We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tamarind Village
Nearby Hotels
Le Meridien Chiang Mai(Chiang Mai)
US$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$898
US$857
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai(Chiang Mai)
US$80
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$82
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
US$175
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$46
US$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eurasia Chiang Mai Hotel(Chiang Mai)(Great Value!)
US$37
US$29
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$178
US$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Boutique(Chiang Mai)(Great Value!)
US$34
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,709)
Filter reviews
1,709 results
Traveller rating
1,199
397
74
29
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,199
397
74
29
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslanna roomvillage walkold townan oasistemple tourour honeymoonsunday marketbeautiful hoteldogs barkingboutique hotelbusy citylanna stylemosquito netfresh fruitegg stationlovely poolwelcome drink
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
995 - 1,000 of 1,709 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Pros
Location - it doesn't get more central! The Sunday walking market is just in front of the hotel and definitely worth doing. You can easily walk to many restaurants and massages places. Alternatively, you can grab a taxi or Tuk Tuk in front of the hotel at any time.
This resort is very peaceful despite being in the centre of Chiang Mai and its very well decorated and maintained.

Breakfast - excellent breakfast. Fresh fruits, new Thai dishes every day, fresh fruit juice and delicious omelettes, eggs or pancakes made to order. Very attentive staff and nice location around the pool.

Room - large room with a very relaxing Thai decor. Scented candles, complimentary fruit basket, water, tea, coffee and many bathroom amenities. Free wifi in the room with good speed. Very quiet.

Service - staff in the hotel was delightful from check-in to check-out. They even booked a taxi for us to go to the airport which was half the price of the hotel transfer. I cannot praise highly enough their professionalism.

Pool - Pool is superb and with many loungers and sofas were you can sunbath or sip a cocktail in the evening.

Activities - The hotel runs daily complimentary activities (umbrella painting, Chiang Mai guided visit) in case you run out of things to do!

Cons
None - ok breakfast coffee could be better if I'm being extremely picky :)

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who plans to stay in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank headortail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

The best thing about this hotel is the fact you feel a million miles away from the city however step outside and you are in the heart of Chiang Mai. The hotel grounds are very well maintained and it is great to just wonder round.

Rooms very clean but slightly on the small side. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast is brilliant. Great quality and lots of choice.

The pool area in the evening is very pleasing on the eye though beware of the mosquitoes if sitting by the pool in the evening!

Spa is expensive compared to outside the hotel but that is really to be expected and is the only negative I can think of.

Located within the old city walls, you are in the heart of Chiang Mai with so much to see and do.

This hotel is worthy of its ratings and I would recommend it to anyone visiting the area. Would certainly stay here again without a second thought.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OJKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in April 2012 and we loved it! You are away from the hustle of this charming town, and yet, you step outside the village you are just a short walk or tuk-tuk ride away from where its happening.
The buildings are nicely embedded into the tropic scenery, the rooms are OK in size and designed in local customs (I could have lived without a TV in the room though).
We ate in the village most of the evenings, as we were too exhausted from relaxing to go any place else. Food was good, very good most of the times, service always friendly and helpful.
Pool area can become a little crowded at times, but not annoyingly densely packed.
We found it the perfect little retreat to explore Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a room away from the reception
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iguacu317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We've loved and enjoyed Tamarind Village's sister hotel in Krabi - Rayavadee over the years so when it's time to visit Chiang Mai, the accommodation decision wasn't a hard one at all.

Other than a temple or 2 around every corner, the old town main streets don't look much much different from anywhere in Thailand or Bali: busy and dusty traffic, narrow and crumbling pedestrian ways, tailor shops, massage shops and money changers, impossibly intertwined power cables. Suddenly in the centre of all this a subtle plate signs "Tamarind Village", next to it a bamboo illustrated deep path leads to a meditating wooden gate. You are in the Village.

The resort is boutique-y with well aged monastery looking buildings, it is restored in style that preserves the history yet all modern comfort is included. There is no flattering extravagance, only well-thought-of story-filled antiques. The ground isn't spacious, just filled with well-taken-care-of greenery so you feel secluded even when the rooms are almost dorm-like. Each room features a little terrace or balcony with cushioned seats, when the sun gets shattered by twisting branches of the old tamarind tree then hit the whispering white washed walls it's hard not to forget about the hustling world you come from.

We stayed in the Spa Suite for 4 days, doing nothing but wandering a couple of temples at quiet hours, having spa treatments and lying on the terrace daybed at dusk listening to the monks chanting. There were a couple of glitches regarding reservation but once we got here they sorted things out for us promptly, almost everything is effortless and there is always a smile on the staff's face.

It's worth mentioning that the bed is very comfortable.

It seems to be what Chiang Mai is all about: lush, historical, humble, and spiritual.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PukakiBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

The rooms were small.... we could only have 1 suitcase open at a time. I asked for a quiet room overlooking the beautiful 100 year old Tamarind tree..... Our room was opposite the reception and rather noisy and far from private. I'm sure however, there were other rooms around the resort that were better. If you want a view of the tree then expect a little noise.

The first night we hardly got any sleep as there was a loud ongoing thumping noise (we think from the room downstairs). The following few days there were noisy drills and tools from workers repairing an air conditioning unit in the room next door and lawn mowers going so for us this place was far from relaxing. Disappointing really considering it was our honeymoon.

It appeared the staff were not very informed about some things. We asked one girl about massage other than the resort and she was very vague. Also, we asked a female staff member about seeing the long neck women and which was the best tribe to visit for silver tribal jewellery. We were told The Karen Tribe. So we hired a scooter and rode approximately 20kms out of town to find the minimal jewellery was cheap and awful.

The coffee at breakfast was so bitter you could hardly drink it.

On a good note, the staff were very polite and the pool looked nice, even though we didn't use it. The location was great too!

Room Tip: Not overlooking the courtyard if you want privacy and ask for a larger room than standard.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews