We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Stay @ Chiangmai @ Suriwongse Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai
Ranked #42 of 402 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2012

My stay with Suriwongse Hotel from 22nd-27th Aug was very good.
Hotel has a good location just next to the night bazaar.
Staff was very friendly & warm.
Hotel service is very good.
Hotel rate is very affordable and provide free breakfast.
Mr Prachol Chaiyong (Shaun) - Asst Front Office Manager. Must look for him when you visit the hotel.
Overall, I really enjoyed my stay with them & I highly recommend to other travelers.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vincent_vtp1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,002 - 1,008 of 1,401 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2012

This is my first time to come to Chang Mai by my self, And I was a bit worry to be my self where I don't know, but this hotel's staff were very thoughtfull and helpfull while I staied this hotel. The location also convenience to go night bazaar and around this area is nice to take a walk. Also they give you good advice where you can enjoy your time in tour information, i had a great deal with that ;) I had a great time in Chang Mai because of Suriwongsehotels, and would come to stay here again. Thank you!

Room Tip: Twins bed for delux room type
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kazuha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Hotel is great,clean and very comfortable. Most prominently the staff,you feel settled immediately. They provide excellent service from your arrival to your departure. Very helpful lot. For the price,it's affordable and reasonable. The hotel was very clean and looked new. Strategic location,right in the centre of town. Very convenient indeed. Though the hotel was still under renovation,our stay wasn't affected a tad by any of the sort of construction noise. From what I've heard from the hotel manager,it seems the hotel will be under Suriwongse Movenpick and will be open with the new facitlities in September. I can foresee that it'll be an incredible hotel in the future,though there'll be definitely a price hike.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Junesan92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Located right beside the daily night market hence need not haggle with the tuk-tuk or seek transportation for night time shopping. Can also head back to the hotel to drop off a few of the shopping bags before continue the shopping spree.

The staff are very accommodating as well (Ms.Renu, Assistant Reservation Manager). I sent her an email separately to request for special arrangement as a suprise for my wife. Ms.Renu went beyond the call of duty to assist with the arrangement although the hotel doesn't have the facility in place (i.e. have a bouquet of roses ready in the room upon check-in).

Rooms are fairly new and can be seen that it was recently renovated. Did not face any issue arising from the on-going renovation or issues with mosquitos as mentioned in review by other travellers.

Was also recommended the travel agency with a counter in the reception area of this hotel (Ms.Somjit, Chiangmai Empress Tour). Although not the cheapest in town (can find slightly cheaper), but definitely the most friendly and best effort in making your trip a memorable one and always strive their best to provide you with the best of service. Would recommend this tour operator for consideration if you wish to make any tour bookings in Chiang Mai. The guides are fluent in English and very humurous to keep the customers engaged and interested.

Had trouble with connecting to the wifi from the room though. Unable to connect to wifi on mine as well as my wife's iphone. Called up reception @ 11pm and they sent a staff with an ipad to assist to diagnose problem but unable to resolve. Do not blame them as the staff is not a technical person. Reception of wifi in the room was also limited to certain areas within the room only. Also, the view from my room was the rooftop and aircond units of neighbouring building. But for USD30 a night, the comfort of the room, the service the staff displayed, the fantastic location (if you intend to do shopping and night market), and with the rooms fairly new considering that it was recently renovated, I must say, the stay was worth every penny.

Overall, a very satisfying and enjoyable stay. This hotel would definitely be on the top of my list during my next visit to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank handsomeofkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

You can got and feel comfortable with the places that u selected to be ur resident of the best trip in chiangmai. Just walk out the door you can see all magnificent in the city center...great and good service...

Rungsawad

Room Tip: Deluxe room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The assistant front office manager, Khun Prachol Chaiyong, was a magnificent host and provided excellent service and accomodations. He is very polite and genourous towards tourists. He even threw in free wifi service without charge. The room is spacious and clean, only negative is that the bathroom shower leaks through the glass door. Otherwise, this hotel made our stay in Chiang Mai very pleasant. It is also located right next to Night Bazaar and is easy to walk there from the hotel.

Breakfast is good (:

Room Tip: Ask for the assistant front office manager, Khun Prachol Chaiyong at the lobby. Guaranteed good ser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jutee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This hotel has a perfect service.The room of this hotel has a high quality. Except the shampoo is not satisfying. This hotel has a great location. It is located just in the night bazaar. Which most impress me is that it is quiet to stay in the room although it is noisy outside(the night bazaar). I really love this hotel,everything in this perfect is nearly perfect!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Su X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,959 reviews
0 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#55 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,426 reviews
0.3 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#33 of 402 in Chiang Mai
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#58 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 402 in Chiang Mai
3,248 reviews
2.1 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai

Address: 110, Chang Klan Road | Chang Khlan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Suriwongse Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#29 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#45 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £43 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Thailand’s breathtaking north at Mövenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai, where the warmth of local traditions combines with quality service. Situated in the heart of Chiang Mai, a few steps from the famous Night Bazaar and close to the Ping River, the hotel's contemporary interior complements its traditional Thai Lanna architecture. From the rooftop pool there are awesome city views, and the atmospheric dining scene serves both local Thai dishes and classic international specialities. The hotel is perfect for culture buffs and adventure seekers, with easy access to hundreds of temples and spectacular zip lines in the surrounding forest. Chiang Mai events can be hosted in the ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai
Suriwongse Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing