We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and Different Place/Retreat”
Review of Tamarind Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tamarind Village
Ranked #17 of 402 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The Tamarind Village is a lovely and relaxing hotel marked by great service. It's a sanctuary and retreat right in the middle of the old City walls. You walk out from this retreat and amazingly find yourself right in the middle of the hustle and bustle of a typical Thai city. The service is excellent and very friendly, they can't do enough. The rooms have all the modern hotel facilities you want but in a different dark wood retreat style. The food is very good and it's delightful to eat at outside tables taking in the night atmosphere watching the pool lit by candles. Fantastic change or character from a glass fronted modern hotel

Room Tip: They are all close to the centre given there are not that many rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelvUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Michael V UK

Thank you for your very kind review of Tamarind Village on Trip Advisor. We are glad to know you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we appreciate your comments on our relaxing ambience and attentive and friendly service. Thank you as well for mentioning the stype and design of the rooms and buildings which is inspired by the traditional architecture of the north of Thailand. We are glad you enjoyed the food and restaurant setting with candlelit atmosphere in the evenings.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again one day.

WIshing you well!

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

888 - 894 of 1,665 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

We checked in as honeymooners as pre arranged by our travel agent and they didn't seem to have any special touches for our special occasion. Room very small but goid size bed. It is nice and tranquil and good location. We arrived on an early flight and they made up the room quickly for us although we didn't request this and were happy to lounge by the pool and relax. Perhaps they didn't clean the room thoroughly as the shower overflowed the first time we used it to freshen up after our flight, and it must have been because the drain was clogged? The next morning we mentioned we were honeymooners and offered to show our wedding certificate but front staff declined and didn't seem to understand although they spoke perfect english on our arrival. They promised to look into it but nothing was done. They also removed the fruit basket from our room on the second day. A bit disappointing since this is rated top rate, but we had high expectations I guess. Breakfast was very tasty. Try the coconut and pineapple homemade jam on banana bread!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Belavona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Belavona,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay at Tamarind Village on Trip Advisor. We are very sorry to learn that you found something lacking during your stay and that honeymoon amenities were not provided for you. I wonder what amenities your travel agent told you would be provided that were not? We do always try to make everyone's stay a special one, especially for an important visit such as a honeymoon trip. Perhaps there was some communication error between what the agent mentioned to you and what we understood when the booking was made. I hope you asked to speak to the manager in this case, but if you did not and would like us to look into it further, please do not hesitate to write to us at gm@tamarindvillage.com and we would be glad to follow up. We do hope the rest of your trip in Thailand was an enjoyable one and we wish you lots of luck and happiness together in the future.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Right in the heart of Chiang Mai and yet quiet and relaxing. Walk straight from the hotel to explore the many temples of the area or enjoy a massage at a fraction of the UK rate!

Standard rooms are compact but charming. Clean, air conditioned with very good powerful shower. Extremely high quality toiletries.

Only part that was a bit of a let down was the spa where I had a rather poor quality massage. Much better available at a tenth of the price just across the road from the Hotel.

Buffet breakfast with a wide selection of dishes, both Thai and International. Egg bar for omelettes, bacon etc.

Very good value dinner menu. Excellent Thai menu and charming setting around the pool lit by candles.

Highly recommended and very good value when booked through on line travel agent such as Travel Republic.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supermummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Super Mummy,

Thank you very much for your kind review on Trip Advisor. It is really nice to know you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our location at the centre of the old city and that you appreciated in the in room amenities and our breakfasts, dinners and the restaurant's setting poolside.

We are sorry however to read that you did not enjoy your massage with us. We usually have very good feedback on our spa and therapists. Hopefully you mentioned this to our manager before you left the hotel so that they could look into it and see how they could improve their service.

We hope you will visit us again one day and thank you for recommending us so highly. We really appreciate it.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Amazing hotel, very cozy and very friendly staff and great food. I went by my own and felt very welcomed and at home. Every day at 3pm they offer an activity - such as painting paper umbrella - by a 200-year tamarind tree. Great swimming pool. Go there!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Lucia N.

Thank you for your lovely review of our Tamarind Village Chiang Mai on Trip Advisor. We are really glad to know you enjoyed your recent stay with us and felt very welcome. It is also good to know you liked our daily complimentary cultural activities - such as the umbrella painting which you mentioned.

Hope we will have the chance to welcome you back one day soon!

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I started staying here when I lived in Asia and was one of the first guests at this hotel when it opened. I've never stayed anywhere else in Chiang Mai since. The staff is great, so friendly and accommodating. I love the courtyard and overall atmosphere, very peaceful and beautifully landscaped - you would never guess this was waiting inside right off the city street. The rooms are nicely appointed with traditional craft accents. The restaurant is really top notch and the new menu with Northern style Thai specialties, is some of the best Thai food I have ever eaten. If you are looking for a great boutique hotel experience, this is the place.

Room Tip: Try the Lanna Deluxe room, many of them face the courtyard with the Tamarind tree and have a small v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear TG,

Thank you so much. We loved your review and thank you for the great compliments on our property. We really appreciate that you choose us for your stays in Chiang Mai every time and that you love our tranquil atmosphere and friendly staff. Thank you as well for mentioning our 'Kong Gin Baan Hao' menu of northern Thai dishes which we introduced last year for those guests who want to try some authentic flavours of the north. Very glad to know you liked that.

We are looking forward to welcome you again sometime soon.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The 200-year-old Tamarind tree at the center of the hotel property (after which the hotel is named) is really beautiful. It provides shade and character for a lovely little oasis in the city.

From the moment I walked in, the staff at the hotel was attentive and gracious, without being overbearing. They took care of everything seamlessly - including last-minute spa appointments. The staff in the spa are similarly excellent.

The hotel is centered around the tamarind tree, and I had a great little room on the first floor in a quiet corner of the property. It's not a huge room -- I did have some trouble finding a comfortable space to open my large suitcase comfortably -- but it's comfortable. It can be difficult to claim a chair at the pool on a nice day, as it's a popular respite from the bustle of the city. Also, because the pool is in the center of the property near the check-in area, there's a lot of traffic. The restaurant, which also borders the pool area, is terrific - the staff is accommodating, the food is tasty, and with the wall of open doors, it's breezy and comfortable.

If I ever return to Chiang Mai, I will absolutely choose to stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiaBchGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear MiaBchGal

Thank you for your very nice review of Tamarind Village on Trip Advisor. It makes us very happy to know you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that if you come back to Chiang Mai again, that you would choose to stay with us again. Thank you as well for mentioning our beautiful 200 year old tamarind tree in the central courtyard which provides shade to all and for the compliments on our staff, the food and the spa.

We do hope you will return one day and that we will have the chance to welcome you.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This lovely resort is well positioned in the old city and in the middle of the Sunday Night Walking Market. Rooms are lovely albeit a bit small. Given the hustle and bustle of the streets nearby it is hard to believe how quiet it is. Breakfasts were delicious, exceptional quality and generous serves. Another big asset of this place is the wonderful staff. All are so happy to provide assistance wherever possible. Nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Kerryn P,

Thank you very much for your nice review. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with others. We are very glad you enjoyed your time with us and found our location convenient at the centre of the city but with a tranquil atmosphere for relaxation. Thank you as well for your kind compliment on our staff and their kind, attentive service.

We hope you will come back and visit again one day soon.

Wishing you all the best til then.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#15 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,532 reviews
1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#21 of 402 in Chiang Mai
2,122 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#30 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.1 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Na Nirand Romantic Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Village

Address: 50/1 Rajdamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#8 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#17 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £104 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamarind Village 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind Village is a unique and charming boutique property that nestles in the heart of historic Chiang Mai. Surrounded by ancient temples and quaint shopping streets, it takes its name from a magnificent 200 year old tamarind tree that shelters the hotel in a shady embrace.Tamarind Village is situated at the center of Chiang Mai’s old town. Many of Chiang Mai’s historic landmarks and temples such as Thapae Gate, the Three Kings Monument, Wat Phra Singh and Wat Chedi Luang are located within a few minutes walk of the hotel. Each week, Chiang Mai’s famous ‘Sunday Walking Street’ takes place just in front of the hotel’s entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tamarind Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Tamarind Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing