We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of ThongRan's House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ThongRan's House
Ranked #13 of 775 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Great location in the old city- walking distance to everything. Friendly and caring attentive hosts- extremely helpful with directions or suggestions. Very clean and good bathroom with nice hot shower. Breakfast available if desired in the backyard of the house behind.
Although ours was comfortable, If came again would choose an upstairs room.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jess8888_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
There are newer reviews for ThongRan's House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

126 - 132 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

Stay just one night but this place is perfect on a quiet street. Very clean and we'll appointed. Would stay again anytime. Owners booked a bus for us as well. Free wifi and coffee/tea. Easy walk to anything in the old city of Chiangmai

Room Tip: Get a 2nd floor room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Couldn't fault our stay here. The rooms were large, new and beautifully presented. The family who owned and managed the hotel were exceptionally helpful, polite and friendly. It was just a short walk into the OldCity streets and activity- however there was no noise from our room, which allowed for a great sleep. The manager drove us to the airport the morning we flew out, for a very reasonable price. I highly recommend this guest house.

Room Tip: We had a large room on first floor with seat on communal verandah. Very quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

This is centrally located in old city, stone throw away from Sunday night market (3 mins).
Rooms are newly refurbished, spacious with comfortable beds.

House keeping everyday, all toiletries refilled daily, thick white towels, hair dryer, instant kettles, flat screen tv, fridge, and importantly hot instant water heater with good pressure!

I'd stay a couple of guesthouse in Northern Thailand and most water heater only provide slight warm water with low pressure.

The hosts, Jar and his wife is very friendly and patience. Explain to us where to eat and how to take transport from here to there...even the house keeper is so polite.

I'd stayed in superior twin room, room and bathroom are spacious. There are no windows in the room. It didn't bother me much as I only stay for 3 nights.

Only wish is if they can provide extra set of pillows. Besides that everything is perfect!

Highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank dor66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My family and I (of six) had three rooms at thongrans house and were blown away by their hospitality and kindness. They arranged everything we needed, always said hello, brought us anything we needed and on Christmas Day they gave each of us little gifts on our bed. The rooms were great as well- great decorations, large rooms, clean and very new. I was actually surprised at how nice the rooms were. The location is also great- I can't think of a single complaint about the entire facility or staff. The chef is also very kind and a great cook for breakfast! I hope I can return to Chiang Mai and without a doubt I will be back to Thongran's house. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Krhodes22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Trip advisor
Our stay at ThongRans was great! The owner is so nice and helpful. She was able to book us things last minute at a good price even when everyone else said they were full. Everyone there was so friendly and did everything we could have asked for. The rooms were nicely decorated and always clean. They even folded clothes we had thrown on the floor. The location is great too. Close enough to everything to walk to but just outside the noise and bustle of Main Street. They even gave us all little keychains when we arrived as well as free bottles of water everyday. There is also a nice lady next door who will make breakfast whenever you need it. It was super nice to walk over and get some food early in the morning before going to a tour. She had food ready for us at 6:00 twice. The locations is great and the people treat you like family. To top it all off on Christmas, we came back to our room to little cookies and Christmas towels with a hand written card wishing us a Merry Christmas. If that is not a sign the owners truly care about everything they do and the guests that check in then I don't know what does. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Krhodes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I am from Tibet, stay in ThongRan's House was one of the high light of my trip in Chiang Mai, Hotel is very clean and comfortable with reasonable price, it located in the old town of the city, all the sites is just minutes away from hotel. The owner is very kind always smile, and very helpful, good English skill, and she can send you to the airport with her nice SUV. the owner's little girl is so cute. anyway very good experience of stay in ThongRan's House, and strongly recommend you to stay in this hotel, you would not regret.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jigmila J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
BED Phrasingh
BED Phrasingh
#4 of 386 in Chiang Mai
764 reviews
0.2 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#12 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,446 reviews
0.3 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#31 of 386 in Chiang Mai
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 386 in Chiang Mai
982 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#14 of 775 in Chiang Mai
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ThongRan's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ThongRan's House

Address: 105 Rachamanka Rd. | Prasingh District, Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 775 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £26 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ThongRan's House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ThongRan's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing