We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tamarind Village
Nearby Hotels
Le Meridien Chiang Mai(Chiang Mai)
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
De Naga Hotel(Chiang Mai)
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$377
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$296
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort(Chiang Mai)
US$324
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$238
Anantara.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
U Chiang Mai(Chiang Mai)
US$160
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bodhi Serene Hotel(Chiang Mai)
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$439
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$310
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$364
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,725)
Filter reviews
1,725 results
Traveller rating
1,210
401
74
29
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,210
401
74
29
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslanna roomvillage walkold townan oasistemple tourour honeymoonsunday marketbeautiful hoteldogs barkingboutique hotelbusy citylanna stylemosquito netfresh fruitegg stationlovely poolwelcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
1,070 - 1,075 of 1,725 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We spent four nights here with our two kids (11 and 15) and had a room each. The double room was fine but the twin was quite small, located on the first floor next to one another. Very clean throughout. Was given a complimentary 10 minute massage which was nice or all four of us, so my daughter experienced her first massage.

This hotel is great location for the city, to be able to walk about and see everything and the chance to hop on a tut tut if required at little cost. It's in the centre of the old city and that's where you want to be in Chiang Mai; it's handy to visit all the important spots and close to nice restaurants. Secondly, it has a charming atmosphere. The breakfast was lovely and enough of it, the staff were very helpful over breakfast.

On the Sunday night the night market is set outside the hotel and goes on for miles, which is great, they close the roads and you can get so great bargains.

They kept the pool spotless, but there are not that many beds around it, which cold cause so problems.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirstM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Tranquil is the best way to describe this hotel. From the grounds to the staff everything was perfect. Upon check in we were met by Ooh. Let me first say that in all my time traveling I have never met a member of a staff that is as patient, articulate and informative as she was. Regrettably, we only stayed in Chiang Mai for two days but we wanted see as much as we could as possible. She helped us do this by giving us pointers on our itinerary and gave us direction around the city. The location of this hotel is also ideal. On the weekends the street in front of the hotel is closed to traffic and an expansive night market is erected. The spa is also amazing with great services definitely recommend the aromatic massage. Pure bliss.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReneeMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Travelling with kids, we chose this hotel because they had a pool and and central location. It is located almost in the middle of the historic area of the city that is surrounded by walls and what apears to be channels.

The location is quite good and the hotel is very quiet. Some of the main places to see such as temples are within walking distance. On Sundays there is a street market in front of the hotel andf the same is closed to traffic. The market should not be missed.

Other than the pool and the SPA, there is little else at the hotel.

I was not overwhelmed by the rooms and they need some upgrading, such as doors or windows not closing very well. We had some fruit the first day but that was it and amenities were not being replaced.

Although they have free wireless, they give you 1 hour vouchers and you have to go on asking new vouchers during your stay.

Very nice breakfast and very atentive staff. They always willing to help, namely to indicate places to go, excursions, etc.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msv19650916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We spent 4 nights here and really loved the hotel. Our room overlooked the pool and was very comfortable. Tamarind Village has an air of tranquility even though it's so close to busy streets and temples.

We happened to be there for the walking markets which were amazing and didnt have the pushiness of vendors that you find in Phuket.

There's lots to see and do in and around Chiang Mai and I'd highly recommend the Elephant Nature Park where you can feed and bathe elephants who have been rescued from logging or working in the cities.

Breakfast was very good and very enjoyable in the peaceful setting overlooking the pool. The staff were also very helpful whenever we needed anything.

I'd highly recommend Tamarind Village if you're going to Chiang Mai.
King

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We booked two deluxe rooms. When we checked in, one of our rooms turned out to be rather small, so we asked for a bigger one. The front-desk staff we talked to was very cool about it. He even took time to show us 2-3 different rooms so we could decide which one we wanted! (Thank you so much!) And throughout our 4-day stay, staffs were always smiling, willing to help, and responded to our requests promptly. Five-star service.

The hotel was nice and clean. Beautiful and quiet atmosphere. The rooms were comfortable enough. Good pillows. Bathroom had a separate wet area. Fluffy towels. Four bottles of complimentary water were provided each day. The only bad thing though was that the bathroom smells a bit funky. I think it came from the drain and didn't bother us unless we went in to the bathroom. We stayed in building #4. Hopefully they'll fix this soon.

As mentioned in other reviews, this small boutique hotel is strategically located, near a little bit of everything. Several local restaurants nearby as well as a bunch of what I would assume to be tourist traps for foreigners. Beautiful temples are within walking distance. Bicycle rental is right across the street from the hotel. I checked the price (August 2012), it was around 80 baht per bicycle per day, quite expensive if you only plan to bike around for only a few hours.

Breakfast was just alright. But again, very attentive and welcoming staffs.

Though in near the heart of Chiangmai, it's amazingly quiet and peaceful. All in all, we had a pleasant stay and I highly recommend this hotel. :)

Room Tip: Rooms aren't of the same size. The layouts differ building by building.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mllenoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews