We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Boutique Hotel ”
Review of Tamarind Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tamarind Village
Ranked #16 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 3 nights mid Dec with my girlfriend. Got a taxi direct from the airport for 120 Baht which took only 10 minutes to The Tamarind Village.

We had a ground floor Lanna room close to the pool area.

The room was a decent size and very well presented with traditional Thai features. A great selection of bathroom products (some of the best we've seen in any top end hotel). The room was cosy and romantic and cleaned daily no matter what time we left our room.
Because of the traditional doors & windows it did not keep out much sound so heard a few dogs barking one night which kept us awake but most nights were ok.

The overall service was superb and we couldn't fault any staff, they were more than happy to help with any request we had.

Breakfast buffet was good with a wide selection of choice - eggs station, bacon, sausage, cereals, fruit, pastries, yoghurt etc.

During our stay we needed to wear sweaters and trousers for breakfast as it was cold, this was the same in the evenings too.

We were only a few minutes walk from local shops, restaurants, bars and temples. Most places have free wifi on request and the Tamarind offer free wifi throughout.

Tuk Tuks were only 100 baht to the other areas of the town including the riverside.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxed boutique break in Chaing Mai.



Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MrBrownUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Dear MrABr0wn,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Tamarind Village. We are very glad to know you had a wonderful stay, appreciated the traditional Thai decor of the rooms and liked the breakfast selection. We particularly liked your feedback on our attentive staff. We hope you were not too cold during your stay. You have arrived in the middle of our short 'Thai winter' and this year has been colder than most.

We wish you a very happy holiday season and all the very best for the New Year! We hope to welcome you again to Tamarind Village in the future.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

856 - 862 of 1,643 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Pros : hotel is well located in the old city. The pool is beautiful and the hotel is peaceful.

Cons : really really small rooms... Service is average. I had several emails with their employees before coming to the hotel and they did not answer properly. I had to ask twice my questions...really annoying. Hotel is noisy (between rooms we can hear our neighbours). The Internet connection is also really annoying as you have to enter the login and passwords each times it disconnects (often). The beakfast can be improved a lot (service, especially from the guys who cooks omelet who seems not happy to be here, thei hot chocolate was just instant chocolate with water, the choice for breakfast is low).

Wewent there during December 2013, winter season. As the pool was not heated, nobody was having a swim (cold). Also, the hotel was full and this period was peak season (high prices). For my next stay, I will choose another hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ShenMueFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Dear ShenMueFan,

Thank you for your recent feedback on your stay at Tamarind Village. We appreciate you taking the time to write. We are very sorry to know your stay did not live up to your expectations. It sounds like Tamarind Village was not the right choice for you. We normally recieve very high praise for our service and breakfast selection so found your comments surprising. Nevertheless, we will take all you have written into consideration and see where we might make improvements in the future.

We wish you all the best for the holidays.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed there for 5 nights to discover Chiang Mai and the surrounding. The staff of the hotel was very friendly and helpful. It is a perfect place to discover the temples and the old town of Chiang Mai - just go out and eveything is around (night market, restaurants, ect. in walking distance). At the same time, the hotel is a quiet spot with a lot of nature: once in the hotel, you don't hear the noise from the street and feel far away from the city life. Rooms and interiour is very nice, walls and doors are not very thick so you can still hear some noise from the garden and maybe neighbours. Additionally, our room was a little bit dark. All in all, we think the hotel is perfect for everyone who wants to discover Chiang Mai, but also likes a save haven for some time or just hang out at the silent pool area. We recommend eating at the restaurant - sitting directly at the pool. The food is very delicious and has fair prices (of course, more western prices). Also the breakfast has eveything one could expect including very good fresh fruit juices and fresh made omelettes. Hotel is definitely a recommendation!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank preussalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear Pruessalex,

Thank you for your nice review of your recent 5 night stay with us. We are very happy to learn you had an enjoyable time and appreciated our location at the heart of the old town for discovering the temples and other historic sites as well the tranquil and natural ambiance. Thank you as well for your compliments on our restaurant and the atmosphere at the pool.

We hope to welcome you back again one day soon.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

There is for sure no better place to spend some relaxed days in Chiang Mai. Located in the heart of the city you are close to everything BUT same time you are in a beautiful, quiet and peaceful hideaway without any noise from the extremly busy outside. Nice pool area, great restaurant with live music in the evenings, sweet staff, Boutique-designed rooms and prices are fair. Either you just hang out at the pool or you explore Chiang Mai life - Tamarind Village will for sure guarantee a great stay, I come back:-)

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trav-ALA2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear Trav-ALA2012,

Greetings from Tamarind Village! Thank you for your nice review of your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor. We are very glad to know you had a pleasant stay and that you are already thinking about a return visit.

Thank you for your compliments on our pool are and service staff, our boutique design and for appreciating our quiet and peaceful hideaway atmosphere, all at a reasonable price.

We hope you will be back in the near future!

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

An amazing oasis in the middle of the old city. LOVED this place... Everything was perfect... Service, food, beautiful design. The Sunday market is right outside the gates... It is massive and we were able to buy lots if great/authentic souvenirs for good prices.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jsistrunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear Jsistrunk,

Thank you for your kind review of Tamarind Village on the trip Advisor forum. We are really glad to know you had a wonderful stay with us and that you found our hotel an 'amazing oasis' in the old city. We were also very pleased to read your positive comments on our service, food and design.

We hope we may have the chance to welcome you back one day in the near future.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

We have just spent 17 nights touring Vietnam and Thailand. We stayed in 5 hotels during this time. The Tamarind Village was by far the best. All the staff were extremely helpful. The setting was beautiful and it is right in the middle of the old town perfect location. We stayed in a Lanna room which was the smallest of the hotel rooms we stayed in but again was our favourite. Yes it is dark but the lighting is unlike most hotel rooms and offers plenty of light. Plus we were hardly in the room as there is so much to do in Chaing Mai. We had a complimentary massage in the spa which is the best massage I have ever had and we booked again for the next day. Yes the massage was a bit more expensive but it was well worth it. We will definitely be rebooking this hotel on our next visit.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Smudger3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear Smudger 3008,

Greetings from Tamarind Village Chiang Mai! Thank you very much for your nice review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are glad to know you found us the best of the hotels you experienced on your trip and that you would come back to stay with us on your next visit to Chiang Mai. Thank you as well for your compliments on our spa and massage treatment. We are pleased to know you enjoyed this.

Wishing you all the very best.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Tamarind Village is a great hotel. The grounds are immaculate, the service is excellent and it's located right in the middle of the old town where you can walk pretty much everywhere.

The only small minus is that the rooms are small for the price and they're quite dark. This is due to the use of traditional Lanna architecture and so it's understandable. You shouldn't be spending too much time in the room anyways if you're in Chiang Mai which is such a pleasant city filled with street side cafes and restaurants.

The concierge service was very helpful and the pool area is as pleasant as it gets

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear Kevin J,

Thank you for your nice words and for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are really glad to know you enjoyed your experience staying with us and appreciated the grounds and the convenient location in the heart of the old town.

Thank you as well for your compliments on our concierge service and the pool. We hope you will be back again one day in the future!

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#15 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,514 reviews
1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 395 in Chiang Mai
2,107 reviews
2.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#31 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,011 reviews
1 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#9 of 395 in Chiang Mai
2,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Village

Address: 50/1 Rajdamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#17 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £102 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamarind Village 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind Village is a unique and charming boutique property that nestles in the heart of historic Chiang Mai. Surrounded by ancient temples and quaint shopping streets, it takes its name from a magnificent 200 year old tamarind tree that shelters the hotel in a shady embrace.Tamarind Village is situated at the center of Chiang Mai’s old town. Many of Chiang Mai’s historic landmarks and temples such as Thapae Gate, the Three Kings Monument, Wat Phra Singh and Wat Chedi Luang are located within a few minutes walk of the hotel. Each week, Chiang Mai’s famous ‘Sunday Walking Street’ takes place just in front of the hotel’s entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tamarind Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Tamarind Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing