We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous and serene” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tamarind Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tamarind Village
Ranked #13 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Gorgeous and serene”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

It is a well kept property in sync with nature. Couldn't believe it's in the middle of the city. Rooms are fabulous.

Spa is wonderful(I got one free back massage as part of the package). The setup is very well planned. They saved whatever trees they could by building around it.... Very thoughtful.

The restaurant is excellent overlooking the pool. The entry to the hotel reminded me of my grandmas village home. The decor is tastefully done. Staff was pleasant and ever smiling. I loved the table mats in the restaurant so much that I wanted to know the shop. They actually managed to source some for me from their storeroom as it was from Bangkok.

Fresh Jamun(local fruit) every day in the room... Delicious!!!

All in all, my money's worth. Will highly recommend this for the experience.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Saumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear Saumi,

Thank you very much for your kind review of Tamarind Village on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and know you enjoyed your time with us and found our hotel peaceful and quiet place to relax while in Chiang Mai. We appreciate your compliments on our accommodation, restaurant, staff and ambiance. We are glad you liked our table mats so much that you wanted to bring some home with you and that we were able to arrange it for you as well.

We take it as a very nice compliment that the cozy atmosphere of Tamarind Village reminded you of visiting your Grandmother's village home.

We wish you all the best and hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,028
    349
    61
    24
    10
See reviews for
287
808
58
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Remsenburg, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Tamarind Village was highly recommended by our friends - it was everything they said and more. This centrally located hotel is a beautiful oasis in the middle of the Chiang Mai City. From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed and pampered. The rooms are heavenly - no detail is overlooked - impeccably clean with a fresh scent, not to mention the intoxicating body lotion and bath products. They offered us a discounts at the restaurant to celebrate our daughters 17th birthday - along with a card + small gift for her. The breakfast was probably the best we had in Thailand - fresh fruits and many other offerings. The staff was extremely helpful in connecting us with a driver for a 5 day tour of the north. We returned for our last night in Thailand and it felt like we were coming home. The self guided walking tour was a great way to see the sights and the city. Simply amazing!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Naomi017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Dear Naomi017,

Greetings from Tamarind Village! Thank you for your kind review of your stay on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us. We are glad to know you found our property like "A little piece of heaven" We also appreciate your compliments on our location, accommodation, service and bath amenities and for your kind words regarding our staff.

Please come back to visit us again sometime in the future.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau, China
Level Contributor
141 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Tamarind Village is the perfect place to relax in a quiet atmosphere in the heart of ChiangMai. The rooms are very comfortable and beautifully decorated. In addition, the staff is amazingly attentive and the restaurant serves awesome authentic thai food.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anhangabau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Dear Anhangabau,

Thank you for your kind writing a review of your stay on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you with us. We are glad to know you had a relaxing time and appreciate as well your compliments on our location, accommodation, decoration, restaurant and our staff.

We wish you all the best and hope to be able to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Our family had a wonderful stay here. We were so warmly welcomed and the staff made a huge effort to make our stay comfortable. The hotel is ideally located in the middle of the old town. The roads around the hotel are very busy, but the hotel is an oasis of calm and peace. The pool was lovely and breakfast delicious. I would definitely recommend to anyone.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear CatherineC,

Thank you very much for your kind review of Tamarind Village on Trip Advisor. We are very glad to know you enjoyed your stay and found our property an oasis of calm in the city. We hope to have the chance to welcome you and your family back again in the very near future.

Until then, wishing you all the best.

Claudine T.

Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
213 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

My husband and I loved this place. The only negative comment we have is a dog that barked 2 of the 4 nights we spent here...the staff did their best to quiet it down. This place is gorgeous and its location couldn't be better...you are right inside the Old Town and can walk in every direction and find things to see and do. The hotel is a series of buildings with rooms on the first floor or second floor. Our room was quite spacious and the bathroom had a great walk-in shower. Greenery all over the grounds and at night the grounds are lighted by candlelight. There is a pool and a fantastic restaurant. The breakfast buffet was the best we had on our trip and we ate several meals (lunch and dinner) at the restaurant not only be cause it was convenient but the food was fabulous. The service is superb both at the hotel and in the restaurant. There are beautiful orchids everywhere. Don't miss the Sunday Walking Market which goes right out in front of the hotel. A quiet place to stay in the middle of a bustling city. You will love it and I sure wish I could go back again.

Room Tip: Rooms near the wat across the street may get a barking dog noise now and then.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Barbara365,

Greetings from Tamarind Village! Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay on Trip Advisor. We were very glad to know you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your compliments on our location, the accommodation, and the greenery and natural feel of the gardens. We also appreciated your comments on our restaurant and the food and were glad to know you took advantage of the Sunday Walking Street just outside our door. Apologies that the neighbor's dog barked and disturbed your rest.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards from all of us at Tamarind Village.

Claudine T.

Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Considering this hotel was straight in off fairly busy roads there was very little noise once inside the grounds. Stayed here for 8 nights and found the location ideal for exploring many of the nearby attractions. Both the grounds and rooms are kept to a high standard and we really liked the traditional thai design of all the buildings. Ate most days in the hotel restaurant, which is extremely good value for money and although there only is one restaurant at the hotel, the menu is so good that even if you were staying a couple of weeks theres enough choice to try something different everyday (must try the mango and sticky rice for dessert - its amazing). The only other thing we have to say about the tamarind village is that its the friendliest place we've ever been - the staff are very efficient and helpful and nothing is ever too much trouble. We were made to feel more like friends than paying guests and wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a lanna deluxe room to get a balcony/terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Dear Claire N,

Greetings from Tamarind Village! Thank you for your kind review of your stay on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us for 8 nights. We sincerely for your compliments on our location, accommodation, decoration, service and especially on our restaurant's delicious food and variety of choice. We're glad to know you enjoyed our "mango with sticky rice".

We wish you all the best and hope to welcome you back again in the near future!

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here for 9 nights at beginning of this month, in a Tamarind suite. We were very pleased with 3 things at the hotel: good service, ideal location and building itself.
First, there are always people around you wherever you are in the hotel, pool, restaurant etc. Quite surprised when we were told there are about 70 staffs working here for a small hotel of 40 rooms! There is fan painting or fish flag making activities every afternoon in the hotel. My 7 y/o daughter just loved this and she participated in each session. Once we were guided by hotel staff to a temple walk in the morning, giving offering to monks and chatting on Buddhism, very interesting tour. You may find some fighting roasters kept on the road...
Then the hotel is wonderfully located in the old town that you can walk to most places easily. And night market or university area is just 5-10 minutes drive. There is Sunday market happening just on Rajdamnoen street. We think it's much better to go than night bazaar. Many local restaurants are just around if you want to try something else. Recommend the one across the street.
Finally, we just adore the architecture style of the hotel based on traditional Lanna houses. Staying on the balcony watching this giant tamarind tree in front of our eyes, just like time is rolling back...

Room Tip: tamarind suite very good for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GuaguaBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Dear Guaguabeijing,

Greetings from Tamarind Village! Thank you for your kind review of Tamarind Village on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you & your family stay with us. We appreciate your generous compliments on our service, location and especially on our style and decor. Our aim is to maintain the real Thai Lanna culture and atmosphere for our guests

We are so glad to know you and your daughter enjoyed our cultural activities and that you found our complimentary "Village Walk" walking tour enjoyable and interesting.

Please come back and visit us very soon

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.0 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
0.2 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#15 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.2 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#29 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Village

Property: Tamarind Village
Address: 50/1 Rajdamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#5 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#17 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamarind Village 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind Village is a unique and charming boutique property that nestles in the heart of historic Chiang Mai. Surrounded by ancient temples and quaint shopping streets, it takes its name from a magnificent 200 year old tamarind tree that shelters the hotel in a shady embrace.Tamarind Village is situated at the center of Chiang Mai’s old town. Many of Chiang Mai’s historic landmarks and temples such as Thapae Gate, the Three Kings Monument, Wat Phra Singh and Wat Chedi Luang are located within a few minutes walk of the hotel. Each week, Chiang Mai’s famous ‘Sunday Walking Street’ takes place just in front of the hotel’s entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Tamarind Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Tamarind Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing