastes it, then you cook the same dish. After each dish you all sit down together, talk & enjoy the food you have just cooked. Highly, highly recommend Anchan Vegetarian Restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Anchan Vegetarian Restaurant also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Anchan Vegetarian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing