We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, beautiful and quiet in the centre of the city”
Review of Tamarind Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tamarind Village
Ranked #17 of 394 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2012

This hotel was the last one in our trip of 3 weeks true Thailand. Is was beautiful, clean and the personel was nice and helpful. We were with our 2 kids of 3 and 4 years old.
We booked a room on internet, when we came there it was fully booked and so the gave us the bridal suite, wich was super! Very big room with a terras even bigger.
The food was very good and they were always willing to make something special for the kids.
I cannot tell one negative thing about this hotel.
We were there around Loy Kratong, the annual light festival, and the hotel had a free workshop to make your own Kratong, a cake of flowers, to put on the river. The had kilos of flowers and were helping everyone to make one. This was a super experience!
I cannot say it was cheap, but it was worth the price!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mallemuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

977 - 983 of 1,620 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2012

it was such a pleasure to return each day to the peaceful, quiet and beautiful hotel. the service was excellent in all their facilities and the staff most friendly and helpful. the food at the restaurant was really good as well. we can certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Very nice hotel right in the centre yet quiet and not high rise. Very nice rooms and decor. Good breakfast. Nice swimming pool. Staff very friendly and helpful. Able to walk everywhere including night bazaar.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dipti_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

This place is spectacular ! It is everything a place in Chiang Mai , Thailand should be. The property is centrally located within the city moat. The grounds are lush with great ambiance and lemongrass in the air. Nice music. The rooms are small villa's, with asian decor , wood floors and nice furnishings. Nice outdoor pool, restaurant and facilities. The food is fantastic, and the service is great with the familiar Thai welcoming smiles !! A great place to stay, I would go back here again..

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank traveldog95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012 via mobile

If you are looking to stay in a fancy, authentic looking Thai botique hotel with a great location then Tamarind Village is where you want to be.

In the heart of the busy, tourist bustling old town of Chiang Mai, Tamarind Village is a beautiful, quiet and relaxing escape. It is tastefully decorated in typical Thai style decor, the staff is super friendly (especially the breakfast staff, we really loved them!) and the breakfast is delicious! Be prepared to put on 2 or 4 kgs as their creamy, homemade yogurt is to die for!

The rooms were just a little too small and dark and The air con was definitely not working. But that was Tamarind Villages only down fall. The rest was great.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

What a nice and lovely hotel! I love the big Tamarind tree in the middle and love watching the squirrel run around on this huge playground. The breakfast was excellent! The staff was very helpful and friendly. There's a pool, not a big one but an ok one. The hotel is right next to the Sunday walking street. Make sure you don't miss out on this Sunday market.

The only complaint that I have is the the tv was old and had a bad connection. The remote works sometime. For this level of hotel you would think that the room would have a better tv, like a flat screen and not an old school 16" inch tv that works sometime. Another than that, everything was great! Will stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riki-oh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Everything about our week long stay was superb...except the Internet. Very spotty, connection breaks frequently. This is a rather inexpensive problem to fix, I would think they would want to get this fixed. Spa massage was also superb.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
5  Thank stmtahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#16 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,495 reviews
2.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#18 of 394 in Chiang Mai
2,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
1 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 394 in Chiang Mai
2,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Village

Address: 50/1 Rajdamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#8 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#17 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £109 - £366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamarind Village 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind Village is a unique and charming boutique property that nestles in the heart of historic Chiang Mai. Surrounded by ancient temples and quaint shopping streets, it takes its name from a magnificent 200 year old tamarind tree that shelters the hotel in a shady embrace.Tamarind Village is situated at the center of Chiang Mai’s old town. Many of Chiang Mai’s historic landmarks and temples such as Thapae Gate, the Three Kings Monument, Wat Phra Singh and Wat Chedi Luang are located within a few minutes walk of the hotel. Each week, Chiang Mai’s famous ‘Sunday Walking Street’ takes place just in front of the hotel’s entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tamarind Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Tamarind Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing