We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”
Review of Sala Lanna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sala Lanna
Ranked #65 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I've eaten here 5 times in the last 6 or 7 days! Enough said! Excellent food and service. The chef's very dedicated to providing the best food. It's by far the best Italian I have tried thus far in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HOLLYOAKSHOLLYOAKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

a beautiful and relatively new hotel in the Wat Kat Karam area of Chiang Mai.
The hotel has a riverside terrace and good facilities. The general area around the hotel is very interesting and varied. Not far from the Night Basar on the opposite side of the river.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights so I got to try 2 types of rooms. The river view deluxe balcony on 3rd floor and the river view superior balcony on 2nd floor. The river view is over-rated, but it was very nice to have a balcony to watch sunset. The 3rd floor deluxe rooms balconies are huge, but I wouldn't say it is worth the money vs. 2nd floor superior balconies.
The rooms themselves are not big and there are not a lot of places to put your suitcase or your clothes. And please note the bath tub is literally in the middle of the room. The 3rd floor room only had a see through curtain to separate the bedroom from the bathroom, so if you are traveling with a friend, just keep in mind it is a bit intimate. The 2nd floor room had a thicker curtain, but it is still a bit weird. And water pressure is poor and the hot water is intermittent, I love long showers so this really bothered me.
The location of hotel is great, it is on a hip street with cute boutiques and cafes. The included breakfast was decent but do not eat there for dinner, waste of a meal. I much prefer the Riverside restaurant which is only a few steps away and the food and choices are soooo much better.
We stayed at Sala Lanna because my friend had a coupon book that included this hotel so we got a good deal. Perhaps I am too spoiled by most Thai hotels that are huge with great hospitality, so while my experience was ok, I don't think I would stay here if I had to pay the listed price. Might as well pay more and go for the Anantara which is gorgeous.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KingKing_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Good experience, great service

Me and a friend stayed for four nights at this boutique hotel, we were happy with our stay. We would recommend this hotel for friends to stay in Chiang Mai.

Pros: Great service, good size room, great choice of breakfast menu. The service at Sala Lanna was great and consistent. The staff were able to accommodate our requests in a timely manner. The room (we stayed at two nights at River view on the 2nd floor and River Deluxe on the 3rd floor) is a good size and the balcony facing the river is very spacious. I was able to do my morning Yoga in the balcony and while watching the action across the river. Breakfast at next door the Thai restaurant is good, plenty of choices but I’d say the best is Pai Thai set :D

Cons: Noise if you are facing the street side, bath tub in the middle of room, not a short walk to all attractions. We did not stay at the rooms facing the street but we did noticed the noise from a bar across the street was pretty loud and would expect the noise would be a problem for those who stay at the rooms facing the street. In the spacious River Delux room on the 3rd floor, there is a free standing bath tub in the middle of the washroom area and it is right in front of upon opening the door. It is a very romantic setting but it is a bit too romantic for two friends travelling together. But it is in no means a reason not to go! It is a very beautiful tub. The location of the hotel is a short drive to everywhere in Chiang Mai, but do not expect to walk in the hot weather to anywhere from the hotel.

Recommend if budget allow, get rooms facing the river, less noisy and more space w balcony.

Room Tip: If budget allow, get rooms facing the river, less noisy and more space w balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silvia20003544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

This is a pretty decent hotel with all the great looks of a boutique style stay. My wife and I were there for 4 nights. I'm giving it a satisfactory rating because I expected it to be better, given the room prices.
Be aware that rooms facing the street will be noisy, from the live bars in the area and traffic. Tends to quiet down after midnight, but the scooters and tuktuks can be loud. Rooms facing the river will have to deal with loud music from bars across the river. Be warned. They should really update the windows with better sound insulation - easy fix and makes a big difference.
Rooms are clean and good sized, housekeeping is good.
The Italian restaurant downstairs is good, as is the Thai place next door where breakfast is served. Breakfast menu is abundant, not especially spectacular, but good.
One consistent thing is the service and friendliness of the staff, which was very good. This is both the hotel and associated restaurants.
Note that it can be a longish walk to the markets and town center as the pedestrian bridge has been torn down, forcing you to take one of two car bridges across the river.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Hayashi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed in sala lanna Chiang Mai for a few days, everything was amazing and completely exceeded our expectations. Beautifully designed rooms with spacious balconies overseeing the river. Very nice and useful amenities, a nice sala touch. Both restaurants are great, fantastic views and the food is simply delicious, specially "Italia" restaurant, opened at dinner time, which offers a very authentic Italian cuisine with an extensive and selected wine list. The staff in every area of this boutique hotel is extremely helpful, friendly and charming. We couldn't ask for more. We highly recommend this place if you are staying in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jose_Phuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

After eating a week Thai Food we really wanted to eat some Western food. We found this cosy Italian restaurant at the Riverside. Chef Davide welcomed us warmly and gave us a nice table with a beautiful view over the river, so romantic! Davide is the new executive chef of Sala Lanna and the food was just AMAZING! The pizzas were one of the best we ever ate and the bruschettas were delicious. The rest of the staff was very friendly. If you are looking to eat something else then Thai food you should definitely go to this place! Thank you so much Davide for this dining experience, we definitely come back on our next vacation to Chiang Mai. Greetings from Femke & Francesco (Paris)

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Femke v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Artists Ping Silhouette
1.9 mi away
Zensala Riverpark Resort
Zensala Riverpark Resort
#60 of 392 in Chiang Mai
160 reviews
0.6 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#36 of 392 in Chiang Mai
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai
#66 of 392 in Chiang Mai
603 reviews
1.5 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#30 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sala Lanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sala Lanna

Address: 49 Charoenrat Road | Wat Gate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £67 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sala Lanna 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
sala lanna Chiang Mai consists of sixteen stylish boutique guest rooms, most with river views, including a luxurious riverfront two bedroom pool villa suite, highlighted by its own private swimming pool and river deck. sumptuous dining is assured at Chiang Mai's most engaging Italian venue, italia. intimate and indulgent service, a signature of sala boutique, will ensure a perfect holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sala Lanna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing