We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous calm hotel in the city”
Review of Tamarind Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tamarind Village
Ranked #12 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Gorgeous calm hotel in the city”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed here as the second stop on our honeymoon in June. Chiang Mai, whilst quieter than Bangkok, can still be quite busy, but the Tamarind Village is an oasis in the middle of the city. The hotel is absolutely charming, with the air of trying to blend in with local surroundings and nature as much as possible - we saw geckos and lizards scurrying around, and the female staff wore flowers in their hair that had fallen off the trees. The staff in general were lovely, so polite and helpful.

The room we had was small but perfect for our needs, though a tad dark occasionally. The room had a very local influence that was clear in the furnishings and the bathroom products provided. During turndown the staff left small booklets with local Buddhist folk tales, which was a lovely touch. As part of our honeymoon deal we received an excellent one hour Thai massage, which certainly left us feeling invigorated!

Breakfast was always nice, with the option to eat by the pool. The egg station was great - I'd recommend the Thai omelette! We ate dinner in the restaurant one night and had delicious food, with some of the best ribs I think we've ever had. The pool itself was great, always with enough room for everyone to sit down on either loungers or small snugs built into the wall. There is also a walking market outside the hotel every Sunday which is great fun.

The one criticism, and the reason that this is a four star rather than the five star we so wanted to give, was one mentioned by others. The walls of the hotel are very thin, and consequently it can be quite noisy when in your room and trying to sleep. For us this was exacerbated by the two young children in an upstairs room whose mother decided it was appropriate for them to run up and down the outside stairs/play loudly right outside our room with no consideration for others. It is a real shame as the hotel is otherwise so lovely, but the thin walls do make it difficult sometimes to get a good night's sleep, and we are not light sleepers.

In short we would recommend this hotel for a stay in Chiang Mai, but would say to think carefully about the room that you book - one on an upper level may get less noise. A beautiful hotel nonetheless.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TashInKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Dear TashlnKent,

Greetings from Tamarind Village! Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your time with us. We really appreciate as well on your compliments on our location, nature surroundings, accommodation, food, service spa and all the "little touches" such as the turn down stories related to local culture.

We are very sorry to know that noise from your neighbors disturbed your visit. Thank you for sharing this feedback with us so that we can try to improve on this for the future.

We wish you much happiness in your future and were glad to be a part of your special honeymoon trip through Thailand.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,060
    357
    63
    24
    10
See reviews for
295
833
59
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

What can I say? Loved this hotel,one of the nicest I ve stayed in.Everything about it was fantastic.Great location.Staff very friendly and helpful.Rooms lovely,breakfast lovely.wish I was back there now

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harryt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Dear harryt,

Thank you very much for your kind review of Tamarind Village on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we appreciate your kind compliments on our staff, breakfast and accommodation. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back again in the very near future.

Wishing you all the best.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed in room 1201 which is a 2nd floor room with a private balcony next to reception. I had read the reviews beforehand and was concerned it might be noisy so they offered me another room but the view of the tamarind tree was lovely so we stayed. We weren't all bothered by any noise - at night if we sat on the balcony we could hear people going by but once in the room we used the air con as a white noise machine putting it on the highest fan level so didn't hear a thing outside. I actually noticed twice whilst I was in reception the staff asking other guests to keep their voices down so it seems they keep a pretty tight lid on noise.

The hotel grounds are beautiful and so well maintained, it is a very unique hotel. The building is very old and the rooms are lacking in natural daylight due to the structure of the roof so I recommend you get a room with a balcony (unless you have very young children who are crawling - the space under the bench on the balcony is open). However, this aside it is a beautiful place to stay and I would highly recommend it.

The staff were absolutely wonderful and incredibly accommodating. Our 3 year old loved collecting the flowers and the staff would shake the tree so she could collect more. There are free daily activities for children organised under the tamarind tree which were delightful. There is also a free guided tour offered of the surrounding temples each morning where we gave offerings to monks. We stayed during a full moon holiday so there was an addition tour led by hotel staff to a nearby temple with offerings.

It really is a unique hotel in the heart of the city - the Sunday walking street is literally on your doorstep, a bustling lively market and you wouldn't know it at all once you're in the hotels tranquil grounds.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jojojo555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Dear Jojojo555,

Greetings from Tamarind Village! Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you & your family stay with us. We appreciate your nice feedback on our natural surroundings, accommodation and service. We are glad you enjoyed you enjoyed our cultural activities and our complimentary walking tour of the old town.

We wish you all the best and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

There is so much we want to say about this beautiful hidden gem in Chiang Mai. We have been lucky enough to stay in many hotels, but this is the best we have ever experienced! This was our first trip to Thailand and feel so fortunate to have stayed here.

On arrival we were greeted by a friendly staff member who served us iced tea and a cool flannel, very welcome after a hot trip! The manager welcomed us so politely and courteously and made a point of coming to speak with us every morning of our three day stay, as did the custom relation manager. These things made us feel so special.

It was my birthday a few days prior to our stay, how lovely to have a gift of natural soaps and a card left for me in our room, along with some stunning flowers! Thank you for those!

We ate breakfast the restaurant each morning, beautifully fresh fruit and yoghurt started our day perfectly, the staff in the restaurant were so efficient and friendly nothing was too much trouble. Just like all the other staff we met at the Tamarind.

The manager and her team should be very proud of their staff, they are a credit to you, Well done!

Thank you for making our trip so special and our stay with you so perfect! Whoever reads our review needs to stay there and experience what we did, to know what we mean!

May the Tamarind Village go from strength to strength, just don't change a thing, IT IS PERFECT!

See you soon!

With all our best wishes

Fiona and Nigel Brant (2205)

Room Tip: If you want a 'plastic hotel' don't stay here, if you want exceptional service and a stu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Dear Fiona B,

Greetings from Tamarind Village! Thank you for your kind review of your stay on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we are glad to know we could contribute to making your first trip to Thailand a memorable one.

We really appreciate your compliments on our staff and especially that you for mentioning our general manager, guest relations manager and the rest of the team for the great job they are doing looking after our guests.

Please come back and visit us again.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Tamarind Village is a beautiful hotel with a delicious restaurant and great hospitality. The best part, besides the charm of the hotel itself, is how it is a peaceful oasis in the middle of chaotic Chiang Mai. The breakfast served provides a wide array of western and thai food and the rooms are suited to comfort. An added bonus includes a free 10 minute back massage upon arrival.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana100160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this review, 12 October 2014
Dear Ana10160,

Thank you very much for your kind review of Tamarind Village on Trip Advisor. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay and found our property a peaceful oasis in the middle of busy Chiang Mai. We appreciate as well your compliments on our accommodation and food and hope to have the chance to welcome you back again in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lackawanna, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here for our first leg of our trip in a deluxe room. Plenty of space check in easy and very polite. The staff here is excellent. The breakfast is delicious don't miss the coconut and orange homemade jams delicious. It's in a convenient location lots around it food shops and the ?Sunday walking market is just outside the gate. You can walk half drop your goods off and go some more. The best part was on our return we are spending one more night before going south. When we got here to check in they upgraded us to their largest suite. We are in heaven. I'm actually writing this review from the room. Even if we didn't get upgraded would've definitely recommend

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrDEbDDS1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this review, 12 October 2014
Dear DrDEbDDS1964,

Greetings from Tamarind Village! Thank you for your kind review of your stay on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and thank you for your compliments on our location and accommodation. We also appreciated your comments on our restaurant and the food and glad to know you enjoyed the Sunday Walking Street just located right outside our door.

Wishing you all the best and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheridan, Wyoming
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Walk down the the bamboo lined walled entry way, the temperature drops, the noise of the city subsides, the staff greet you with cool towel, ginger drink and a welcoming smile at check in. The walled compound of Tamarind Village offers a garden retreat, Lanna style architecture, comfortable rooms decorated with Hill Tribe handcraft, a wickedly wonderful shower, extensive breakfast buffet that hints at the quality and variety of offerings in the restaurant the rest of the day, a pool for a refreshing swim, a boutique stocked with unique treasures from the area, but best of all a highly trained and attentive staff to anticipate any need and offer any service. Did I mention the spa? Tamarind Village offers a memorable experience in your travels. You will look forward to returning again and again.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs offer lovely views of the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJE82832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this review, 12 October 2014
Dear MJE82832,

Greetings from Tamarind Village! Thank you for your kind reviewon Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and thank you for your compliments on our accommodation, architecture, design, our restaurant and food and our staff service. We are so glad to be able to be a part of your memorable experience of Thailand.

Wishing you all the best!

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.0 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#11 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
0.2 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#13 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
2.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.1 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#10 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Village

Property: Tamarind Village
Address: 50/1 Rajdamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#5 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#17 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamarind Village 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind Village is a unique and charming boutique property that nestles in the heart of historic Chiang Mai. Surrounded by ancient temples and quaint shopping streets, it takes its name from a magnificent 200 year old tamarind tree that shelters the hotel in a shady embrace.Tamarind Village is situated at the center of Chiang Mai’s old town. Many of Chiang Mai’s historic landmarks and temples such as Thapae Gate, the Three Kings Monument, Wat Phra Singh and Wat Chedi Luang are located within a few minutes walk of the hotel. Each week, Chiang Mai’s famous ‘Sunday Walking Street’ takes place just in front of the hotel’s entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Tamarind Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Tamarind Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing