We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Years rip off, bad plumbing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tarin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tarin Hotel
Ranked #237 of 373 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“New Years rip off, bad plumbing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Having failed to make a booking at other CM hotels earlier, Tarin was our only option. The Junior Suite room was nice but dated and room 202 at the front is noisy near the road, I think they use tissue paper for windows, no sound proofing at all. We were charged an exorbitant amount which was for the "compulsory NY dinner"(nothing about that in the booking in AsiaRooms) that we had no intention of going to. Now the plumbing, no hot water in the mornings and evenings, their exude, too many people in hotel. If your system cannot cope with a full house then time to fix it. Then the noise, hi pitch noise at around 2 AM most mornings, enough to wake the dead from sleep, their excuse, "it goes away soon"…news for them, it didn't go away.

Basically I got the feeling that the management does not give a damn about what your issues are. Well Tarin management, here is my report on your service to the world, for what you were charging over the NY period, it is definitely not value for money. Would not recommend you to anyone at anytime.

Room Tip: My advice, book a different hotel, these guys don't really care.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steveyinasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TarinHotel_GM, ผู้จัดการทั่วไป at Tarin Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Khun Steveyina
Thank you for sharing your staying experience via TripAdvisor.
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Tarin Hotel Chiang Mai.
I will share your comments with our management. I am sure that this feedback will serve as good for improve. We strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
We look forward to welcome you back and make your next visit as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely yours,
Nadhanont Phoolaram
General Manager Tarin Hotel
nadhanont@tarinhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    19
    19
    9
    7
See reviews for
7
17
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We are stay here tor 2 nights and we have workshop at chiangmai really enjoy the moment. Overall,nice and clean hotel. Value for money,well staff and great service. My room had large window and can see Doi Sothep very beautiful. Breakfast was variety and lots of delicious street food are behind the hotel

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sathafew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTarin, ผู้จัดการทั่วไป at Tarin Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Khun Sathafew
Thank you for choosing Tarin Hotel Chiang Mai and I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay.I will share your comments with our team and surely will serve as an encouragement to them. We will keep up our good work, both our product and service. Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor fellows and we look forward to welcome you in near future
Sincerely yours,
Nadhanont Phoolaram
General Manager Tarin hotel Chiang Mai
nadhanont@tarinhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed for 3nights on 11-13 October 2013 .Tarin Hotel was an experience,Chiang Mai also is lovely. The junioe Suite and room were in a beautiful condition,with small things such as a daily English newspaper left after the room was serviced.The decor might be a bit much for some,but we found it vibrant and fun.The restaurant served quality food for breakfast and the dinner that we enjoyed as well.All the staff were exceptional ambassadors to the service mind as well

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaiwat789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTarin, ผู้จัดการทั่วไป at Tarin Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Khun Chaiwat789
Thank you for sharing your staying experience via TripAdvisor.
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Tarin Hotel Chiang Mai. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
We look forward to welcome you back and make your next visit as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely yours,
Nadhanont Phoolaram
General Manager Tarin Hotel
nadhanont@tarinhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in September with friends from Bangkok , Overall are acceptable "You get what you pay" staffs are friendly especial at front desk and breakfast is average ,walking distance to Nimmahaemindra Road &Shopping area will recommended for "Budget" traveler"

Room Tip: Higher floor and mountain side would be nice to avoid noise from super highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Macnum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTarin, ผู้จัดการทั่วไป at Tarin Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for taking your value time to let us know your experience with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
Dear Khun Macnum

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience at Tripadvisor and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Nadhanont Phoolaram
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

When I came to Chiangmai last time 2010 and i stay this hotel hotel very old but I coming again is model to more many last year I stay at Deluxe room the bed strong but like staff friendly thank last year value of money kha

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bee2528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTarin, ผู้จัดการทั่วไป at Tarin Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Khun Bee2528

Thank you for taking your time to give us your positive feedback. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Tarin Hotel Chiang Mai.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience in Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcome you back in near future.

With best regards,
Nadhanont Phoolaram
General Manager
nadhanont@tarinhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

by the way I am stay for 4 days 2 days visit Nimmarnhemint Rd popular for walking and 2 days visit
Doi Suthep and Chiangmai Zoo for staff very helpful and location very easy to go any where hotel have
Van to Night Baaza every day from 07:00 to 11:15 but I am came back at 11:30

Room Tip: junior suite can see Doi Suthep Temple
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anothai n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTarin, ผู้จัดการทั่วไป at Tarin Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Khun Anothai N
Thank you very much for your taking your time to give us your positive feedback. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Tarin Hotel Chiang Mai.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience in TripAdvisor.
We looking forward to welcome you back in near future.
Sincerely,
Nadhanont Phoolaram
General Manager Tarin Hotel Chiang Mai
nadhanont@tarinhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

I only stayed here because I normally stay in this area and most of the other hotels were full. The rooms are very basic, you get what you pay for. The bed was very hard and I'm glad it wasn't for more than one night. Never the less it was still reasonble value

Room Tip: Ideal if its just a place to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Suan Doi House Hotel & Resort
Suan Doi House Hotel & Resort
#189 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cmor Hotel Chiang Mai by Andacura
0.1 mi away
Chiangmai Grandview Hotel
Chiangmai Grandview Hotel
#118 of 373 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Furama Chiang Mai
Furama Chiang Mai
#244 of 373 in Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chiangmai Hill 2000 Hotel
Chiangmai Hill 2000 Hotel
#304 of 373 in Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Garden Hotel
Holiday Garden Hotel
#234 of 373 in Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarin Hotel

Property: Tarin Hotel
Address: 10/7 Moo 2, Superhighway Chiangmai-Lampang. | Chang Phueak, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 373 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tarin Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Odigeo so you can book your Tarin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing