We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful hotel in a fantastic city”
Review of Tamarind Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tamarind Village
Ranked #12 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A peaceful hotel in a fantastic city”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

From leaving the city of Bangkok to Chaing Mai, Thailand's second city the comparison is huge. From a sprawling mega city with the futuristic sky train to the laid back, old town qualities. We took a midday flight and landed around 2pm to rain but in the short 20 minute drive from the airport to the hotel it had dried up. We had opted to stay inside the crumbling old town walls and made the right decision. We arrived at the Tamarind Hotel, (which is situated off one of the main roads, down a private lane and planted each side with towering bamboo) to be greeted at the semi open reception with a cool towel and soft drink. We then had a quick and easy check in and were shown to our room.

We had decided to pay for the upgrade in this part of our holiday to a Lana Deluxe and for the extra £40 for the 5 nights, this was well worth it. We realised from the moment we arrived that we had picked a special boutique hotel. The rooms had a charm about them, from the swing doors on the bathroom to the comfortable beds. Our room was situated off the main courtyard with the impressive 200 year old Tamarind tree (which I got to see a large blue iguana climbing up one morning). The room had a TV and mini bar but we didn't use either. There was ample storage for clothes and had a lovely big spacious bathroom with a shower.

The hotel pool was just situated next to the reception and while some people have commented on the temperature of the pool being too cold, we experienced the heat-wave of over 40 degrees each day, so at the end of a long day sightseeing it was like climbing into a large bath! Perfect for floating around and relaxing in. There were ample free towels at the pool used for you to use. The restaurant for breakfast was at the other end of the pool and for the mornings that we had something to eat, the food was excellent (especially the various homemade jams!!) and at the omelette station, the chef made anything you requested. We didn't make use of the spa or the restaurant in the evenings but other reviews are positive.

The hotel does include free wifi but only for hour increments which you have to get a new token each time. This was one bug bear but apparently that is how a lot of wifi works in Thailand.

The hotel was situated so that everything was either a short walk or a tuk-tuk journey away. We would really recommend on your visit to Chaing Mai that you do the following: Tiger Experience - its a little bit out of town so you will need to get a proper tour company to take you there and if you can afford it, pay to have a photographer as you get significantly more time with the tigers, Flight of the Gibbons - styled like the Go Ape in the UK but with guides and a lot more zip wires. Fantastic morning and the meal they provide at the end is very good quality Thai food. Also with Flight of the Gibbons you can get reduced priced entry to Chaing Mai Zoo - you can just get a tuk-tuk there and back and make sure you get the upgrade so you see the Giant Pandas and enough space on your memory card as you will take a lot of photos!

The food in Chaing Mai was c.20-40% cheaper than Phuket.

If you are going to Chaing Mai, then make sure you are there for more than just a couple of days. There is so more to see and do, such as temples, waterfalls. We would recommend again and again to anyone going to Thailand - the people, the food and the scenery make it a visit you will remember for ever.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire-Love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,060
    356
    62
    24
    10
See reviews for
295
833
59
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Stayed at the Tamarind Village late June..it is a charming combination of old and new with quaint courtyard cottagey feel about it and generally feels nice to be there has a nice ambiance and everything seems made and not manufactured....The food we had at breakfast and lunch was exquisite..As i say everything seemed pure as in freshly made and tasted great everything we had...all the staff were courtesous and very pleasant..at breakfast you note all the attention to detail little conical covers sit on top of the fruit juice containers made out of banana leaf a think and mess covers that look made as well cover the remainder of the food elsewhere, they also encourage activities like garland making and other back to basic activities which seems such a refreshing change..only one thing i think they should change is the wifi code, constantly changing every hour..thats it
We have travelled a lot and there are many places to see in one lifetime and not many we would go back twice on the basis of you have seen it once but, The Tamarind village is one to come back to, with its charm...and just makes you feel reallynice to be there..

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BOWSY37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I loved Tamarind Village. It has a fantastic location in the middle of the walled city, yet is very quiet as soon as you walk down the driveway. The staff is lovely and extremely helpful when I sprained my ankle. Due to the ankle sprain I ate at the hotel restaurant for lunch one day and was quite pleased. the breakfast was great and lunch didn't disappoint either (though is more pricey than other options). My only problem is that I wish there was a full length door to the bathroom, not just the half door as the light/noise is disturbing in the middle of the night. But I will say best hotel toiletries ever!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday in Thialand, 3 nights in Bangkok, 4 nights in Chiang Mai and 8 nights in Koh Somui.

But this hotel was without the shining star! If you are looking to escape the madness, GO!!. everything at this hotel brings you back into balance. My wife and I had a massage which lasted 3 hours and has left its mark of me, We are not a religious people but we are spiritual, the calmness that surrounds this place is truly sublime of which its beautiful staff are a big part of. You can go to breakfast in you dressing gown and kick back.

The rooms do have a contempory twist which adds to its atmosphere we would have no hesistation in stopping here for a week or two

We will certainly be returning soon

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed here for one night on the tail end of a longer trip around northern Thailand and wish we could have stayed for a week! Upon checking in, we were greeted by a warm, friendly staff who offered us a welcome massage (!) and gave us a thorough overview of the room and property. We enjoyed a delicious dinner at the restaurant and an equally great breakfast by the pool the following day. The grounds are lovely, and the location is close to key temples and the Chiang Mai night market. For Westerners, it's very reasonably priced!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Having split our two weeks in Chiang Mai over two great hotels, The Tamarind Village and The Chedi Hotel we concluded that the boutique Tamarind won us over for great value fabulous Thai food, familial comfort and attentive friendly service. Great central location with dining options nearby, coffee shops and the obligatory but very friendly 150 Baht Thai massage up the street, couldnt ask for anything more. So good we came back for our farewell meal. Almost forgot the private cooking lesson from the sous chef, where we enjoyed learning more about the culture and ingredients of this wonderful cuisine.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona8jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

This hotel has the best location, located in Old City. The staff is kind and helpful and the rooms were clean and cozy, while still being in a natural setting. The breakfast was wonderful with a large array of fruits from Thailand and traditional dishes. I also enjoyed eating across the street at Hot Chili Restaurant and walking the Sunday market which is on the same street as the hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.0 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#11 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,321 reviews
0.2 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#13 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
2.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.1 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#10 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Village

Property: Tamarind Village
Address: 50/1 Rajdamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#5 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#17 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamarind Village 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind Village is a unique and charming boutique property that nestles in the heart of historic Chiang Mai. Surrounded by ancient temples and quaint shopping streets, it takes its name from a magnificent 200 year old tamarind tree that shelters the hotel in a shady embrace.Tamarind Village is situated at the center of Chiang Mai’s old town. Many of Chiang Mai’s historic landmarks and temples such as Thapae Gate, the Three Kings Monument, Wat Phra Singh and Wat Chedi Luang are located within a few minutes walk of the hotel. Each week, Chiang Mai’s famous ‘Sunday Walking Street’ takes place just in front of the hotel’s entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tamarind Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Tamarind Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing