We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect to discover the city, silent relaxing spot in the old town”
Review of Tamarind Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tamarind Village
Ranked #14 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect to discover the city, silent relaxing spot in the old town”
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for 5 nights to discover Chiang Mai and the surrounding. The staff of the hotel was very friendly and helpful. It is a perfect place to discover the temples and the old town of Chiang Mai - just go out and eveything is around (night market, restaurants, ect. in walking distance). At the same time, the hotel is a quiet spot with a lot of nature: once in the hotel, you don't hear the noise from the street and feel far away from the city life. Rooms and interiour is very nice, walls and doors are not very thick so you can still hear some noise from the garden and maybe neighbours. Additionally, our room was a little bit dark. All in all, we think the hotel is perfect for everyone who wants to discover Chiang Mai, but also likes a save haven for some time or just hang out at the silent pool area. We recommend eating at the restaurant - sitting directly at the pool. The food is very delicious and has fair prices (of course, more western prices). Also the breakfast has eveything one could expect including very good fresh fruit juices and fresh made omelettes. Hotel is definitely a recommendation!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank preussalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Pruessalex,

Thank you for your nice review of your recent 5 night stay with us. We are very happy to learn you had an enjoyable time and appreciated our location at the heart of the old town for discovering the temples and other historic sites as well the tranquil and natural ambiance. Thank you as well for your compliments on our restaurant and the atmosphere at the pool.

We hope to welcome you back again one day soon.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,078
    361
    63
    24
    10
See reviews for
299
843
62
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

There is for sure no better place to spend some relaxed days in Chiang Mai. Located in the heart of the city you are close to everything BUT same time you are in a beautiful, quiet and peaceful hideaway without any noise from the extremly busy outside. Nice pool area, great restaurant with live music in the evenings, sweet staff, Boutique-designed rooms and prices are fair. Either you just hang out at the pool or you explore Chiang Mai life - Tamarind Village will for sure guarantee a great stay, I come back:-)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trav-ALA2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Trav-ALA2012,

Greetings from Tamarind Village! Thank you for your nice review of your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor. We are very glad to know you had a pleasant stay and that you are already thinking about a return visit.

Thank you for your compliments on our pool are and service staff, our boutique design and for appreciating our quiet and peaceful hideaway atmosphere, all at a reasonable price.

We hope you will be back in the near future!

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

An amazing oasis in the middle of the old city. LOVED this place... Everything was perfect... Service, food, beautiful design. The Sunday market is right outside the gates... It is massive and we were able to buy lots if great/authentic souvenirs for good prices.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jsistrunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Jsistrunk,

Thank you for your kind review of Tamarind Village on the trip Advisor forum. We are really glad to know you had a wonderful stay with us and that you found our hotel an 'amazing oasis' in the old city. We were also very pleased to read your positive comments on our service, food and design.

We hope we may have the chance to welcome you back one day in the near future.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

We have just spent 17 nights touring Vietnam and Thailand. We stayed in 5 hotels during this time. The Tamarind Village was by far the best. All the staff were extremely helpful. The setting was beautiful and it is right in the middle of the old town perfect location. We stayed in a Lanna room which was the smallest of the hotel rooms we stayed in but again was our favourite. Yes it is dark but the lighting is unlike most hotel rooms and offers plenty of light. Plus we were hardly in the room as there is so much to do in Chaing Mai. We had a complimentary massage in the spa which is the best massage I have ever had and we booked again for the next day. Yes the massage was a bit more expensive but it was well worth it. We will definitely be rebooking this hotel on our next visit.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Smudger3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Smudger 3008,

Greetings from Tamarind Village Chiang Mai! Thank you very much for your nice review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are glad to know you found us the best of the hotels you experienced on your trip and that you would come back to stay with us on your next visit to Chiang Mai. Thank you as well for your compliments on our spa and massage treatment. We are pleased to know you enjoyed this.

Wishing you all the very best.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Tamarind Village is a great hotel. The grounds are immaculate, the service is excellent and it's located right in the middle of the old town where you can walk pretty much everywhere.

The only small minus is that the rooms are small for the price and they're quite dark. This is due to the use of traditional Lanna architecture and so it's understandable. You shouldn't be spending too much time in the room anyways if you're in Chiang Mai which is such a pleasant city filled with street side cafes and restaurants.

The concierge service was very helpful and the pool area is as pleasant as it gets

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Kevin J,

Thank you for your nice words and for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are really glad to know you enjoyed your experience staying with us and appreciated the grounds and the convenient location in the heart of the old town.

Thank you as well for your compliments on our concierge service and the pool. We hope you will be back again one day in the future!

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I stayed at Tamarind village for three night in December 11-14, 2013. This place completely tranquil boutique resort typical Lanna style located at the center of Chiang Mai old town which you can reach to many tourist attraction like Wat Pra Singh, Wat Chedi Luang or other temples nearby the hotel where you can walk or take or rent the bicycle. There are many shop, bar, restaurants which you can walk around and very easy to reach.

At the time we reach to the hotel, the staff are ready to assist us and gave us fresh towel as well as the welcome drink . This is my first impression with the services that we received from the front staff. One man in particular Mr. Saksit was exceptional with great smile. Other staff also great in what they were doing.

The breakfast served at the Ruen Tamarind located nearby the swimming pool which there are variety choices of food and again the staff seem to have a great pride in what they are producing and it shows. I really appreciated for their services.

Our room was lanna room so the room a bit small but we were acceptably with that size. The hotel provided very good smelling of bathroom amenities which we enjoyed a lot with those spa type amenities. As long as I know that bathroom amenities from Erb spa product. There is no bathtub for this type of room.

The hotel provided free unlimited WiFi with stable signal so no need to worry about the internet connect.

The bed provided are really comfortable .When we come back to chiang mai I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Danzaaas,

Thank you very much for your review of Tamarind Village on Trip Advisor. We are glad to know you found our boutique property a tranquil base from which to explore the temples and sites of the old town. Thank you as well for your compliments on our staff service and for mentioning Khun Saksit by name. He will certainly be pleased to know you appreciated his efforts.

Thank you as well for mentioning our breakfast selection and our comfortable beds. We hope we will have the chance to welcome you back on day on your next visit to the north.

Until then, take care.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We rented several rooms for several nights for our wedding guests. The service was warm and excellent. The rooms are beautiful- full of rich woods, textiles, lovely old photos, gentle lighting. The gardens are really special- well managed but not overly manicured. The huge old trees give plenty of shade and amazing white orchids are everywhere. Breakfast around the pool was very nice. The Spa is very nice but frankly it is overpriced given the many other excellent Spas and massage places in Chiang Mai.This is a quiet hotel- not a place for drunkenness or parties- but perfect for a romantic getaway or a special vacation with friends. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheVeteranTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Veteran Traveler,

Thank you very much for your nice review of your recent stay at Tamarind Village on Trip Advisor. We are glad your wedding guests enjoyed their time with us and it is very nice to know you appreciated the small details which make Tamarind Village such a special place: the gardens and flowers and the design features in the rooms. Thank you especially for your kind compliments on our staff which are most appreciated.

Wishing you all the best.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#11 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,409 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,382 reviews
2.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#12 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,068 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Village

Property: Tamarind Village
Address: 50/1 Rajdamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#17 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamarind Village 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind Village is a unique and charming boutique property that nestles in the heart of historic Chiang Mai. Surrounded by ancient temples and quaint shopping streets, it takes its name from a magnificent 200 year old tamarind tree that shelters the hotel in a shady embrace.Tamarind Village is situated at the center of Chiang Mai’s old town. Many of Chiang Mai’s historic landmarks and temples such as Thapae Gate, the Three Kings Monument, Wat Phra Singh and Wat Chedi Luang are located within a few minutes walk of the hotel. Each week, Chiang Mai’s famous ‘Sunday Walking Street’ takes place just in front of the hotel’s entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tamarind Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Tamarind Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing