We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tamarind Village
Nearby Hotels
US$539
US$454
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Meridien Chiang Mai(Chiang Mai)
US$109
US$103
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sirilanna Hotel(Chiang Mai)
US$231
US$188
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$56
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$45
US$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yaang Come Village(Chiang Mai)
US$121
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$198
US$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,711)
Filter reviews
1,711 results
Traveller rating
1,200
398
74
29
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,200
398
74
29
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslanna roomvillage walkold townan oasistemple tourour honeymoonsunday marketbeautiful hoteldogs barkingboutique hotelbusy citylanna stylemosquito netfresh fruitegg stationlovely poolwelcome drink
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
811 - 816 of 1,711 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Don't waste time looking at other hotels and deciding where to stay in Chiang Mai (like I did) because you can't go wrong with Tamarind Village Hotel. We had a lovely 4 nights here and it is amazing getting in the pool after a day of sightseeing. We really can't fault this place. The staff were amazing and could not do more to make the stay enjoyable. We stayed in a second floor Lana room. When We are back in Chiang Mai we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefansa72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Wow, we were blown away by the high quality service and hospitality we experienced during our recent stay at Tamarind Village. It's apparent that the GM leads by example. All of the hotel's staff - without exception - were friendly, helpful, and thoughtful during our entire stay; we felt sincerely welcome. Most Chiang Mai frequent visitors know that the Tamarind Village's rooms and grounds are charming, and the hotel's location is superb, but what really made our stay this time was the fantastic staff. Thank You!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peggy027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Everything most reviewers said is true. This quiet haven in the middle of Old Town is just lovely! It is amazing how quickly and easily you forget that you are in the middle of the city.
Breakfast was really good and for the rest of our Thai holiday nothing compared to the fresh fruit, yoghurt and coffee I had daily. My husband loved the warm breakfasts and had omelettes daily.
Staff were extremely attentive to our needs. Their warmth and friendliness made our stay so much more enjoyable.
Our room was a ground floor Lanna room, which was clean and comfortable. It was relatively close to reception, but we were never bothered with any noises. The room is a bit dark, but we preferred this after being busy most of the day, that we could retreat and sleep. When we wanted to be outside, we spent some time lazying around the pool.
The location is exceptional and walking distance to almost everything. There is also a scooter rental shop right across the street, where you can rent a scooter at around 250TBH for 24h. If you're not up to that adventure, there are various other modes of transport readily available.
The Sunday night walking market is right outside the hotel, which is very convenient especially if you need to drop off your bags mid-shopping experience.
The free massage we received was very good. It is more expensive than you would pay for massages in town, but that is understandable as they provide a higher level of service and luxury.
If I ever return to Chiang Mai, it will definitely be the Tamarind Hotel for me.

Room Tip: If you do the Sunday Night Walking Market, leave an extra 30minutes before closing time, drop your shopping bags and head back out again. When you turn left into the walking street, there is an area where you can get 30min foot massage for 80TBH! Best decision after hours of walking and shopping!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Loving our stay at Tamarind Village. It is a far cry from the white austere boutique hotel you might think you want to stay in. This place is chilled, well staffed, immaculate and bang in the old city. You can get anywhere for about £1 by taxi van or tuk tuk, there are temples all around the hotel and although it is quiet at the moment, the area is well served with shops, bars and restaurants. There's even an incredibly cheap laundry 2 minutes walk away. The hotel has a beautiful spa which is pricey but we got a complimentary back massage which was a lovely touch! Forget the comments about the rooms. They are functional, quaint and clean.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank FRIENDFIFI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

All the reviews about this Hotel would suggest its faultless well it is up to point. All the previous reviews are accurate but the rooms !!!!! they are small with no real natural light or curtains. I ended up placing towels over the door.You have to duck through the door and on two occasions I nearly knocked myself out being six foot tall.
They really need to install a rubber buffer on the door frame to stop serious injury.
If you are under 5.5 then this is a "must stay at place" for those of you 6 plus think again as I still have the bruises

Room Tip: Away from the reception area will be really quiet
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schalcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews