We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful stay”
Review of Tamarind Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tamarind Village
Ranked #14 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delightful stay”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

My first time in Chiang Mai and what a good place to chose for my solo holiday! From arrival to departure, every staff member I encountered made me feel welcome. I stayed 8 nights and really appreciated the location, the peace, the comfortable room and the breakfast with lots of choice each morning. Fresh fruit appeared in my room on most days. The supplied toiletries were good quality. The shower pressure was good. Most days I swam in the pool and then relaxed on a banana lounge nearby. I enjoyed my session at the onsite spa centre. I did venture out to cooking classes, a day tour to the north and wandered the night walking market just outside the front entrance on the Sunday. There are several interesting and different temples (wats) just nearby and I sat in the wat ground listening to the monks chanting on my last evening. The resident squirrels were entertaining too. I had one of the more basic rooms (which still looked pretty good) and the only thing I missed was being able to open curtains to daylight. Overall though I really enjoyed my time at Tamarind Village and would like to return, both to the hotel and Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeatherandKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear HeatherandKaren

Greetings from Tamarind Village! Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay on Trip Advisor.

It was a pleasure to know that you had a great eight night stay with us and that you found Tamarind Village the perfect place to experience and explore Chiang Mai on your first visit to the city. We appreciate your compliments on our location, room & facilities, food, our staff and their service as well as to hear that you enjoyed our spa, cooking class, excursions and walking street just outside our door.

We wish you all the best and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,079
    361
    63
    24
    10
See reviews for
300
843
62
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Either stay downtown or stay way out of town if you're in Chiang Mai. This place is right in the middle of the old town with easy walking access to all the old temples, restaurants and cafes of old Chiang Mai. The staff was wonderful to us (my wife, mother and 2.5 year old). The basic Lanna Rooms are small for a toddler, so the less time you need to spend in your room, the better. The rooms, however, are lovely - if small. The hotel made arrangements for taxis and tours. The English was impeccable and the hotel staff were professional and incredibly kind. Would love to stay there again. Hotel restaurant was good, but there is great food all over town.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ianandleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear ianandleah

Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate your compliments on our staff and the great job they do looking after our guests. It is nice to know you found the location convenient nearby the city's historic temples and sites.

We are also glad to hear that you would love to come back to stay with us. We all here look forward to welcome you back to Tamarind Village very soon.

Kind regards
Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We (myself, my wife and two daughters aged 8 and 12) arrived at the Tamarind Village slightly frazzled on a Saturday a.m. after 13 hours of flying from London. We were hot, tired and border-line grumpy.
Within minutes the lovely staff had whisked our cases away, offered us welcoming cold drinks and cool refreshing towels and had settled us down in the beautiful open reception area.
We were very early and were expecting something in the region of 4 hours before we could get into our rooms, but the hotel staff and in particular the Manageress 'fast-tracked' us and after less than two hours were were in our rooms, refreshed.

We used the small but adequate pool everyday, even in the pouring rain! We also made use of the restaurant for great breakfasts, my daughters voted the pancakes as being 'the best in the world', and for two first class evening meals that naturally served Thai food, but made allowances for us Europeans.

The hotel rooms were clean, well AC'd and had a lovely non-corporate charm (I spend A LOT of time in the big hotel chains), rustic without being shabby.

All the staff were very nice and would do anything to help out with making our stay perfect, on the day we left the Manageress personally came out and said goodbye and waved us off as we headed to the airport.

This is a great hotel.

Room Tip: Our ground floor rooms near the huge Tamarind tree and Reception area were great, with no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zippyzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Zippyzoe,

Greetings from Tamarind Village! Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay on Trip Advisor. We were very glad to know you & your family enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for appreciating the efforts of our General Manager and team to accommodate you after your long journey from England. Thank you as well for your compliments on our accommodation and facilities. We were especially glad to know your daughters voted our pancakes "best in the world". What an accolade! Thank you.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again in the near future and thank you in advance for recommending us to your family and friends.

Kind regards from all of us here at Tamarind Village Chiang Mai!

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

From check in to check out we enjoyed every minute in Tamarind Village. The setting is beautiful, the rooms are immaculate and the staff are incredibly friendly and professional.
We enjoyed the breakfasts immensely as the food was fresh and well cooked. After a long day of activities (there is so much to do in Chiang Mai!) it was lovely to return to this beautiful location and enjoy a relaxing drink or a swim in the pool.
Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YvyE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear YvyE,

Thank you very much for your kind review of Tamarind Village on Trip Advisor. We are very glad to know you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate your compliments on our beautiful setting, food, activities and that you made the most out of relaxing poolside after a day of sightseeing.. We are also glad to know you enjoyed exploring Chiang Mai and you are right in saying it has a lot to offer.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back again in the very near future.

Wishing you all the best.

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing,
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The hotel is located in the middle of the old city. However, you will find yourself in a quite and peaceful country village once going through its bamboo trees entrance. The staff here are all very nice, friendly and helpful. We joined a day tour to Chiangrai and Golden Triangle arranged by the hotel. The driver is very easy going and with excellent driving skill. We were very satisfied and delighted to have him staying with us throughout the day journey.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivylinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear ivylinday

Greetings from Tamarind Village! Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and thank you for your compliments on our accommodation, location and peaceful setting. We are very glad to learn you enjoyed the excursion and thank you for the nice words for our driver who looked after you well throughout the day.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Just returned from a fabulous few days at this hotel. I cannot speak highly enough about the helpfulness of staff. My daughter had a throat infection during our stay and they went out of their way to provide hot drinks to ease her discomfort.Restaurant fabulous - fantastic location too - right in the heart of Chaing Mai. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 26susieq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear 26susieq,

Greetings from Tamarind Village! Thank you for your feedback and review. It was a pleasure to have you and your family staying with us and we really appreciate your compliments on our location and the attentiveness of our staff. We hope your daughter has made a complete recovery from her throat infection by now and that you enjoyed the rest of your trip.

We wish you all the best and hope to be able to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

A beautiful hotel in the middle of Historic Old City, built in classical Lanna style. The rooms are distributed around inner gardens with beautiful trees or around the pool court, in two floors. Very comfortable and quiet. Although you are in the middle of the city you feel like in the countryside. The staff is very nice and helpful. It is a restaurant in the hotel serving very good Northern Thai food.

The hotel is just in the middle of Sunday Market, that can be a problem if you drive your own car because the street is closed on Sundays.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankbcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#11 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,413 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,386 reviews
2.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#12 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,073 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Village

Property: Tamarind Village
Address: 50/1 Rajdamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#17 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamarind Village 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind Village is a unique and charming boutique property that nestles in the heart of historic Chiang Mai. Surrounded by ancient temples and quaint shopping streets, it takes its name from a magnificent 200 year old tamarind tree that shelters the hotel in a shady embrace.Tamarind Village is situated at the center of Chiang Mai’s old town. Many of Chiang Mai’s historic landmarks and temples such as Thapae Gate, the Three Kings Monument, Wat Phra Singh and Wat Chedi Luang are located within a few minutes walk of the hotel. Each week, Chiang Mai’s famous ‘Sunday Walking Street’ takes place just in front of the hotel’s entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tamarind Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Tamarind Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing