We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Evening”

We Cook Thai Home Garden Cooking School
Book In Advance
More Info
US$30.88*
and up
Chiang Mai Small-Group Thai Cooking Class
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cooking Thai cuisine can be easy, especially once you are familiar with the main ingredients. This activity can guarantee that you will amaze yourself and friends with delicious Thai food that you can cook for the ones that your love. The class is laid back and this translates into your cooking. You don't need to worry, just relax, keep a smile on your face, learn and enjoy your experience. The taste of authentic Thai food is one of the best souvenirs you can bring home to your family & friends from your trip to Thailand. Highlights: - In this course, You can choose 6 dishes from 6 categories - Experience local market tour - Welcome snack or fruit in season - Make your own curry paste - Inclusive cooking book after class Pick-up: Two-way transfer from your residence will be provided, pick up at 8.30Am or 4.00Pm (please indicate when booking). Please provide your hotel details upon booking confirmation. Additional Information: - English-speaking local instructor - Vegetarian options can be arranged - Private Class around 2-9 people - Everyone prepares his or her own dishes - Download photos of the workshop after your activity for free - After class free transportation to your residence or any desire place within 3 km from downtown of Chiang Mai
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

This was a great cooking experience from start to finish. The staff were all professional and fun, the cooking was explained so well and easy to follow. We were shown around a market and herbs and spices were explained to us in detail which was great. Such a fun time, high recommend!

1  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wecookschool, Owner at We Cook Thai Home Garden Cooking School, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear Mark

Was great to join with you and your friends too.
Thank you for your kind compliment.
Cooking is easy evan you don't have much skills.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"recipe book"
in 22 reviews
"local market"
in 25 reviews
"cooking school"
in 19 reviews
"actual class"
in 2 reviews
"thai food"
in 14 reviews
"cooking course"
in 10 reviews
"highly recommend this class to anyone"
in 2 reviews
"sweet sticky rice"
in 2 reviews
"outdoor cooking"
in 2 reviews
"lovely teacher"
in 2 reviews
"learn how"
in 8 reviews
"spoke english well"
in 2 reviews
"fun afternoon"
in 2 reviews
"evening class"
in 6 reviews
"great morning"
in 3 reviews
"fresh ingredients"
in 5 reviews
"great cooking"
in 4 reviews
Filter

25 - 29 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

This cooking class was so much fun. Ms Mam is lovely. The food you make is delicious and you get to see lots of different dishes made. The class sizes are small and you each get your own cooking equipment.

This is a must whilst you are in Chiang Mai! A really enjoyable experience!

Thank Mary9944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wecookschool, Owner at We Cook Thai Home Garden Cooking School, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Dear Mary

Thank you Mary for your nice review.
And you learn how to cook in different dishes from your friends in the class too.

Thank you very much.

Mam and We Cook team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

Awesome Ms. Mam, Select 6 Thai dishes and see how other Thai dishes food are cooked. Very fair price, if you go to a restaurant you will pay much more than for what you will eat. Make sure you are not full before you go.
The schedule, and activities well prepared.
You will get certification if you ever want You change your career.
You will love it. Very satisfied.

Thank Yosef A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wecookschool, Owner at We Cook Thai Home Garden Cooking School, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Dear Yosef

Thank you for your nice review. Thai food is easy to cook too. Cook more eat more! 5555

Thank you very much.

Mam and We Cook team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

Mam our host and teacher is such a lovely, friendly and energetic person who made the cooking so much fun and very doable! We got to choose 6 dishes to make, and we didn't all have to cook the same food either. First we went to the market to get the ingredients which Mam showed us round and explained lots of new and different vegetables that we don't have in the UK. We cooked outside at her beautiful house, and she made the meals vegetarian and glutton friendly if you were so inclined. At the end she even gave us a recipe book with all the recipes included, not just the ones we chose, with substitute ingredients we could use if some weren't available in the shops back home. A must do in Chiang Mai!

Thank acjs2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wecookschool, Owner at We Cook Thai Home Garden Cooking School, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Dear my lovely guests

Thank you for your lovely compliment. Is so nice to join with you. Cooking is doesn't fix, you still can modify more menu from Thai food.

Thank you very much.

Mam and We Cook team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2017

Whilst I was in Chiang Mai, this was one of the things I was looking forward to the most. The morning of the cooking class I wasn't feeling too great, but Mam's enthusiasm lifted my spirits as the day went on. She picked me and my girlfriend up from our hotel first thing in the morning and collected the third chef in training before taking us to a local market. Mam asked us which dished we wanted to cook individually before taking us around the whole of the market showing us where the locals get their fresh food and vegetables, some so fresh it was still moving. This was an amazing experience as it was a part of Asia I was really intrigued to see. We had some time to explore ourselves and Mam also showed and explained all of the traditional vegetables for Thai dishes.

After this we were driven back to Mam's house. It had a lovely sheltered outdoor kitchen in her garden. We sat down and she helped us prepare our vegetables explaining during this how they each improve the flavour etc. I've noticed some feedback on here stating that in the past this was something she hasn't done, so it looks like she has really taken each piece of feedback and put it into practice. I chose to make a Pad Thai, Khao Soi, Tom Kaa Gai soup, Mango Sticky Rice and Spring Rolls. After we had made each meal we took our food into Mam's house and sat together eating.

It is worth noting that some aspects of the cooking class are done on your behalf such as slicing chicken, chopping herbs and other vegetables. I'm pretty confident that this is in the interest of time and helped us have the opportunity to cook so many dishes.

After the class and eating our delicious food, Mam presented us with a certificate (a recent addition to the class), our name tag (written in Thai), and a recipe book. I have carried these three things carefully across Thailand and will cherish them forever. During the day Mam received news that she has been awarded a certificate of excellence from Trip Advisor, a well deserved title. I arrived back in the UK from Thailand yesterday. Today the first meal I have cooked is one of the dishes I learnt to cook with Mam. Thank you Mam for such a wonderful day.

2  Thank alexEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wecookschool, Owner at We Cook Thai Home Garden Cooking School, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Dear Alex

Is nice to hear from you and sound great that you start to cook Thai food at home.
Your reviews it soooo lovely I do read and smile in the same time.
Thank you for your compliment review.

Thank you very much.

Mam and We Cook team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed We Cook Thai Home Garden Cooking School also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to We Cook Thai Home Garden Cooking School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing