We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Oasis in Chiang Mai” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tamarind Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tamarind Village
Ranked #13 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful Oasis in Chiang Mai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

This is a wonderful little hotel right in the heart of Chiang Mai. Lovely pool, comfortable rooms, and a really outstanding restaurant. It is just off the main road, and escaping the crush of the sunday market with a few steps was priceless. The staff was very helpful and efficient - do not miss the Sunday morning village walk: a perfect introduction to Chiang Mai.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank tombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,028
    349
    61
    24
    10
See reviews for
287
808
58
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

A very nice hotel with great location situated in heart of old town.
Room is comfortable, shower is great and with full amenity set up.
Hotel staff are nice, friendly and hospitable.
The Sunday night market right outside of the hotel is lively and fantastic.
Heaps of side street stores with lots of products varieties, loves the ambience.
I'd recommend thiis hotel and definitely return visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Great location if you want to be in the old town area. Definitely has a boutique and serene feel to it. The pool is lovely and the restaurant is quite good—although beware of the surprisingly large appetizers. The spa and gift shop are also good. The best part of our stay was hiring a driver to drive us up to the palace and temple which the hotel helped arranged on our behalf. The only issue we really had with the outside lights flooding into our room at night which made it difficult to sleep.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarschot
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed 6 nights in this beautiful setting. Room (lana with tiny balcony) is nice but rather small, great shower though. Staff very friendly, breakfast good except for the choice of bread. Location could not be better. Would recommend this hotel, check prices through different sites! Try to eat at cooking love in soi 1 off rajdamnoen and go to doi inthanon you will be pleasantly surprised!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mieke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is a very nice hotel. Great location for the old city. They have very nice restaurant with great Northern Thai choices and a nice breakfast buffet. Overall very nice and polite service. Clean comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed in Tamarind Village for 4 nights in March...it's so beautiful and in a perfect location you must choose this place if you go to Chaing Mai. We loved the city, lots to do. Temples to see and fantastic cheap food. We did the day trip to Chaing Rai which is a very long day but well worth it ...you get to go across the Mekong to Laos for 30 mins but don't be fooled...you only see a few shops!. The breakfast and breakfast service at the hotel was lovely..so peaceful and calm. Loved the free 10 min massage too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

An amazing little gem in the old part of the city. Very quiet and shady with a stunning tamarind tree in the centre. The staff are outstanding. All very caring and attentive to our every request. We were so impressed by their gentle nature. Our room 2105 was a little on the small size with no chair in the room. Bed was firm yet comfortable and w e were given fresh fruit plus water twice daily. Spa was wonderful though expensive. Breakfast delightful by the pool. Daily free activities include hand massage , lotus weaving, umbrella painting etc. The village walk and rickshaw/ farmers market tour a must do. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for larger upstairs deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tafe56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.0 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
0.2 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#15 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.2 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#29 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Village

Property: Tamarind Village
Address: 50/1 Rajdamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#5 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#17 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamarind Village 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind Village is a unique and charming boutique property that nestles in the heart of historic Chiang Mai. Surrounded by ancient temples and quaint shopping streets, it takes its name from a magnificent 200 year old tamarind tree that shelters the hotel in a shady embrace.Tamarind Village is situated at the center of Chiang Mai’s old town. Many of Chiang Mai’s historic landmarks and temples such as Thapae Gate, the Three Kings Monument, Wat Phra Singh and Wat Chedi Luang are located within a few minutes walk of the hotel. Each week, Chiang Mai’s famous ‘Sunday Walking Street’ takes place just in front of the hotel’s entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Destinology so you can book your Tamarind Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Tamarind Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing