We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tamarind Village is the essence of Thailand, beautiful, friendly and comfortable in a perfect location.”
Review of Tamarind Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tamarind Village
Ranked #12 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Tamarind Village is the essence of Thailand, beautiful, friendly and comfortable in a perfect location.”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We loved our 6 nights at Tamarind, the grounds were beautifully maintained, staff delightfully friendly and helpful. Restaurant caters for all tastes, breakfasts varied and delicious. Live music at dinner an added bonus, some world class entertainment. Tamarind spa fantastic- thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Patricia F,

Greetings from Tamarind Village! Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay on Trip Advisor. We are very glad to know you spent six nights with us and had a great stay. Thank you as well for your compliments on our beautiful property, staff and on the food and entertainment in our restaurant and as well as on our spa. Thank you in advance for recommending us to family and friends.

We hope to have you back to stay with us again in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,060
    357
    62
    24
    10
See reviews for
295
833
59
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I could imagine Chiangmai 30-40 years ago being a town with nice wooden houses in large gardens, peaceful and beautiful. Now it is a busy city with ugly concrete 2-3 storey houses behind untidy electricity cables. No character is preserved, and the visitor only refuge is isolated cafes or hotels that respect the culture of the place, the temples and the colourful markets.

Tamarind village is100% pure Thai architecture and atmosphere, an oasis in the middle of an architectural desert. Full of positive energy with excellent and trained staff, with very good thai food at the restaurant.

it is really lovely to stay in this hotel. It preserves all good qualities of Thai culture, natural environment and people.

Areas for improvement exist. Swimming pool is old and small, breakfast could have a better selection of breads and cheeses, vanity mirror in the bathroom.... However it is value for money and I would easily recommend it.

We stayed for three nights with the family during our 14 days trip to Thailand and returned for one night more after a jungle tour. We all enjoyed it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Globinious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My husband and I spent 4 days at the Tamarind Village in July and we were so impressed with the hotel and all the staff who work there. It truly is an oasis in the middle of the old city that was so peaceful and serene.We stayed in a Lanna room and were very impressed - so comfortable and clean. It was nice being in a small hotel with only 30 rooms so it never felt busy or over-crowded in the restaurant or pool. We would certainly stay there again as it was so central and close to some very nice restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melinda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear Melinda T.,

Greetings from Tamarind Village! Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay on Trip Advisor. It was very nice to know that you and your husband found our hotel "an oasis in the middle of the old city", and we sincerely appreciate your compliments on our accommodation and staff.

We wish you all the best and hope to be able to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards
Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My new husband and I stayed here for a week at the end of our honeymoon. The hotel was beautiful and only 15 minutes from the airport!! It was hard to believe that it was in the middle of the city. Once we walked up into the hotel it was quiet, peaceful and serene. We loved the atmosphere and layout of the hotel. The spa was fantastic too!! We eat at the restaurant several times and the food and service was great. All the staff, both at reception and at the restaurant were always smiling, friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. I enjoyed the one of the afternoon leaf folding activities and the staff even took some of us to a local temple for the beginning of Buddhist Lent. We also liked the little story cards that were left on our bed with room service. We booked a day excursion and our driver Souviet was fantastic, He was very friendly and helpful and we had a great day with him. We had a fantastic time and loved every minute of our stay. It was the perfect stay for our honeymoon, thank you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taffy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear Taffy82,

Greetings from Tamarind Village! Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we are very glad to know you loved our hotel's atmosphere and layout. Thank you as well for your compliments on our accommodation, spa treatment, food at the restaurant, our staff service and especially for recognizing Khun Souviet, our driver for his good work.

We are glad to be able to be part of making your honeymoon trip a memorable one.

We all look forward to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards
Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

It is a well kept property in sync with nature. Couldn't believe it's in the middle of the city. Rooms are fabulous.

Spa is wonderful(I got one free back massage as part of the package). The setup is very well planned. They saved whatever trees they could by building around it.... Very thoughtful.

The restaurant is excellent overlooking the pool. The entry to the hotel reminded me of my grandmas village home. The decor is tastefully done. Staff was pleasant and ever smiling. I loved the table mats in the restaurant so much that I wanted to know the shop. They actually managed to source some for me from their storeroom as it was from Bangkok.

Fresh Jamun(local fruit) every day in the room... Delicious!!!

All in all, my money's worth. Will highly recommend this for the experience.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Saumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear Saumi,

Thank you very much for your kind review of Tamarind Village on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and know you enjoyed your time with us and found our hotel peaceful and quiet place to relax while in Chiang Mai. We appreciate your compliments on our accommodation, restaurant, staff and ambiance. We are glad you liked our table mats so much that you wanted to bring some home with you and that we were able to arrange it for you as well.

We take it as a very nice compliment that the cozy atmosphere of Tamarind Village reminded you of visiting your Grandmother's village home.

We wish you all the best and hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remsenburg, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Tamarind Village was highly recommended by our friends - it was everything they said and more. This centrally located hotel is a beautiful oasis in the middle of the Chiang Mai City. From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed and pampered. The rooms are heavenly - no detail is overlooked - impeccably clean with a fresh scent, not to mention the intoxicating body lotion and bath products. They offered us a discounts at the restaurant to celebrate our daughters 17th birthday - along with a card + small gift for her. The breakfast was probably the best we had in Thailand - fresh fruits and many other offerings. The staff was extremely helpful in connecting us with a driver for a 5 day tour of the north. We returned for our last night in Thailand and it felt like we were coming home. The self guided walking tour was a great way to see the sights and the city. Simply amazing!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Naomi017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Dear Naomi017,

Greetings from Tamarind Village! Thank you for your kind review of your stay on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us. We are glad to know you found our property like "A little piece of heaven" We also appreciate your compliments on our location, accommodation, service and bath amenities and for your kind words regarding our staff.

Please come back to visit us again sometime in the future.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
141 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Tamarind Village is the perfect place to relax in a quiet atmosphere in the heart of ChiangMai. The rooms are very comfortable and beautifully decorated. In addition, the staff is amazingly attentive and the restaurant serves awesome authentic thai food.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xavier L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Dear Anhangabau,

Thank you for your kind writing a review of your stay on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you with us. We are glad to know you had a relaxing time and appreciate as well your compliments on our location, accommodation, decoration, restaurant and our staff.

We wish you all the best and hope to be able to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.0 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#11 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,322 reviews
0.2 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#13 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
2.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.1 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#10 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Village

Property: Tamarind Village
Address: 50/1 Rajdamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#5 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#17 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamarind Village 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind Village is a unique and charming boutique property that nestles in the heart of historic Chiang Mai. Surrounded by ancient temples and quaint shopping streets, it takes its name from a magnificent 200 year old tamarind tree that shelters the hotel in a shady embrace.Tamarind Village is situated at the center of Chiang Mai’s old town. Many of Chiang Mai’s historic landmarks and temples such as Thapae Gate, the Three Kings Monument, Wat Phra Singh and Wat Chedi Luang are located within a few minutes walk of the hotel. Each week, Chiang Mai’s famous ‘Sunday Walking Street’ takes place just in front of the hotel’s entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Tamarind Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Tamarind Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing