We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,792)
Filter reviews
1,792 results
Traveller rating
1,258
418
76
29
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,258
418
76
29
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslanna roomvillage walkold townan oasistemple tourour honeymoonbeautiful hoteldogs barkingsunday marketthe hustle and bustleboutique hotelbusy citylanna stylespa treatmentsmosquito netfresh fruitegg station
Filter
Updating list...
893 - 898 of 1,792 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent service, beautiful rooms, very clean, neat, and creative. There is also a very cozy restaurant with a pool view and live music. The food is superb and service phenomenal. This hotel is also in a perfect location (50 baht) cab ride from the night bazaar markets. You also have a spa offering a variety of Thai massages 60-90 minutes. I refuse to stay anywhere else in Chiang Mai!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Daryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Daryl M,

Greetings from Tamarind Village Chiang Mai! Thank you very much for your nice review of your stay with us on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your kind compliments on our rooms, food and spa experience. It is very nice to know you enjoyed your time with us and would come back on your next visit to Chiang Mai.

We all look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Claudine

Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Aiming to travel on a reasonable budget, we opted for the entry level room. Comparisons against other hotels did highlight the limits of the room’s scale, but definitely still on the charming side of small, utterly comfortable and with touches like lemon grass incense imbuing a sanctuary like ambience. Inventory wise, the room offers all the usual features: storage, TV, safety deposit box, toiletries, local guide books. All clean and well maintained. I found myself sleeping soundly each night on a respectable double bed, thoroughly rested come morning.

Breakfast, although not gastronomically ground breaking, set a high standard, to which we found subsequent hotels struggling to match. Its a buffet breakfast with a mix of cooked Thai food, fruits, smoked meats and omelets. There’s a choice of teas for the cha drinkers and plenty of fresh fruit juices, and as is custom, polite and friendly service throughout.

The location is in the heart of the old town, a few minutes pilgrimage away from local shrines and other tourist attractions. As a photographer, I could easily visit the shrines in the evening with the benefits of interesting lighting and fewer tourists. Just across the road are surprisingly good tourist friendly restaurants and transport to other areas is easily hailed and fairly priced.

Beautifully formed, full of character and thoughtful touches, I can still vividly remember my experience at the Tamarind Village. Given a chance, I would go back tomorrow, Chiang mai is definitely one of the highlights of my Thailand trip and the Tamarind Village accommodated my stay there brilliantly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshleyArthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear AshleyArthur,

It was a real pleasure for us to read your nice review on Trip Advisor. Thank you very much indeed for the compliments on our rooms, the food at our Ruen Tamarind restaurant and on the hotel's location in the centre of the old town. We are glad to know you enjoyed your time with us and that you would be happy to return.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back on your next visit to Chiang Mai!

Kind regards,

Claudine

Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

What a lovely treat this hotel was. By far the best service we experienced in the whole trip to Thailand. Everyone went out of their way to be of help and little touches like fresh fruit and a free 10 minute massage really added to the whole experience. The pool area and spa were beautifully presented in a delightful old style, which felt authentic but also luxurious. The room could have been featured in a home magazine it looked so good!

The only reasons for not awarding 5\5 for this hotel are a few practical points. The room was at the bottom of an outside wooden staircase and the door opened right onto it. The door would be better placed on the other side of the room because it was incredibly noisy when people were walking up and down. The bathroom also didn't have a proper door, which made it not very private. We also had a cockroach but I think this was more do to with the area than the hotel itself. Finally, breakfast had some strange and limited choices and didn't live up to the rest of the hotel. These are minor points however, and I would thoroughly recommend staying here, particularly in a room not on the ground floor.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLM1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This was our first trip to Thailand and we visited Bangkok, Koh Sumuii and Chiang Mai.
The two weeks we spent at the Tamarind Village were the jewel in the Crown. Our room was a basic Llanna and was beautiful, we loved every aspect of it. The furniture and fittings were imaginative and the bed really comfortable.
The gardens are excellent and create a real secluded village feel. Quiet and peaceful.
All of the staff are excellent and know their job so well. They booked trips and events calmly and efficiently. At busy times they excel in managing and caring.
Breakfast by the pool was a delight, and the variety of choice outstanding. Again the staff were attentive and made sure everyone was provided for.
The hotel provides an interesting programme of events for each afternoon.....inclusive.
In short a wonderful hotel in a great location. Would happily return time after time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albertdiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Having been in a flashy resort in Koh Samuii before we came here it seemed a bit rustic at first but the experience , hospitality food and service were great. It's a true Thai experience -you actually realise you are in Asia whereas in some resorts you feel you could be anywhere . The staff were truly lovely welcoming and so cheerful the whole time. I treated myself to a session at the spa which was to die for. I strongly recommend it .

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the courtyards , some of the downstairs rooms get a bit of noise from above due to the concrete floors but it never bothered us
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackieH19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews