We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely confortable stay in Chiang Mai”
Review of Tamarind Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tamarind Village
Ranked #16 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

First of all the entrance of the hotel is very charming with bamboos all around what makes a great background.
Perfect staff service.
Breakfast very nice in front of a wonderful swimming pool which makes the environment even more cousy.
There was only one thing missing to be perfect the rooms are a little bit small, but very clean and well decorated.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol_Torres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

790 - 796 of 1,643 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed for four nights - great location in centre of Chiang Mai - on a great street with lots of restaurants - bamboo lined entrance leads to an absolutely wonderful hotel - lovely staff ( our daughter was unwell and they offered to make rice soup and bring it to the room ) - breakfast was very good , restaurant was also good , staff were lovely , rooms were different in a really good way abit quirky and boutique style , we had a deluxe room with a little terrace , place was spotless and gardens beautiful and lush . Sorry to say it again but it really felt like an oasis.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights and hard to fault the service and facilities, the location is great with lots to do within walking distance. A nice different feel to bland hotels, breakfast was excellent. Walk to the night market ten minutes away to find some nice places to eat.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdw1759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My husband I stayed at the Tamarind Village boutique hotel in Chiang Mai as the 2nd centre of our holiday to Thailand.
We were treated like royalty from the moment we checked in. The staff are lovely and very friendly, polite and accommodating - a total credit to the hotel.
We were checked in promptly and made to feel very welcome and shown to our room. Lovely room with large ensuite. We had heard that there were mosquitos and requested a net which was immediately put our bed. We had some laundry from our visit in Bangkok which was laundered and returned to us within an hour - amazing.
Fresh fruit is put in the room together with bottles of water (4) daily and tea/coffee refreshed daily - we asked for milk which was immediately brought to our room. Anything we asked for was immediately dealt - nothing was too much trouble and all dealt with by a lovely smile and greeting.
Breakfast was served near the pool - again excellent - huge selection of continental/fresh fruit/breads and cooked breakfast to order delivered to your table. Tea and coffee replenished immediately. Excellent service
There is a small pool with loungers and tables/chairs around the pool which is a welcome treat when out for the day on visits. Drinks are served around the pool.
There has been mention on dogs barking in other reviews - yes we did hear them but as we were so exhausted at the end of the day we both slept very well and not bothered with the barking.
Lovely products in the bathroom which were replenished daily
The hotel also has a spa with treatments which was just behind our block - we were given a complimentary 1 hour massage - excellent
We would definitely stay at Tamarind Village again on our next visit - perfect in every way
The hotel is just outside the main town and only a couple of minutes walk to restaurants/bars/temples etc. - see my separate review on Chiang Mai

Room Tip: As a light sleeper we requested a quiet room and stayed in a top floor room - perfect. However, spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LAD63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Yes, read it here again, a little oasis, the calm in the storm that is the bustling city of Chiang Mai. But it is all true. This hotel deserves its high reputation as it is truly a beautiful thing. The service is warm and welcoming, the grounds are lush and peaceful, the rooms are stylish and comfortable and the breakfast has to rank amongst the best I have experienced anywhere in the world. Is that enough of a glowing recommendation?! It is also in teh heart of the city and the bustling Sunday market is on the doorstep.

Room Tip: If we went back we would make sure we had a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theproclaimers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Tamarind Village hotel in Chiang Mai as the second leg of our honeymoon after Bangkok. We primarily were in Chiang Mai to visit the Baanchang Elephant reserve (highly recommended by the way!). After being advised on this hotel by our travel agent - we were looking forward to a peaceful relaxing getaway after the chaos that was Bangkok!

Unfortunately, we were left somewhat disappointed by this hotel. Especially after reading it's previously excellent reviews. However looking through some of the more negative reviews - these are more like our experience.

The main problem - it isn't peaceful. If you are looking for a relaxing getaway, think again. The walls are paper thin, with dogs barking constantly through the night  or the music/noise coming from the hotel itself. 

The hotel lacks home comforts - such as decent broadband internet. As mentioned before in other reviews, the internet is dreadful. Shower wasn't great, and the room was full of Mosquitos despite what seemed very basic preventative measures. Air conditioning was old, noisy and at times ineffective. 

During the day, the hotel was full of children. Not that we have a problem with this as such - but they were noisy, and weren't what we had expected.

Breakfast was average, catered more towards native residents - nothing special after experiencing others in Thailand that were much better. Service wasn't bad at all, but this doesn't make up for the lack of quality. 

Overall, from what we had previously read - we expected better. We shall not be returning here, and from talking to others we met at the elephant reserve, there are better places to stay in Chiang Mai.  

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Ab5949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is a wonderful little hotel right in the heart of Chiang Mai. Lovely pool, comfortable rooms, and a really outstanding restaurant. It is just off the main road, and escaping the crush of the sunday market with a few steps was priceless. The staff was very helpful and efficient - do not miss the Sunday morning village walk: a perfect introduction to Chiang Mai.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank tombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#15 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,514 reviews
1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 395 in Chiang Mai
2,107 reviews
2.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#31 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,011 reviews
1 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#9 of 395 in Chiang Mai
2,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Village

Address: 50/1 Rajdamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#17 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £102 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamarind Village 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind Village is a unique and charming boutique property that nestles in the heart of historic Chiang Mai. Surrounded by ancient temples and quaint shopping streets, it takes its name from a magnificent 200 year old tamarind tree that shelters the hotel in a shady embrace.Tamarind Village is situated at the center of Chiang Mai’s old town. Many of Chiang Mai’s historic landmarks and temples such as Thapae Gate, the Three Kings Monument, Wat Phra Singh and Wat Chedi Luang are located within a few minutes walk of the hotel. Each week, Chiang Mai’s famous ‘Sunday Walking Street’ takes place just in front of the hotel’s entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Southall Travel, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tamarind Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Tamarind Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing